We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
Ranked #132 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Rooms were very small and a bit run down, but for the price, we had no complaints. Staff were friendly and accomodating, and the rooms were clean with very comfortable bedding. The two queen bed room was really too small for three adults, especially the bathroon, where there is no counter space or even a place to hang and dry three towels. We would stay here again if it was just a couple in a single king bed room. Add the cost of breakfast to your stay unless you are satisfied with cold cereal or yogurt to go... no place to sit down and eat, so you have to take the food back to the tiny room. The location is superb: close to lots of good dining options and the parking is free! A fine place to stay if you just need a place to sleep.

Room Tip: Second floor room was quiet and had a nice view of the harbor. Choose the ground floor if you mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DVD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We value your comments and will do our best to improve upon them. My staff and I are very pleased that despite our continental breakfast and limited guestroom bathroom counter space, that you consider us a good value in a good location. We are in a process of property improvement that will see these areas addressed. We are grateful for your business and review of our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 345 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stay here about once a year. It is a nice place. Friendly staff and great location. It's looking a little run down these days but the rooms are still nice and clean. The beds and bedding are very cozy, the fridge and microwave clean and in good operational order.

Room Tip: I like the second floor so I can open the little bathroom window to get some air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

We are so pleased and grateful to be an annual place to stay Joy. My staff and I look forward to seeing you again next year. Thank you for your comments and ultimately thank you for staying with us, we cherish each and every time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

At first glance, looks a bit small and down and out. Actually the beds and comforters were some of the most comfortable I've slept in. I actually wrote down the brands so I could purchase them for home. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. If you want a comfortable place to rest after your day at the beach, this is a nice cheaper option. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you V C. We are very pleased that you enjoy our property. We will continue to do the hard work that is improving the property's exterior appeal, to see that it matches the comfort of our interior guestrooms. Our duvets are new since 2013 and we have had a great response. My staff and I are glad you appreciate them as well. We are grateful for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here twice in quick succession, before and after a trip to Hawaii.

During our stay, there was ongoing renovation work, but the staff were friendly and efficient and kept the disruption to a minimum.

Our rooms were large and clean and the breakfast was normal motel fare. Tea and coffee were constantly available at the front desk.

The location is superb if you are interested in boats, fishing, wildlife etc. It was an ideal location for us to visit both the coastal areas and the city centre with ease. We didn't have a car, but found the access to public transport to be easy and frequent.

We will return next time we are lucky enough to be in San Diego.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uktraveller005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We feel privileged to be a place for international travelers to stay. Close to attractions and the airport, we look forward to an opportunity to serve you again should you make it to San Diego again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was a perfect spot for us for 2 weeks in Point Loma - right on the marina, so close to Shelter Island & Liberty Station, and best of all so close to Ocean Beach and Kellogg Beach! The room and the beds were so comfortable, and the staff made us feel warm and welcome. Both Isabel and Margarita were extremely helpful and friendly! We enjoyed swimming in the heated pool, even in December. We walked just a short distance to enjoy the San Diego Holiday Boat Parade, and of course loved going to Point Loma Seafood next door. The free breakfast was so convenient, as we have two kids. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you Rachel. My staff and I could not be more pleased to hear that you and your family really enjoyed your stay. We feel our property and location has a lot to offer and we are happy you feel the same. We look forward to opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Right up front, the hair dryer and toilet seat was broken. Hair dryer issues are not known until you are in need and, therefore, can be a serious problem when staying alone. Otherwise, the location next to one of the popular seafood restaurants is pretty spectacular. We stayed here to be near the airport and that seemed to work ok. The bed was particularly comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RevuR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

My staff and I are grateful for your business. We appreciate your review comments and will be better for them. We now have hair dryers in every room, and they do work. We keep spares at our front desk in case a guest needs an extra. We are sorry that there was an issue, but we hope that you will give us another chance to show you that we listen and care about you and all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We've stayed at the Vagabond Inn in Point Loma several times. It is close to Point Loma Seafood, the marinas, and the ocean. I went for a walk along the paved path and down to the docks where I watched pelicans and sea lions wait impatiently for scraps from the fishing boats. I was very nervous upon check-in when I realized that I had made our reservation for the following night, but the manager, Joshua, cleared everything up and we had a quiet, clean, and comfortable room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suwilliams15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased we could provide you with a quiet, clean. comfortable room. Sounds like it was just what you needed. My staff and I are grateful for your gracious comments and hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.2 mi away
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
#182 of 286 in San Diego
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#145 of 286 in San Diego
1,430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolphin Motel
Dolphin Motel
#41 of 286 in San Diego
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aqua Mar
Hotel Aqua Mar
#163 of 286 in San Diego
157 reviews
5.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld
9.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina

Address: 1325 Scott St, San Diego, CA 92106-2726 (Formerly Vagabond Inn San Diego (Point Loma))
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#45 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $72 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn is steps away from Harbor Drive and Shelter Island, bayside near the landings and marina boardwalk, and a few minutes from San Diego Int'l Airport. Complete with heated pool, full continental breakfast, complimentary wifi, cable with HBO, and a 24 hour service desk, this Vagabond Inn is an excellent choice. All guestrooms are non-smoking with a fridge and microwave. Pet Friendly rooms and view rooms available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn San Diego (Point Loma) Hotel San Diego
Vagabond Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing