We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveler rating
113
159
84
27
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
159
84
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews point loma continental breakfast shelter island long range great location sport fishing scott street room was clean close to the airport no elevator restaurants within walking distance place to sleep budget hotel stay there again an older hotel fridge and microwave coffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 400 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2018

We had never heard of the Vagabond Inn so we made reservations based on tripadvisor, price and location. Location was awesome. We would probably return just for that. We could walk out the door and around the corner and be at the marina which has a cute local outdoor bar, and an array of boats. If you like to exercise you can go out on a small peninsula to walk close by. The room was average with some areas of torn wallpaper and patched walls. I was pleased to see they had no carpet in the rooms which is glorious for someone with allergies. Very comfortable bed and updated bathroom. The price of the room was perfect for our budget. Some tips if you are going to stay. We brought a fan that blocks out noise. The bar across the street is noisy so I recommend having something if you are sound sensitive. The room only had one available outlet to plug phones, computers etc. so if you are tech savvy bring a power strip with you.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank patti p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2018

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed our location. My staff and I appreciate your comments. We can certainly improve. Thank you. Joshua Murphy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

Rooms are on the small side and dated but are clean. Beds were comfortable. There is a small pool on the property. I really can't see staying here for more than one or two nights. One big plus is that it is next to Point Loma Seafoods which I love for fresh seafood.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank 803bruces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2018

Thank you for staying with us in the short term. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again for a short stay. Joshua Murphy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

We had a full 3-day weekend planned, and didn't want to pay 5-star rates for a place to sleep. We had reasonable expectations, which were exceeded. Sparkling clean bathroom with plenty of towels, clean comfortable bed, nice continental breakfast. Lots of restaurants within easy walking distance, and a busy harbor, full of people having fun. Management and staff were friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank motomitch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2018

Thank you for your review. We are grateful and appreciate your comments. My staff and I could not be more pleased than to know you enjoyed the full 3 day weekend with us. Joshua Murphy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

This is an older hotel that gets the job done. On vacation I don’t spend much time in the room but they stopped in every night and kept clean. Shaw the pool but never entered it. Spent more time in the Ocean.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Thank you for your review James. My staff and I appreciate your business. We hope to see you again. Joshua Murphy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018

I was told over the phone when reserving the room that upon check in a military discount was available if I showed my military id. Upon check in I showed my id and the frint desk clerk said no discounts were available. I felt kind of suckered in over the phone to book with these guys upon check in day.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank izzgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business and regret any booking misunderstanding. Please reach out to me, I certainly would enjoy an opportunity to please any military personnel. We are grateful for your review. Joshua Murphy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews