We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very Enjoyable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westgate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1055 Second Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are comfortable, spacious and spotlessly clean.
I found all the staff to be courteous, helpful and approachable.

The best thing that stands out about this hotel is the food! I ordered three lots of room service and it was all exceptionally brilliant.
It was hot in temperature, great quality, appealing to the eye, just enjoyable. Food for all of us when away from home and travelling is a big thing, we all have varying tastes and standards. This hotel is pleasant and again I emphasise all the staff are great.

It's in a great location with a shopping Mall directly across the road and within walking distance of the gas lamp area.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    265
    81
    34
    18
See reviews for
124
291
62
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had a wonderful, wonderful, stay at The Westgate Hotel.
It was so lovely that we stayed on an extra three days.
The room was wonderful, the pool felt spa-like and staff wecoming.
I highly recommend the Westgate Hotel.

Room Tip: A high floor is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnesjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Spent 4 night on the 06/17/14 on wesgate hotel with my friend it was nice,we liked the hotel and the location was great. The staff was nice sepacily shraddha carlin.
She was really helpful. I will go back again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nisrine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The valet parking attendants were very friendly and well mannered. The lobby is small but beautiful with a few chandeliers and nice staircase. The front desk personal was friendly.

All the employees are not in a uniform but rather in very nice attire. Every employee we encountered made some sort of small talk with myself and my 12 year old daughter. I felt welcomed after a good day in SD.

The rooms are not directly visible from the hallways. You have to go through a small hallway to get to each room which adds more privacy and eliminated the noise. It felt very private. My room was on the 11th floor and it had a great view of the city.

The room had a powder room, large mirror, robes, and the actual bathroom was separate from the dual sink area.

The room itself had a full size desk, outlets all around and comfy beds. The balcony opened wide so you could walk out and overlook the pool. The AC can be controlled in your room and isn't noisy or too cold/hot.

The workout room is available and nice!

Chocolates were left on the pillow and the staff came by to fill the ice bucket.

Room service was a little late with our breakfast but it was good. The gentleman who brought our food was kind and verified our order. I forgot to order coffee and he brought it right away.

The only negative was the small TV. I think it was 20 inches?? Not sure but definitely was not proportionate to the room.

I would go back and recommend it for a couple or anyone that enjoys nice stays.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Normah29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in June. From the moment we drove up to hotel, the staff was always there to help make our stay very enjoyable!! Our room was even better than expected. It surpassed all expectations!! This hotel made sure all the little extras were provided to make the stay over the top! We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lil lexi girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central, NJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Spent 4 nights last week and loved the hotel.
Great old world charm.. Crown molding, pocket doors, vintage furniture.. reminded me of the Palmer House in Chicago or an old European hotel but with all the modern conveniences.
GREAT rate and excellent staff. would stay there every time i go to SD.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The service at this hotel surpasses any I've ever encountered. Breakfast is amazing. Music in the lounge or rooftop is a very nice touch. Facilities are tasteful and immaculate. If you are going to San Diego, this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#10 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,597 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#40 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#17 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#33 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 4,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westgate Hotel

Property: The Westgate Hotel
Address: 1055 Second Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgate offers the ease and pleasures of the world’s finest metropolitan hotels, and the best of Southern California! Minutes from the airport or the San Diego Convention Center, steps from the trolley/train station and readily accessible by freeway. Within walking distance is the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Opera and the Symphony, Horton Plaza shops and Gaslamp Quarter energy. Return to the quiet of your private room and relax in luxury, then consider a visit to Le Spa or the Fitness Center, a glass of wine in the intimate Plaza Bar, or an elegant dining experience graciously served in The Westgate Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate San Diego
Westgate Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing