We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westgate Hotel
Ranked #25 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Central, NJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Spent 4 nights last week and loved the hotel.
Great old world charm.. Crown molding, pocket doors, vintage furniture.. reminded me of the Palmer House in Chicago or an old European hotel but with all the modern conveniences.
GREAT rate and excellent staff. would stay there every time i go to SD.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    269
    82
    36
    18
See reviews for
131
294
64
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The service at this hotel surpasses any I've ever encountered. Breakfast is amazing. Music in the lounge or rooftop is a very nice touch. Facilities are tasteful and immaculate. If you are going to San Diego, this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed at the Westgate for a week attending a conference. I think the hotel might be fine if one is on holiday but in terms of staying there for a business trip it’s a big “No.”

For starters I reserved a 2 double bed room and when I arrived the day before everyone was coming into town the front desk clerk acted as if it was someone else’s job to give me the correct room. I was put into a king sized room which wasn’t going to work as I had a conference roommate. When I asked him if the following day I could be moved when my roommate arrived he was totally non-committal and told me I would just have to check back in the morning around 11:00am. Then he told me ”we are totally booked this week!.” Couldn’t seem to give a care in the world about this important requirement and reservation booking. Yes, I know they were booked as I was one of the conference attendees and I had made my reservation in the first few days after our block opened at the Westgate and again I was there before everyone else – so if not me – who was getting a double room? Luckily my roommate got comped another room and even better for her it was at another hotel – the Palomar, she loved it.

Next, oh how to write this well there was a live cockroach in my bed. Yes, that’s right. I called downstairs and they did send a very nice and shocked housekeeper who changed my sheets upon request and removed the carcass. I understand this is possible and I shouldn’t over play it but still it was gross and I was on high alert in the room after that. And in all the world hotels I have stayed at – it has never ever happened before. The manager called the next day to apologize, which I appreciated. And there were no other bugs during my stay.

Then my room was on the side where there was a make shift homeless meeting spot. There were blood curdling screams the first night. I kept waking up and going to the window. This continued all week. It was hard as I developed the cold/flu and I desperately needed to sleep to make my conference activities each morning. The homeless people fighting and screaming at odd hours of the night were not helpful and the screaming was so jarring. Its one of the things I most remember about my room. And I know the hotel can do nothing about this issue. But it is something to be aware of if you need to sleep and then wake up early and produce in a meeting.

I ordered a lot of room service…tons because I was so sick and on at least three times they forget items. I had to keep checking and then calling room service to come back with what I had ordered.

On my last night I went back to the room at about 3:45 pm totally exhausted from being sick and working at a conference and my room was not made up. I had to call housekeeping and wait while someone made up my room. And really at 3:45 pm…when I had been gone since early morning – well….I think that was unacceptable.

The final kicker however was when I went to check out. I asked for a stamp to mail my mom a card for her birthday. They couldn’t sell me a stamp because they didn’t keep them. What hotel doesn’t have book of stamps at reception!? So they couldn’t take my card and as I was flying out of the country, it was really disappointing. This type of grand dame old hotel always has stamps. It’s part of the customer service they are supposed to offer – but not at the Westgate.
I was very disappointed by my stay and kept kicking myself for wanting a character type hotel. I should have stayed at The W.

On the positive side, the hotel is very lovely and grand with a beautiful staircase in the lobby. The breakfast is fabulous and under $20. The rooms are spacious and they have vanity areas which I love. There was a wedding in the hotel and it was decorated so beautifully. A wedding here would probably be so memorable. One of the bellmen was the nicest young man and he really tried to help me. If I hadn't need to work and I was vacationing I think the hotel would have worked just fine.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a quiet side of the hotel.
See more room tips
Green Features: Not good. I kept hanging my towel so that the maid would not take it and wash it and everyday she took and washed it.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank girlwithdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardCox, Director of Operations at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am very sorry to hear that your stay was less than exceptional. I can assure you that your remarks will be shared with the staff and management team to improve our services where possible. I would like the opportunity to speak with you in person regarding your recent stay, please feel free to contact me at 619-557-3619.

Sincerely,
Sarah Gunter
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
México
Level Contributor
414 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed at the Westgate during a whole week and I can say it is a very good option in San Diego... The check-in and check-out services are very efficient... Rooms, including bathrooms, are very clean and well illuminated... You may get complimentary wifi, water and chocolates... Service is very friendly and efficient... Besides, it is very well located, on Broadway and Second Avenue...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fevigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

From the outside you would think this was another modern hotel , however as soon as you walk into reception it feels like you have walked Into a royal palace , this hotel feels like something from back in the day when every detail means luxury , rooms are spacious very comfortable and each room has an entrance before you get to your room door ,which cuts out hallway noise and adds to security , the hotel pool is relaxing and even has gym equipment and a running track for those who like too train outside , the gym is small but has sufficient equipment for a general workout , the hotel is located next to a mall and near to a supermarket , there is plenty of bars restaurants surrounding the hotel , my stay here was totally enjoyable and restful , staff are great and very friendly and if your staying in San Diego I would recommend it

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel has the old fashioned elegance of a classic hotel. The sweeping staircase the comfortable beds and the double door bedrooms. The bathroom and shower are not modern but fit with the hotel great sized wardrobe in the spacious room. I have stayed here a couple of times and never want to stay anywhere else! Close to shopping ,tour buses , the seafront and convention centre. Swimming pool and running track are the best I have seen . Staff attentive and extremely helpful. Did not eat in hotel but was told by colleague that it was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

All personnel from front desk to cleaning lady were extremely helpful and courteous. We have never experienced this level of customer service before. Keep on the good work Westgate!! The outdoor pool on roof top was wonderful. The location was perfect steps away from shopping, restaurants and bars/clubs.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Guest1SanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#15 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#39 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#9 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,651 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westgate Hotel

Property: The Westgate Hotel
Address: 1055 2nd Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-4811
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgate offers the ease and pleasures of the world’s finest metropolitan hotels, and the best of Southern California! Minutes from the airport or the San Diego Convention Center, steps from the trolley/train station and readily accessible by freeway. Within walking distance is the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Opera and the Symphony, Horton Plaza shops and Gaslamp Quarter energy. Return to the quiet of your private room and relax in luxury, then consider a visit to Le Spa or the Fitness Center, a glass of wine in the intimate Plaza Bar, or an elegant dining experience graciously served in The Westgate Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate San Diego
Westgate Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing