We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff convenient location...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Inn and Suites
Ranked #186 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Arrived without reservation, but friendly staff were accommodating. Checked 3 motels located one after another in a row before choosing Marina. Clean rooms, television, easy walk to a Denny's restaurant for a bite to eat. (I prefer topnotch dining, but under the circumstances, the convenience and a great salad were sufficient). As noted elsewhere, I wouldn't call the continental breakfast anything to write home about. Upon return to San Diego airport, flights were cancelled nationwide, so I returned to motel, and it was like they had known me as a regular customer for years. Would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brombones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to thank you for this awesome review! It is the generous words like yours that keep us motivated to provide the best quality of service, and rooms to our guests. We are excited for you to visit San Diego again hopefully in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 477 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good workers and great hospitality! Will recommend to all my friends. When we entered the room we were surprised on how clean it was! If in area, will book at marina inn! Hotwire did great! We also had an amazing view from the door!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarai T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

We are happy to hear that you had a great stay! Hospitality and cleanliness are our prime goals, so we are proud that we were able to meet those goals during your stay. We also want to encourage you to book directly with us, so that you will always receive the best rates guaranteed. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed there for one night. Very helpful & friendly staff at the reception. Our room was very noisy, but clean. The continental breakfast was disappointing: some cornflakes, coffee, tea, milk and orange juice. That's it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bea r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for your comments! We’re so happy to hear about your pleasant experience, our rooms will always be exceptionally clean and neat for every guest. As for the breakfast, we offer the free continental breakfast as a kind gesture to get your day started. We do offer more than what you mentioned, such as pastries and bagels; we’re sorry we did not meet your expectations. Thanks again for your review, as it is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Greate service for a hotel nearby the airport. They offered me shuttle at checkin and they even told me theu would pick me up at the airport whenI came back a week later. she figured out before I even told her that I needed to park my car while I went on my trip. It was so pleasant to know that they were willing to help me with everythimg I needed without hassle. Im so happy I didnt stay at the Motel 6 down the street. For great rates customer service and quality roooms the Marina Inn is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments! We’re happy you chose to stay with us. We will always have an associate ready to help in any possible way, offering exceptionally clean rooms with great amenities. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great location, and a very good value! Pet-friendly, too!

I didn't know hotels with smoking rooms still existed, but this one does. Have someone be on the lookout for you if you're sensitive to it. The room I was in did not smell like smoke.

Classic CRT hotel television in room has standard RCA-jack A/V inputs so you can hook up your media gadgets. The WiFi Internet is decent and free - its bandwidth is geared for uploading pictures and videos, not for watching streams.

A good set of toiletries was supplied, as well as a single-cup coffee maker set. Canteen-operated (third party vendor) vending machines are locked in along with the ice machine - it requires your room key. Late-late-night fast-food restaurants within walking distance, no need to call the delivery room service, unless you have no energy to spare for it.

The free breakfast, although simple, it does the job, gets you full of energy to enjoy San Diego, whatever it has, be it the USS Midway Museum, Sea World, the Star of India, the San Diego Comic Con, or even the quaint bath houses nearby.

This hotel has a bit of an issue with noise. It's close to the trolley line, traffic intersection, and an airport. Unless you are hard of hearing, a heavy sleeper, or own a good set of earplugs, this place may not be for you.

The room I was in had a broken room safe, it was LOCKED. Be sure to let the desk know right away so that you would not get charged for it, if you encounter one locked as a joke by the previous tenant.

Room Tip: Some low-price packages may have fees added such as those for running water and room safes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments! We’re delighted to hear about your experience! We’re glad you enjoyed your room and amenities, we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Perfect spot if you don't have a car. Trolley can take you anywhere. The Inn is great and the price is awesome. Shuttle back to Airport so no taxi even if the hour is 5 am. I keep coming back to this great little find

.✈:)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gama_debe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We’re so happy to hear about your pleasant and convenient stay. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Room is cheap With a good location near dowtown and near the San Diego Baye. Room little bit noisy because train or tramway pass close to the hotel. It´s a good choice to pass one nigth dowtown San Diego!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Benoitprian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We’re very happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. Our prices will always be reasonable and our quality will never cease to amaze you! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#173 of 278 in San Diego
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#123 of 278 in San Diego
722 reviews
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#63 of 278 in San Diego
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn and Suites

Address: 1943 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92101-2217
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $84 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Marina Inn and Suites, conveniently located next to the San Diego Int'l Airport, Lindbergh Field. Only 300 yards from the beautiful bay of San Diego, our phenomenal location and customer service is exceptionally outstanding! Just two blocks from little Italy rich with restaurants and beauty, and a few short miles from the Gaslamp District,which features an abundance of restaurants, night clubs, shopping and museums. If you are a sports lover you will be just minutes from PETCO PARK home of the San Diego Padres. Our amenities include, but are not limited to, Microwave and Refrigerator available upon request, and Swimming Pool. Sea World and Zoo Savings Packages are available. Great value visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Marina Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn And Hotel San Diego
Marina Hotel San Diego
Marina Motel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing