We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such Fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westgate Hotel
Ranked #27 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Such Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed at the Westgate with a colleague while we were attending a conference at the San Diego Convention Centre. We had such fun! The decor is amusing and we really enjoyed the "old world charm" of the hotel. If you are looking for modern and sleek, you will be sad. But if you're looking for some unusual fun in your surroundings, you will be happy.

I had a room on the trolley side of the hotel, but I was high enough up that I didn't notice the noise at all and I slept very well. My colleague had a city view room and she said that it was also quiet and peaceful at night.

The hotel staff were friendly, patient and helpful with all our touristy questions, the rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean - and the location of the hotel is good. We thoroughly enjoyed walking through the Gaslamp Quarter each day as we made our way to and from the convention centre and the selection of shops and restaurants within walking distance from the hotel are excellent.

I will not hesitate to recommend the Westgate Hotel and will certainly stay there again should I ever find myself back in San Diego.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KEP55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    291
    86
    37
    19
See reviews for
141
311
66
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ciudad Ojeda
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was built in 1970 in a 19 century style. It looks very old, but is very well maintained. It is a great value except for the valet parking $32 a night. We self parked a couple of blocks away for $10 all day with in an out privileges.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pagnanid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We'll DEFINITELY be repeat visitors at The Westgate as this is one of the often used locations for The American College of Forensic Psychology's annual symposium. Although it was built in the 1970s ( take time to read the history in booklet available in room ) we most certainly did NOT feel as though we were living in the 1970s! The antiquity, the finely appointed art, sculptures, ornate chairs, just gorgeous. VERY quick check in; our room was one of the "Premier" a bit higher up. I suggest spending the extra money and ask for a view of the Coronado Bridge. We stayed on Coronado Island before checking in The Westgate, which was fabulous. But, nothing could have prepared us for the incredible ambiance, Bed linens SOOOOO exquisite ( I checked labels,,,Made in France ) We ordered room service; wait staff was very nice and fast; food out of this world. TWO THUMBS UP!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FfionMair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed here 8/2 - 8/4/13 to attend a couple Padre/Yankee games and go to Coronado. The lobby was beautiful and elegant and there was a woman playing the harp. Our room had 2 double beds and was very large and spotless and was furnished nicely. The beds were a little hard for our taste but the pillows were great. The bathroom was nice although it can use some updating...there was wallpaper peeling off next to the tub and the fixtures in the shower needed to be replaced or refinished. We really liked that there is a double door with a lock that you must access to get to your room door. We didn't hear any noise from other rooms or from the hallway. The pool was very nice although they should have some type of bar/restaurant in the pool deck area, if you wanted anything to eat or drink you had to order it on a phone and pay a $3.00 delivery fee. The location was great, right acrossed the street from Horton Plaza and about 10 blocks from Petco Park. My husband and I went down to the lounge Saturday evening and there was live music (smooth jazz) good drinks (great prices) and friendly staff and fellow guests. All in all, a nice place to stay and I would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank califdesire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I recently visited San Diego and had the most wonderful time ever. The hotel lobby is beautiful and elegant and our room was nice (enjoyed the turndown service at night, a very nice touch). The bathroom however could use some updating as the wallpaper was peeling in places and some spots in the shower/tub area looked moldy. The main door to the suite does have a gap around it and if you don't turn off the light in the little entryway just outside your suite the light can be bothersome while trying to sleep. We did feel that the price for parking as a guest of the hotel was a bit pricey. The hotel though is in a great central location (close to so many restaurants, shopping, Gaslamp Quarter and Little Italy). The staff however that we had the pleasure of dealing with were wonderful and helpful. The valets out front were friendly and informative, the cleaning woman that looked after our room was friendly and pleasant. The waiters we had for breakfast in the dining room were super as well. And I have to make special mention about the Chief Concierge, Shraddha Carlin. She was wonderful, very helpful, informative, and friendly (by far the best of any we have ever met). She set up little trips for us with things to do and see and even set up dinner reservations for us for our wedding anniversary. She is an absolute gem and an asset to the hotel. Thanks Shraddha!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellinghappy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardCox, Director of Operations at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Travellinghappy20,
Thank you for your kind feedback from your stay at The Westgate Hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to San Diego. It pleases all of us when we hear that we have made an impression with our guests.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Sarah Gunter
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

You could never judge a book by it's cover. Not that there was anything detracting from the cover, but the interior common areas were elegant and comfortable. For the price we paid, it was virtually upscale. The 10th floor room we occupied for our 4 day stay was well equipped and clean. The maids were better than average and this was where leaving a tip on the bed felt justified.

The hotel was cocooned away from the emergency service vehicle sirens which would normally travel along 1st Avenue, which was a block away. Our room faced north towards the Civic Centre and trolley line. The trolley's horn was audible, but we slept through it. We didn't try the food in the hotel because we would be eating out in the Gaslamp Quarter or in areas away from the Quarter. One of the dining rooms had a live jazz band during the dinner hour.

San Diego's excellent public transit was literally a few steps away. The Santa Fe train station at the north west corner of West Broadway and Kettner Boulevard was about a 10 minute walk. Restaurants were everywhere. 5th Avenue was a comfortable 5 minute walk away. There were "homeless" people predominantly on Broadway, but they were polite and harmless. It was safe to walk the streets in the wee hours of the morning.

You would need to pay for valet underground parking. There was a pay parking lot independent of the hotel at the north west corner of 1st Avenue and Ash Street which was less expensive. The walk back to the hotel would be about 15 minutes.

Enterprise Rental was the only company the hotel was contracted with. It was $50 US a day. Renting independently from the hotel would be less expensive, but the lineup to rent a vehicle independently may be time consuming during peak periods.

The staff was friendly and attentive. Special mention must be given to Ms Shraddha Carlin, the hotel's Chief Concierge who went out of her way to bring us across the street to her favourite breakfast/lunch eatery called St. Tropez. We ended up eating there every morning during our stay. Shraddha was the best hotel employee we had ever met. I hope she and her employer reads this.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side will face the trolley. Close the balcony door, turn on the air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jp1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastwood, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Whilst appearing beautiful and plush it needs to be bought into the 21st century. Colour scheme of 80's peach and pastels is overwhelming both in the lobby and in the rooms.

On arrival there was no doorman to assist with the bags, there was a struggle to get them through the narrow door which was difficult to find through the plethora of massive potplants which make for a confusing entrance to the hotel.

Staff whilst lovely took their time to respond to requests be it from house keeping or rooms service at the room rates you pay you would expect them to be a little more prompt and the meals are very expensive for tiny portions of average food. Also frustrating that something as simple as a banana could not be provided. and I needed to make a trip to 7/11.

The annex to the two rooms makes it difficult for any guests to reach you and if you are as unfortunate as we were to have rude, loud and inconsiderate neighbors ( I think the worst of their 2am returns resulted in them becoming amorous up against our door) had to be complained about repeatedly. Whilst staff acted on our complaints little was actually done other then a request to quiet down which was promptly forgotten the next night.

The room itself whilst large was sad and tired and needs updating. Firstly, they need to invest in seals for the door to cut down on light from annex and noise from your neighbors. Bathrooms need an complete overhaul and linens need a refresh. Also when a do not disturb sign is on the door house keeping calling whilst we were asleep to ask when they could clean the room was extremely annoying and defeats the purpose of a do not disturb sign.

Massage service that came to the room was excellent and would recommend it to any weary traveler. Being charged for water and "free: internet was a little annoying especially as the water wasn't updated everyday.

We had to call for maintenance five, three times for bathroom, once for telephone and once for air-conditioning.

All in all I wouldn't choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Pray the room next to you in vacant because evening the quietest neighbour will disturb you with a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelRathouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#48 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#68 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#18 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westgate Hotel

Property: The Westgate Hotel
Address: 1055 2nd Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-4811
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#57 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgate offers the ease and pleasures of the world’s finest metropolitan hotels, and the best of Southern California! Minutes from the airport or the San Diego Convention Center, steps from the trolley/train station and readily accessible by freeway. Within walking distance is the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Opera and the Symphony, Horton Plaza shops and Gaslamp Quarter energy. Return to the quiet of your private room and relax in luxury, then consider a visit to Le Spa or the Fitness Center, a glass of wine in the intimate Plaza Bar, or an elegant dining experience graciously served in The Westgate Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate San Diego
Westgate Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing