We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
Ranked #127 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Found it.”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We recently went here for the weekend and found it to be a great location and price. We have been looking for a repeat place to stay as we frequent San Diego quite a bit. Found it. We will most definitely stay here again. The rooms were nice, bed comfy, all things you could need. Minus hair dryer and bathroom fan. Being a desert dweller the humidity in the room stayed in a comfortable position with their new air/heat units. The only drawback that we had about this place was the bar across the street. Not friendly to outsiders by my guess as we sat at the bar for five minutes just being gawked at. Not to mention they are cash only. If you want a rude experience try out the Club Marina bar. I would think for being so close to multiple hotels they would be a little more accommodating to tourists for their revenue flow, but what do I know I'm not in the business of bar ownership. The hotel is a win, if you are considering this and want to see the marinas, the ship museum, seaport village, little Italy this is a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chesha14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us Chesha. My staff and I are so pleased you found us to be a great hotel in a great location for you. We hope to serve you again in the future and really appreciate your comments. I don't know about our neighbor, The Marina bar, but we appreciate our patrons. I will drop in and let them know about the rewards of true hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    129
    57
    18
    12
See reviews for
88
90
42
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Borrego Springs, California
Level Contributor
261 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We chose Vagabond Inn-San Diego Airport Marina because of its easy access to the airport where we had to pick up/drop off visitors twice in recent weeks. It is really good value considering the location. The second floor rooms overlooking the marina are very pleasant, with big windows that fully open. There is no elevator, so if you think you might have difficulty carrying luggage up the outside stairway, you may want to ask a staff member to help you--which in our case, the manager was most obliging to do so. This is an older style property, but the rooms have been renovated with sparkling white bathrooms/towels, very comfortable mattresses with comfy white duvets and pillows, and flat-screen HD TV's, good-size fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. Point Loma Seafoods (highly recommended!) is a one-miinute walk out the back entrance on the marina. And we could drive to the airport in under ten minutes. We will unquestionably stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room overlooking the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wahzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
My staff and I are pleased you will stay with us again. Thank you for sharing your experience. It is comments like your that motivate our team to provide the best service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicali, Mexico
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Rooms are very comfortable for two adults, I stayed in a room with one King Bed and we were very comfortable in every moment. The locations is just great, you will be able to find great restaurants nearby within walking distance, such as Point Lome Seafood (just awsome), and also fast food such as Jack in the Box. Downtown is a few minutes drive away. The surroundings are very quiet so you will be able to sleep very comfortably. Great Hotel just to go and sleep there.

Room Tip: Make sure your refrigerator is well plugged in and that every appliance in the room works correctly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salvador M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you. My staff and I are pleased you enjoyed our property and location. We hope to get the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Rooms were very small and a bit run down, but for the price, we had no complaints. Staff were friendly and accomodating, and the rooms were clean with very comfortable bedding. The two queen bed room was really too small for three adults, especially the bathroon, where there is no counter space or even a place to hang and dry three towels. We would stay here again if it was just a couple in a single king bed room. Add the cost of breakfast to your stay unless you are satisfied with cold cereal or yogurt to go... no place to sit down and eat, so you have to take the food back to the tiny room. The location is superb: close to lots of good dining options and the parking is free! A fine place to stay if you just need a place to sleep.

Room Tip: Second floor room was quiet and had a nice view of the harbor. Choose the ground floor if you mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DVD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We value your comments and will do our best to improve upon them. My staff and I are very pleased that despite our continental breakfast and limited guestroom bathroom counter space, that you consider us a good value in a good location. We are in a process of property improvement that will see these areas addressed. We are grateful for your business and review of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stay here about once a year. It is a nice place. Friendly staff and great location. It's looking a little run down these days but the rooms are still nice and clean. The beds and bedding are very cozy, the fridge and microwave clean and in good operational order.

Room Tip: I like the second floor so I can open the little bathroom window to get some air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We are so pleased and grateful to be an annual place to stay Joy. My staff and I look forward to seeing you again next year. Thank you for your comments and ultimately thank you for staying with us, we cherish each and every time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2013

At first glance, looks a bit small and down and out. Actually the beds and comforters were some of the most comfortable I've slept in. I actually wrote down the brands so I could purchase them for home. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. If you want a comfortable place to rest after your day at the beach, this is a nice cheaper option. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you V C. We are very pleased that you enjoy our property. We will continue to do the hard work that is improving the property's exterior appeal, to see that it matches the comfort of our interior guestrooms. Our duvets are new since 2013 and we have had a great response. My staff and I are glad you appreciate them as well. We are grateful for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here twice in quick succession, before and after a trip to Hawaii.

During our stay, there was ongoing renovation work, but the staff were friendly and efficient and kept the disruption to a minimum.

Our rooms were large and clean and the breakfast was normal motel fare. Tea and coffee were constantly available at the front desk.

The location is superb if you are interested in boats, fishing, wildlife etc. It was an ideal location for us to visit both the coastal areas and the city centre with ease. We didn't have a car, but found the access to public transport to be easy and frequent.

We will return next time we are lucky enough to be in San Diego.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uktraveller005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We feel privileged to be a place for international travelers to stay. Close to attractions and the airport, we look forward to an opportunity to serve you again should you make it to San Diego again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.2 mi away
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
#185 of 279 in San Diego
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#138 of 279 in San Diego
1,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dolphin Motel
Dolphin Motel
#18 of 279 in San Diego
1,102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#120 of 279 in San Diego
742 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aqua Mar
Hotel Aqua Mar
#153 of 279 in San Diego
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina

Property: Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
Address: 1325 Scott Street, San Diego, CA 92106-2726 (Formerly Vagabond Inn San Diego (Point Loma))
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#45 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn is steps away from Harbor Drive and Shelter Island, bayside near the landings and marina boardwalk, and a few minutes from San Diego Int'l Airport. Complete with heated pool, full continental breakfast, complimentary wifi, cable with HBO, and a 24 hour service desk, this Vagabond Inn is an excellent choice. All guestrooms are non-smoking with a fridge and microwave. Pet Friendly rooms and view rooms available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn San Diego (Point Loma) Hotel San Diego
Vagabond Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing