We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of The Westgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westgate Hotel
Ranked #44 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The rooms give a british/european feel ( and sometimes you feel that certain things have been made unnecessarily complex when they could be simpler...LOL ). Rooms were great, clean and luxurious. The service could be better. Had issue with the parking on my first day and had to park in a neighboring hotel. hotel parking is $32/night. Locate at the edge of the gas-lamp district so you feel a little left out from all the fun at times, but could easily walk to the gas lamp quarters.

Room Tip: Parking fees - $32/night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sant0shPatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

503 - 509 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Got to the front desk and the reservation hadn't "gone through yet"...showed them the email with the confirmation number, still no dice. Why are they dealing with this travel website if there are unresolved issues (desk clerk seemed pretty used to the idea of this happening). Hotel staff blame the site, but its the HOTEL'S responsibility since they signed on to be part of that database of places to stay. Ridiculous...

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank john492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Director of Operations at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am sorry that your check-in experience was less then exceptional. You are correct when you say that it is our responsibility to ensure our third party reservations interface with the Hotel’s system. Your remarks are very helpful in allowing us to improve the way in which we deal with these issues. Please rest assured I have shared your comments with our management staff so that this issue can be prevented in the future.

Thank you again for the feedback and Happy New Year.

Sincerely,
Sarah Gunter
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel will appeal to those visitors who enjoy classical English style hotels as you can see from my pictures. I won't call this hotel the most luxurious I've ever stayed in but its strength are location and service... In particularly a service from Shraddha Carlin (Chief Concierge) who kindly and efficiently booked a bus tour for myself and my colleagues... What a genuinely nice lady... Rooms are spacious, clean and cone with all amenities you would expect in a nice hotel ... Thank you for a nice service

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was a beautiful property- very luxurious. The room was very comfortable. You are downtown so it isn't the quietest outside. We had earplugs to block out the Gaslamp late night noise and it was fine. Breakfast was delicious and all of the staff were very attentive. We hung out at the "bar" on Saturday night and there was fantastic live music too! We were a little surprised by the valet only parking and $32 parking charge and an additional $15 for wireless and hotel fee charge. Not expecting that. Overall, it is a lovely, very posh (in a Biltmore type way) property.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsTBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This is a great property. It is away from the typical business class guest. At times I felt like I was the only one in the hotel! The room was great, the pictures don't do it justice. Working at the desk was the best, i.e., the fresh air and the view. I really feel it was the best great value.
con: They will tell you that the WIFI is included but there is a fee tacked on to the bill that covers wifi, the cheap water and the turn down service, which I never got. They don't have ice machines, so the house keeper will come and ask if there is anything you need ( I found out later that that was the turn down service). Don't look for a bar in the refrigerator, they use it to store water shelf temp. Having got that off my mind, the staff is exceeding friendly and helpful. You will pay this fee for wifi alone at other properties.
What I really liked was the room and the huge patio doors and patio that you can walk out on, that open competely in front of the desk albeit the view was partially blocked by the NBC building. You get this awesome view and fresh air. They just installed a lap pool that is heated and they have a outside track; small work out room (no one there). The bathroom is very nice. The toilet and shower (hand shower would be nice) is nested so you can close the the door and still get to your clothes and sink (only One). It is nicely decorated.
The entrance to the room is located behind a security door that leads to a foyer that shields two rooms very nice. My only issue was in the dining room. I asked for basted eggs and got a mess both days that I ordered and the second day the eggs were burned. Really, and the waiter took 5.00 off of the bill, which covered that extra egg I ordered. Other that that the food was ok. Most cooks don't have a clue about basting eggs. I would stay here again, every property has some issue. It is with in walking distance to the gaslight and pier. I stayed in the lowest priced room, but got a tour of the other rooms- wow, they are extremely elegant but the cost is equally elegant.

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean side of the property. Ask for the out of the door price with taxes and services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

All the staff at the Westgate really make you feel at home. We had breakfast in the dining room and Gabriel was very knowledgeable and friendly. Gave us a few tips on visiting the city. The housekeeper for the turndown service in the evening took the time to talk to us about our visit and was genuinely interested in all we had to say and how we were doing.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Walt Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Walt Z-

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were impressed by a few members of our staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you once again upon your next visit to San Diego!

Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Built about 45 years ago to be San Diego's most luxurious stay, this hotel definitely delivers. Rooms are beautiful with exceptional attention to detail. Nicely appointed luxurious room, though the decor does feel like it could use a freshening. Bathroom was huge (2 showers!), though carpeting on this room did have a faint musty odor.

Staff is highly attentive. Located close to many restaurants, and just across from Horton Plaza. Had a meeting in the hotel that was catered, and the food was really really good. Best brownie I have ever had!

If you are looking for true luxury during a stay in San Diego, this is the place to stay.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank takemeaway_2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear takemeaway_2010_10-

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your feedback and will pass on your kind comments to our staff. When your travels bring you to San Diego in the future, we hope to see you as our guest once again.

Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#47 of 279 in San Diego
2,500 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#40 of 279 in San Diego
2,071 reviews
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#3 of 279 in San Diego
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westgate Hotel

Address: 1055 2nd Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-4811
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#57 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $171 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgate offers the ease and pleasures of the world’s finest metropolitan hotels, and the best of Southern California! Minutes from the airport or the San Diego Convention Center, steps from the trolley/train station and readily accessible by freeway. Within walking distance is the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Opera and the Symphony, Horton Plaza shops and Gaslamp Quarter energy. Return to the quiet of your private room and relax in luxury, then consider a visit to Le Spa or the Fitness Center, a glass of wine in the intimate Plaza Bar, or an elegant dining experience graciously served in The Westgate Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate San Diego
Westgate Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing