We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel Is Old- On Purpose”
Review of The Westgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westgate Hotel
Ranked #30 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This Hotel Is Old- On Purpose”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel- just know going in the style is OLD fashioned. Like old, French-style. The furniture is old on purpose. It's the theme of the hotel and if you're not ready for it, you'll walk in and be like, WTH.

But it was ok. Nice people. Good location. Decent gym.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNatL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    299
    92
    39
    19
See reviews for
152
318
67
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed at the Westgate Hotel as it was the only option in downtown San Diego through my work's approved travel list; didn't expect much but will be back again next month and will stay here again. The check-in was quick and easy; I was upgraded to a premium room which was elegant and beautiful with lots of light. Room came with bottled water in the fridge and comfy robes. I really appreciated the bath bubbles; you dont see them as a toiletry very often! The turndown service was a nice surprise. The little bar has a great happy hour; didnt try the restaurant but the menu looked great for foodies. There is a good size work out room on the lower level but I discovered the rooftop pool and running track on the 3rd floor; it was awesome! Everyone was very helpful and friendly. I could hear the trolley so I would suggest getting a room on the opposite side. I really appreciated the old style elegance and the large size of the room.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the opposite side of the trolley track
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montanasophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This boutique type hotel offers great service with a wonderful staff. The interior of the hotel is very ornante with a European elegance style. It is an older property, but it is very clean, superbly maintained and was surprisingly much more elegant than I expected. The turndown service was a one of many nice touches this hotel offers guests. The rooms were spacious and offered a large separate vanity and bathroom area.

There is a free onsite workout facility, a bar and a restaurant. In addition, the Westgate appears to host smaller conferences in the event center on the second floor.

The hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk from the Glasslamp District which hosts all kinds of resturants and bars. Right down the street is a Panera if you are looking for a quick snack, lunch or dinner. The area also hosts a large outdoor shopping mall around the corner from the hotel.

The only issue I had was the occasional noise generated from the trolley system that sits adjacent to the hotel, but by no means don't let this discourage you from staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castillo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Am here now trying to sleep but my room is on the side where the trolley cars are. They start early and finish late. Not a hope of sleep. If that wasn't bad enough the entrances to the rooms are through one shared door which is quite noisy.
The rooms are ok but the bed is a bit hard. The staff are very welcoming. The gym is tiny and a bit of a let down. No pool.
Located near lots of restaurants, bars, and a shopping mall with a cinema. Close to the airport also so not too long a journey.
Liked/ Disliked in equal measure....... Good location/ Noisy location.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights and really liked the hotel. The room service was great. The tortilla soup and pancakes were delicious--I ordered them on separate occasions (smile). The room was very clean and I enjoyed the turn down service every night. The hotel has an old quaint charm to it that I like because it is not like a typical hotel chain.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovelyinparis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Mass
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I go to San Diego all the time but never downtown -- it simply isn't that interesting. The Gaslamp District is basically a giant shopping small with gas lamps. Assuming you need to go downtown and want an affordable, aesthetically pleasing and comfortable hotel, this is it. $169 (!) is what I paid (conference rate). Rooms were more than adequate though the beds would have been more comfortable if they'd splurged for a mattress to put on top of the box springs. Breakfast was excellent -- lots of fresh juices to choose from. The conference cuisine was a cut above most conference cuisine.

I downgraded from 5 stars due to unbelievably long waits for the front desk, and the aforementioned mattresses. Also, make sure to face Horton's because the other two streets are really noisy, including streetcars. But for $169 you could do a lot worse -- I have.

Room Tip: Two busy streets and two very quiet exposures -- make sure to specify the latter, facing towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OOBonomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montebello, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Aside from getting this room on an extremely booked weekend in San Diego through Priceline prepay option. It was a nice hotel. The bed was comfy and a turn down service with chocolates was a nice touch. The single king size room was ver spacious. The only thing I didn't like was the layout of the neighboring rooms. We were divided by a door from the next room where guests were loud and unruly at 1130pm. I was trying to sleep and the noise didn't help. The location was about 3-4 blocks away from the heavy action in gas lamp. Good location. I'd stay again longer than a night and maybe just for two. The staff and help desk need to educate themselves on what bars and restaurants offer when during big fight nights like boxing and UFC. This would help those who want to watch them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Padiboys3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#62 of 278 in San Diego
929 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#44 of 278 in San Diego
2,452 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westgate Hotel

Property: The Westgate Hotel
Address: 1055 2nd Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-4811
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#57 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgate offers the ease and pleasures of the world’s finest metropolitan hotels, and the best of Southern California! Minutes from the airport or the San Diego Convention Center, steps from the trolley/train station and readily accessible by freeway. Within walking distance is the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Opera and the Symphony, Horton Plaza shops and Gaslamp Quarter energy. Return to the quiet of your private room and relax in luxury, then consider a visit to Le Spa or the Fitness Center, a glass of wine in the intimate Plaza Bar, or an elegant dining experience graciously served in The Westgate Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate San Diego
Westgate Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing