We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff makes up for a hotel that is getting to be "too historic."”
Review of The Westgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westgate Hotel
Ranked #31 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great staff makes up for a hotel that is getting to be "too historic."”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was my second stay at the Westgate. The staff was very warm and welcoming and helpful at every step. Bed comfort, shower, towels, water pressure were all top notch. Great location as well.

Where the property most falls short is the older furnishings, an old and small TV and the anitque desk area that lacked modern amentiies such as easy desktop electrical plugs and an adjustable desk chair.

If you like historic properties this may be for you, but in some ways the property is on the verge of just feeling old versus historic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardCox, General Manager at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your kind and honest response. We are honored that you chose the Westgate Hotel and hope that we can welcome you back on your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    298
    91
    39
    19
See reviews for
151
318
67
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pointe Noire, Republic of the Congo
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Three nights in the Westgate formed the perfect base for a mini-weekend break in San Diego. We chose the hotel for its central location that was within easy walking distance of the main attractions and we weren't disappointed - its a 20 min walk to Petco park, 15 minutes to the Maritime museum and ferries, 5 minutes to 4th and 5th avenues and all their attractions and only 2 mins from Dalton Plaza. We even walked back from Balboa Park (a 40 minute descent down 6th avenue), and a pleasant amble hom,e. it really is perfectly placed for a great downtown experience.
The hotel is themed on a Victorian ballroom with chintz and chandeliers aplenty and an old fashioned barber's shop in the basement. We had a suite style room with plenty of space, which though slightly dated in appearance, was immaculate with no flaws at all. Service was very, veyr good and really helpful - a good, well run professional team. We only sampled one breakfast, which contrary to most business hotels was NOT a standardized buffet - a most refreshing change, though the price was anything but - $4 for coffee? But, the food was excellent and freshly prepared and we it enjoyed it mightily, despite the sticker shock! The only real sting in the tail is the much-commented upon $15 daily surcharge for spa, water, conference centre etc - even fully forewarned on this, I still just don't get it...either charge it all-in on the reservation, or make it apply on as-used basis...why continue to press on with weird approach to customer relations when it elicits so-much comment?
Overall though, a great and nicely classy downtown place to stay and, if they dumped or included the surcharge, it would be excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickDLuanda_Angola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardCox, General Manager at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and for your nice review. We hope that we can welcome you back to the Westgate Hotel upon your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We booked a hotel through Hotwire and were given this place. We loved it. It has an old world look and feel. We spent four nights in the hotel and would certainly go back. The room was large, with a king bed. The staff were wonderful. Kathyrn, on reception made our booking in, very pleasant and easy. In fact all the staff we come in contact with we're great. The room was spacious, clean and very quiet. The location was very good with everything we needed within walking distant. The only down side was the large number of homeless people on the streets the $15a day that we had to pay for Internet use, use of the safe, unlimited local telephone calls and four bottles of water per day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardCox, General Manager at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. The best that we can do is receive a review such as yours and know how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope that we can welcome you back to the Westgate Hotel upon your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

When we travel, it's all about saving money. I try my very best to priceline a great deal whenever possible. We booked this absolutely gorgeous hotel for a great price and we were absolutely pleased.
First off, the hotel is BEAUTIFUL. I added a few photos so you can see the real beauty without any touch ups.
Secondly, we didn't know anything about San Diego, but everything I read kept mentioning Gaslamp Quarter. I'm so thankful we did our research because it was the perfect location. It is within walking distance to a million restaurants, bars, Petco Park, and most importantly the trolley (what I call a metro system) which can take you all over San Diego and the surrounding areas.
I would definitely recommend this hotel if you visit San Diego. The valet parking was $35/day, but that seemed about the same as the surrounding hotels. The staff was friendly enough, but we didn't really deal with them too much to comment otherwise. Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurseJenn422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

During the week, the Westgate is a bustling business hotel with an incredible location for conventions, concerts, shopping etc. On the weekend, it is a quiet secret. This beautiful hotel has reduced rates during San Diego's peak months. Why? I have no idea but the rooms are large, well-appointed, service superb and walking distance to everything including the Gaslamp District. The concierge is particularly attentive, as well as quite special, and we have been staying there for years, taking a long weekend to see the wonderful plays in Balboa Park. Only negative? For the same reasons we love it - the location, parking is very expensive!

Room Tip: Choose a high floor and away from the trolley tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANSH90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Westgate when in San Diego for a conference at the convention center. Reservations were made for us so we knew nothing about the hotel when we arrived. It is extremely beautiful. The inside looks like an old European hotel, while the outside is much more modern. Biggest surprise was the $15 per day mandatory fee. They woul not let us charge it to the business account the hotel room was reserved under. Thank goodness our boss had her credit card and took care of it for us. Rooms were very nice. Two of us shared a double room and it was plenty big enough. Bathroom could use some updating, but the shower was nice and hot. Had trouble getting in to the room one afternoon, took several tries with the key. Someone from management came up to make sure we were okay, and that nothing was wrong. Thought that was nice. Hotel is right at the edge of the Gaslamp district so there were a lot of homeless people around, especially at night. The 7-11 across the street was handy, as was the CVS in Horton Plaza. Couldn't afford to stay there personally, and if I am ever in town again for another conference I would prefer to stay closer to the convention center. If it wasn't for that stupid $15 fee, I would have rated the Westgate a 5 .

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Librarian12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I will stay here again when I travel to San Diego. Large rooms, comfortable beds, etc. It looks older architecturally than it is. Love the room size. It would be better with a Keurig in the rooms since they charge a blanket $15 fee for water, coffee and internet

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knealagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 278 in San Diego
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#61 of 278 in San Diego
907 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#44 of 278 in San Diego
2,430 reviews
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westgate Hotel

Property: The Westgate Hotel
Address: 1055 2nd Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-4811
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#57 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgate offers the ease and pleasures of the world’s finest metropolitan hotels, and the best of Southern California! Minutes from the airport or the San Diego Convention Center, steps from the trolley/train station and readily accessible by freeway. Within walking distance is the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Opera and the Symphony, Horton Plaza shops and Gaslamp Quarter energy. Return to the quiet of your private room and relax in luxury, then consider a visit to Le Spa or the Fitness Center, a glass of wine in the intimate Plaza Bar, or an elegant dining experience graciously served in The Westgate Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate San Diego
Westgate Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing