We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marina Inn and Suites
Ranked #189 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend stay”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The inn is located facing the Marina, the view from our room was very nice. The woman at the front desk, Nicole, was very friendly, sweet and helpful. My only complain was the noise coming from the other rooms. Otherwise, our experience was pleasant.

Room Tip: We requested a room on the second floor, we had been assigned the first floor. We had no problem get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadiras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, General Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Jadiras,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! The view from your room is definitely breath-taking, if only we could wake up to that every day. Nicole also wanted to thank you for your review, as your kind words heightened her already enthusiastic attitude at work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    167
    91
    29
    53
See reviews for
81
147
48
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay in San Diego. It was nice to get out of snowy Minnesota and into some sunshine. An added bonus was how great your staff was while we were there. We especially liked Nicole. She was extremely friendly and helpful, and it was nice to see such a happy face check us in and out of our room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, General Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Allison,

On behalf of our staff here at the Marina Inn and Suites we want to thank your for your exceptional comments. We are delighted that our sunny weather was able to make your stay in San Diego more enjoyable, as I am sure the sun hides in Minnesota during this time. After reading this review, Nicole was ecstatic as she just started a few weeks ago, and is already making guests' stays as perfect as possible. Your comments are sure to boost her efforts in ensuring that every guest checks in and out with a smile on their face.

With Much Appreciation,
Pooja Patel
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Inn was well maintained and clean. We arrived a little early for our reservation and they had a room on the ground floor. I requested a room on the second floor and there were none ready yet. The person at the front desk immediately called housekeeping and asked them to get the room on the second floor cleaned and ready to go right away for us. We were instructed that we could leave our bags in the room and housekeeping would work around them to get the room ready for us. By the time we completed our check in and moved our bags up to the assigned room housekeeping was already in the room and had already completed most of the cleaning. The room was very nice and well cleaned when we returned. Great job everyone. This is the second time we have stayed at the Marina Inn and Suites and it just gets better every time,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David777771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time post a review for our hotel. We are glad to hear that we were able to accommodate you early and quickly, so that you could enjoy your day in San Diego. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Located near the harbor and little italy but the place is very noicy.. nearby highway and airport makes it difficult to sleep. Rooms are spacious but old. Complimentary internet does not connect well in the 'peripheral' rooms and in the name of complimentary breakfast they just have juice and cereals. Staff is very helpful and ready for the service anytime and in any way possible.

Room Tip: Choose a room not in the periphery if you want good internet connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaktiagoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel, your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are currently in contact with our internet company in regards to the inconveniences you experienced, and are doing our best to fix this immediately. On behalf of our staff here at the Marina Inn, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to stay at, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Pros:

The rooms are very clean.

Great Customer Service

Location is good, you are right by Harbor view, its a block away.

Good amount of channels to browse through, the remote control needs an upgrade though.

Free breakfast in the morning (we didn't actually try it), there is a Denny's across the street.

They have a place to hang your clothes, a coffee maker, and a desk.


Cons:

It is noisy, there is construction going on across the street, as well as constant traffic at the intersection, so if you are a light sleeper this may not be the hotel for you.

Parking lot is rather tiny and gets packed.

What can be improved? The conditions of their showers need major upgrades, its old with chipping paint.
________________________________________________________________________
This hotel is good for people on a budget and for students. If you are traveling without a car, the Amtrak and a Trolley stop is about 13 minutes away on foot.We got a free upgrade because when we checked in our room was not available yet. Don't book through third party websites, book directly with Marina Inn and Suites its way cheaper! Prices were from $49 dollars a night to $69 dollars a night when we stayed there during the week (a Thursday and Friday). I would recommend if you are on a budget and aren't too worried about luxury.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
First off, we would like to thank you for this phenomenal review! Our whole staff strives to meet all of your expectations from customer service, to the cleanliness of our rooms, and we are proud to hear that we met those expectations. We also appreciate the fantastic tip to our future guests to book directly with us. San Diego awaits your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Arrived without reservation, but friendly staff were accommodating. Checked 3 motels located one after another in a row before choosing Marina. Clean rooms, television, easy walk to a Denny's restaurant for a bite to eat. (I prefer topnotch dining, but under the circumstances, the convenience and a great salad were sufficient). As noted elsewhere, I wouldn't call the continental breakfast anything to write home about. Upon return to San Diego airport, flights were cancelled nationwide, so I returned to motel, and it was like they had known me as a regular customer for years. Would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brombones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to thank you for this awesome review! It is the generous words like yours that keep us motivated to provide the best quality of service, and rooms to our guests. We are excited for you to visit San Diego again hopefully in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California, Usa
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good workers and great hospitality! Will recommend to all my friends. When we entered the room we were surprised on how clean it was! If in area, will book at marina inn! Hotwire did great! We also had an amazing view from the door!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarai T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We are happy to hear that you had a great stay! Hospitality and cleanliness are our prime goals, so we are proud that we were able to meet those goals during your stay. We also want to encourage you to book directly with us, so that you will always receive the best rates guaranteed. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#171 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#76 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn and Suites

Property: Marina Inn and Suites
Address: 1943 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92101-2217
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Marina Inn and Suites, conveniently located next to the San Diego Int'l Airport, Lindbergh Field. Only 300 yards from the beautiful bay of San Diego, our phenomenal location and customer service is exceptionally outstanding! Just two blocks from little Italy rich with restaurants and beauty, and a few short miles from the Gaslamp District,which features an abundance of restaurants, night clubs, shopping and museums. If you are a sports lover you will be just minutes from PETCO PARK home of the San Diego Padres. Our amenities include, but are not limited to, Microwave and Refrigerator available upon request, and Swimming Pool. Sea World and Zoo Savings Packages are available. Great value visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Marina Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn And Hotel San Diego
Marina Hotel San Diego
Marina Motel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing