We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westgate Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Sofia Hotel(San Diego)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wyndham Harbour Lights(San Diego)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,033)
Filter reviews
1,033 results
Traveler rating
567
312
91
39
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
567
312
91
39
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschief conciergerunning trackhorton plazagaslamp districtturn down serviceroom serviceelegant hoteldouble doorsrooftop poolresort feevalet parkingtrolley stopper daylarge bathroomstreet noisebusiness centerthird floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
650 - 655 of 1,033 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012

What a great place! The location is perfect, very close to the Gaslamp district which is where all the action is, and also close to a great shopping mall. Rooms are quite big and give the feeling of luxury and comfort. I would absolutely stay here again. Concierge was very helpful and very knowlegable about what we wanted to do.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor so the views were not very good, but i can imagine how good it would be up higher...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTH275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel is styled like a 17th century French palace. The reception area is very stylish. Our room was on the 18th floor and views of the city from the balcony were amazing.

The room was accessed via a small private hall off the main corridor. This provides a sound buffer so no problems with noisy neighbours. The room itself was very spacious with a Kingsize bed, desk space, armchairs and ample dressing area. The shower had plenty of room and was powerful, unfortunately it tended to leave a puddle on the floor.

A resort fee was charged on a daily basis at $22 and valet parking was $32 a day. This gave you 2 bottles of water, fresh ice each evening, a free paper (never got one) and WiFi access.

The location is fantastic as it is opposite the Westfield shopping centre and on the edge of the gaslight district.

Overall a great place to stay and if you get up high the views are fantastic. I think the resort fees should be included in the price.

Room Tip: High rooms get fantastic city views. Don't forget the cost of parking and resort fee when booking.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Sheermadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

When our family, including our 8y.o. Twins arrived, we all said wow, what a beautiful hotel with a lovely foyer. Getting polite service, we then entered our room, and as my daughters stated on entry, 'can we live here'. Large, clean and elegant room with a lovely bathroom.
As a hotel, it was quiet, clean and in a wonderful position, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
At fault, not to have a fridge operating was disappointing and very surprising and the hotel did not have a pool, but not such an issue but was of surprise also
Overall a lovely place to stay and would well and truly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I had a most delightful stay at the Westgate Hotel for five days late September. The hotel is old world and has lots of charm and the service was outstanding. It is in a superb location, close to the Gaslamp District. The Chief Concierge could not have been more helpful in every way. She was knowledgeable about the city and was so sincere in trying to help as much as possible. I would like to return to this hotel and bring my family and spend a few days enjoying the hotel and San Diego. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardCox, General Manager at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Westgate Hotel. Please come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was my second stay at the Westgate. The staff was very warm and welcoming and helpful at every step. Bed comfort, shower, towels, water pressure were all top notch. Great location as well.

Where the property most falls short is the older furnishings, an old and small TV and the anitque desk area that lacked modern amentiies such as easy desktop electrical plugs and an adjustable desk chair.

If you like historic properties this may be for you, but in some ways the property is on the verge of just feeling old versus historic.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardCox, General Manager at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your kind and honest response. We are honored that you chose the Westgate Hotel and hope that we can welcome you back on your next trip to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews