We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Inn and Suites
Ranked #195 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We booked late, and the price was a bit high for that hotel. However the room was good for its purpose, two big beds, fridge and a good connection of wifi. The bathroom was a bit old fashioned, only shower and difficult to regulate temperature. The cleaning was good and the staff kind. The situation is in midway from the airport and down-town which was good for us. It was a bit noisy with the airport near and the train rail nearby, but it did not bother us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuanAngelTendero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Juan,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we are delighted to hear that all aspects of our hotel made your stay enjoyable. With clean rooms, great amenities, and an awesome location we are the perfect hotel for business associates, vacationers, and groups! We appreciate your business sir all the way from Spain!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    161
    90
    29
    53
See reviews for
79
143
48
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is the best place to stay!! We drove 9+ hours and arrived at Marina Inn and Suites. Right away Nicole made us comfortable and accommodated our needs. She also advised us and set us up with great restaurants and shopping (with maps)! He really went above and beyond to make us feel welcome in a new big city! The locations is perfect and the rooms are very well kept. We will be back and referring!! Thank you Nicole for your time!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliverchrisina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Front Office Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Our hotel is committed to exceed guest expectations, and going above and beyond in every way to make guests' stays more enjoyable. Our location is walking distance to Little Italy, the USS Midway, and the cruise ship terminal which makes its the perfect San Diego hotel location. We thank you in advance for your referrals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Front desk staff is VERY COURTEOUS, & HELPFUL. We arrived early, & they got us into the very first room, quickly. Located on corner of a VERY BUSY INTERSECTION (cars & trucks going from the airport, to Rt. 5). At 7:30 A.M. on week-days, construction begins on a new park, right across the street, in which you can hear (until it's completed). Jet planes also landing nearby. Within walking distance to: Trolly, harbor, Little Italy, & Saturdays' street market fair. Typical continental breakfast of only packaged pastries, coffee/tea & cold cereal. A GREAT Buy & Value for being in UP-TOWN San Diego!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJAlfonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Well thank you for sharing all of your comments, it is very rewarding to hear the great experience you had at our hotel. We do our very best to make sure that each one of our guests are treated with the best customer service, and are accommodated in the clean and comfortable rooms. Our location is the cherry on top of your visit to San Diego, and adds to the overall value of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Lakes, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I had non-refundable, non-changealbe prepaid reservations booked through an outside source that, due to family medical reasons, we were unable to keep. This meant forefiting this money that the hotel could have kept. Without hesitation Vicki, the reservation manager, worked with me to find a date that not only fit my schedule but was within the same price range as I had booked. She absolutely made my day of not only looking forward to a weekend away in San Diego, but not losing out on the money I'd already spent. Their concern to accomodate me and earn my satifaction goes beyond the typical customer service efforts of most companies today. I look forward to my weekend away.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Holly Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We do our absolute best to accommodate all of our guests where they be future, present, or past guests its a standard that we set for our hotel. Our hotel understands that sometimes the circumstances are just not in the favor of our guests, so due to those unplanned inconveniences we tailor our policies to fit our guests' situation. I am glad that Vicky was able to turn your situation into a positive one, and we look forward to seeing you on your new reservation date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Very close to Little Italy and tram station. The room was clean enough and appropriate for price. The only thing I would diskike was that I could feel the vibration from trains running nearby, which was a little bit annoying.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atsushiiwata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Value is extremely important to us at the Marina Inn & Suites, we accommodate our guests at budget friendly prices while providing an array of complimentary amenities and stellar service. Thank you for your review, we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I must admit I really didn't give much thought to hotel planning for a weekend trip to San Diego - after all, I needed a place to literally only sleep and shower, so price and location were the deciding factor, expectations shifted aside. Well, lucky me! The place was actually a very nice surprise, and definitely more than I had hoped for at that rate. Sufficiently spacious room, reasonable amenities, excellent location just by the County Center/Little Italy trolley station and helpful staff on top of that. Nicole was just delightful. On the downside, the place is a little dated and some rooms do face the Amtrak tracks, but none of those things was particularly bothersome.

Room Tip: Some rooms in the eastern wing are within line of sight from nearby railway+trolley tracks, making f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juraj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Juraj,

We are delighted to here that your stay exceeded expectations, and that our hotel location, staff, and rooms were excellent. Thank you for your kind words about Nicole as well, your review is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
308 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This inn had more of a motel feel to it than an inn & suites, but it was a lot cleaner than I expected. The parking was free, which was nice, and it was pretty close to the trolley stop. It was pretty close to Gaslamp District without the outrageous price, so it was good value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buffy0182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, with respect we disagree we are more of an inn & suites as opposed to a motel as we offer complimentary breakfast, wifi, parking, and have a variety of rooms and suites available for our guests to choose from. We are proud that our housekeeping staff continue to provide clean and comfortable rooms for our guests, and will continue to exceed expectations. Once again thank you for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#174 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#71 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn and Suites

Property: Marina Inn and Suites
Address: 1943 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92101-2217
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Marina Inn and Suites, conveniently located next to the San Diego Int'l Airport, Lindbergh Field. Only 300 yards from the beautiful bay of San Diego, our phenomenal location and customer service is exceptionally outstanding! Just two blocks from little Italy rich with restaurants and beauty, and a few short miles from the Gaslamp District,which features an abundance of restaurants, night clubs, shopping and museums. If you are a sports lover you will be just minutes from PETCO PARK home of the San Diego Padres. Our amenities include, but are not limited to, Microwave and Refrigerator available upon request, and Swimming Pool. Sea World and Zoo Savings Packages are available. Great value visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn And Hotel San Diego
Marina Hotel San Diego
Marina Motel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing