We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Palatial elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westgate Hotel
Ranked #30 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Palatial elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed one night for Valentines day and had dinner in the hotel. From the outside you would think this is a modern stylish hotel. However you enter into a palace! I wanted to take all the furniture, paintings and rugs, even curtains home! Wow! The lobby is furnished with antiques and very high price silk upholstered chairs, beautiful rugs that go with the décor all in a spacious area. There is a business center off in a corner room with rounded corners trimmed in moldings and fabric. Every aspect to the hotel is elegant.

We had an adjoining suite, both rooms large with plenty of light and all the modern amenities you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The beds were comfortable: in one room a king and the other two full beds. They had feather pillows, which are great for some people but I am a bit allergic to them. However I slept well. (Love the bed spread) The TV worked fine and offers a lot of channels and movies. There is a radio/music player that can play ambience music - new wave ocean waves etc. The bathroom has a shower/tub but the tub is small. It has an antique feeling to it, being not so big, but with a dresser by the closet. I loved the furniture in the rooms.

As this was a gift to me I don't know the cost but imagine that the room rates are high. It is wonderful for a romantic get away.

We did not use the gym or other facilities, but we dined in the main dining room downstairs. What a fabulous place! The meal was wonderful. I have not had Cornish hen in some time. It was wonderful. The first course was also beautifully prepared and presented. The décor again was out of a Louis XVI atmosphere.

The location is right down town near the Gas Light area and theaters. I think that San Diego is a city that needs to be pulled together in a style and flow. I find it to be disjointed. Certainly the area was nice near a park now being renovated. I love the street cars.

If you don't plan to stay here at least have lunch or dinner. They have wonderful Sunday brunches that are ample - on the mezzanine level in a wonderfully decorated room.

Of course the service was excellent as well.

Room Tip: We were in adjoining corner rooms on the 8th floor. They were large, comfortable, elegant, light and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    294
    88
    38
    19
See reviews for
145
314
67
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

I can't compliment this hotel enough,gracious in every respect from the old world grandeur and elegance of the lobby and public spaces to the comfort of the rooms.No generic hotel this,although the immediate opulence may not please those who prefer modern lines,it's bold style and furnishings must surely command a big ' wow '
I found the staff charming and helpful and the food in the lobby restaurant excellently presented and very fairly priced.Spa in transition to being a very decent facility although a little limited at the moment.
Overall - incredible and a place where one can indulge in the style of a long gone era.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Degsyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Lovely lobby. The staff was attentive and helpful. Storms in Atlanta caused us to stay an extra night. San Diego or Snow and Ice? The manager provided a great rate for the extra time spent at the hotel. The service was excellent.
I know the Brass in the bathrooms was extremely hard to clean, but it was beautiful after each cleaning.
Will defintely return with my husband for a romantic extended weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights. We checked in around 11 PM on a Friday night. No valet or lobby greeter, deathly quiet. The Front Desk agent was not unfriendly but a bit distant. This was a common experience with the staff. The lobby is beautiful but a little overkill with the tiger lillies. I am allergic. The room was nice and spacious. Very heavy cleaning powder or spray was noticeable. We enjoyed the pool area and hot tub, very nice.

I thought the room rate and room service charges were very fair.

Our feeling was we did not feel "welcome" here. It felt very cold. Because of this feeling we were not interested in trying the restaurant, tea or Sunday Brunch.

Unfortunately, we would try another hotel next time we visit San Diego.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BulldogMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, Manager at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Bulldog Matt,

I would like to thank you for informing me about the service you received during your stay with us. I would like to express my sincerest apologies for the level of service that you received. We pride ourselves on the level of service that our guests have come to expect while at The Westgate Hotel and can assure that we take your comments very seriously. I would like the opportunity to speak with you in person regarding your recent stay, please feel free to contact me directly at 619-557-3619.

Sincerely,

Sarah Gunter
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I spent a 2 night weekend there in January 2014. The hotel is beautiful. The décor in the lobby and rooms was first class. Every staff person that we had contact with was excellent...best service ever. The hotel is well located in Gaslamp Quarter - easy to walk to the harbor as well as many fine restaurants and bars. The pool and spa on the 3rd floor outside were just beautiful. The only negative comment I have is that the whirlpool was much too hot so we only stayed in for 5-6 minutes. As we were coming in 4 people were leaving because it was too hot. But that is the only negative. Food and restaurant staff were wonderful as were the bartenders, front desk, room service, housekeeping, maintenance, bell captain and valet.

They are rated as a 4 star hotel, but in my opinion they should be a 5 star. I would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Get a King room on an upper floor. Excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cremona, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We arrived 28 December without any reservation and the hotel staff, despite the hotel was very busy, they have done the impossible to find us a suitable accommodation.
Location in the city is strategic, close to gas lamp and all other roads full of restaurants and attractions.
Room was very clean and comfortable. Shower is great as well as all the small details that make the difference in the bathroom and in the room.
We have been accommodated at 12 floor where the view was special, up to the bay.
Special mention to the pool at the third floor, with jacuzzi with direct view to the surroundings buildings. In the same premises also the treadmill let you train with a great view.
Valet parking very efficient at reasonable price.
Business or leisure, MUST BE THERE.


Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paolo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hotel is an older hotel that is undergoing renovations over a period of time. It is located downtown so you are in walking distance to 5th avenue restaurants. The down side is that as an older hotel, the walls are thin so you can hear your neighbors. The hotel staff probably needs more training. Everyone was friendly but staff does not communicate with each other. So messages left with the front desk, parking lot, concierge, and house keeping are not shared. If you need something you need to speak to that dept directly.You may or may not get what you want.
We arrived at 11 AM. Rooms were not ready but that was to be expected. We left our bags and returned at 4:00 PM. Rooms were still not ready and no one could tell me why (house keeping would not answer the call from the front desk). I was moved to a different room after waiting a while.
The upside is that rooms were clean and updated nicely including the bathroom. They have new workout machines and a great pool. Got a good rate from Hotels.com. I would tray another place next time if the rates were over 125 a night.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qwerty613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#18 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#60 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westgate Hotel

Property: The Westgate Hotel
Address: 1055 2nd Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-4811
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#57 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgate offers the ease and pleasures of the world’s finest metropolitan hotels, and the best of Southern California! Minutes from the airport or the San Diego Convention Center, steps from the trolley/train station and readily accessible by freeway. Within walking distance is the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Opera and the Symphony, Horton Plaza shops and Gaslamp Quarter energy. Return to the quiet of your private room and relax in luxury, then consider a visit to Le Spa or the Fitness Center, a glass of wine in the intimate Plaza Bar, or an elegant dining experience graciously served in The Westgate Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate San Diego
Westgate Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing