We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marina Inn and Suites
Ranked #192 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Wettingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Price.”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed there for one night. Very helpful & friendly staff at the reception. Our room was very noisy, but clean. The continental breakfast was disappointing: some cornflakes, coffee, tea, milk and orange juice. That's it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bea r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We’re so happy to hear about your pleasant experience, our rooms will always be exceptionally clean and neat for every guest. As for the breakfast, we offer the free continental breakfast as a kind gesture to get your day started. We do offer more than what you mentioned, such as pastries and bagels; we’re sorry we did not meet your expectations. Thanks again for your review, as it is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    166
    91
    29
    53
See reviews for
81
146
48
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tijuana, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Greate service for a hotel nearby the airport. They offered me shuttle at checkin and they even told me theu would pick me up at the airport whenI came back a week later. she figured out before I even told her that I needed to park my car while I went on my trip. It was so pleasant to know that they were willing to help me with everythimg I needed without hassle. Im so happy I didnt stay at the Motel 6 down the street. For great rates customer service and quality roooms the Marina Inn is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments! We’re happy you chose to stay with us. We will always have an associate ready to help in any possible way, offering exceptionally clean rooms with great amenities. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great location, and a very good value! Pet-friendly, too!

I didn't know hotels with smoking rooms still existed, but this one does. Have someone be on the lookout for you if you're sensitive to it. The room I was in did not smell like smoke.

Classic CRT hotel television in room has standard RCA-jack A/V inputs so you can hook up your media gadgets. The WiFi Internet is decent and free - its bandwidth is geared for uploading pictures and videos, not for watching streams.

A good set of toiletries was supplied, as well as a single-cup coffee maker set. Canteen-operated (third party vendor) vending machines are locked in along with the ice machine - it requires your room key. Late-late-night fast-food restaurants within walking distance, no need to call the delivery room service, unless you have no energy to spare for it.

The free breakfast, although simple, it does the job, gets you full of energy to enjoy San Diego, whatever it has, be it the USS Midway Museum, Sea World, the Star of India, the San Diego Comic Con, or even the quaint bath houses nearby.

This hotel has a bit of an issue with noise. It's close to the trolley line, traffic intersection, and an airport. Unless you are hard of hearing, a heavy sleeper, or own a good set of earplugs, this place may not be for you.

The room I was in had a broken room safe, it was LOCKED. Be sure to let the desk know right away so that you would not get charged for it, if you encounter one locked as a joke by the previous tenant.

Room Tip: Some low-price packages may have fees added such as those for running water and room safes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments! We’re delighted to hear about your experience! We’re glad you enjoyed your room and amenities, we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Perfect spot if you don't have a car. Trolley can take you anywhere. The Inn is great and the price is awesome. Shuttle back to Airport so no taxi even if the hour is 5 am. I keep coming back to this great little find

.✈:)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gama_debe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We’re so happy to hear about your pleasant and convenient stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, France
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Room is cheap With a good location near dowtown and near the San Diego Baye. Room little bit noisy because train or tramway pass close to the hotel. It´s a good choice to pass one nigth dowtown San Diego!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Benoitprian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We’re very happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. Our prices will always be reasonable and our quality will never cease to amaze you! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California, Usa
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Me and a couple of friends came down to San Diego during Presidents weekend, and had a blast! We wanted to be near the gaslamp, and close to all of the clubs, and the Marina Inn definitely was. The front desk was more than happy to point me to all of the poppin clubs. The rooms were nice, the value was good, but the service was exceptional!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaqueline376_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your comments! We’re so happy to hear about your stay with us. As you mentioned, our location is amazing, couldn’t be any more convenient. Our staff takes pride in offering outstanding customer service and helping in any possible way. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I really liked the great attitude and hospitality of all employess really nice lovng people and hardworkers and great attitude sarah what a great expiernce didnt thnk i would have a good time due to other bad motels bt somethng always happens for a reasson

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRoublebstsgv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge the efforts of our employees. They will always provide outstanding customer service and have a room nice and clean for each guest. We hope to see you on your next trip to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#172 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#74 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn and Suites

Property: Marina Inn and Suites
Address: 1943 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92101-2217
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Marina Inn and Suites, conveniently located next to the San Diego Int'l Airport, Lindbergh Field. Only 300 yards from the beautiful bay of San Diego, our phenomenal location and customer service is exceptionally outstanding! Just two blocks from little Italy rich with restaurants and beauty, and a few short miles from the Gaslamp District,which features an abundance of restaurants, night clubs, shopping and museums. If you are a sports lover you will be just minutes from PETCO PARK home of the San Diego Padres. Our amenities include, but are not limited to, Microwave and Refrigerator available upon request, and Swimming Pool. Sea World and Zoo Savings Packages are available. Great value visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Marina Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn And Hotel San Diego
Marina Hotel San Diego
Marina Motel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing