We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$215
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$207
$201
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$219
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$199
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$279
$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$169
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$176
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Sofia Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$305
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveler rating
101
149
74
23
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
149
74
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspoint lomashelter islandcontinental breakfastsport fishinggreat locationlong rangescott streetroom was cleansan diego airportno elevatoryogurtrestaurants within walking distancebudget hotelstay there againplace to sleeplate at nightfridge and microwave
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 359 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2013

At first glance, looks a bit small and down and out. Actually the beds and comforters were some of the most comfortable I've slept in. I actually wrote down the brands so I could purchase them for home. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. If you want a comfortable place to rest after your day at the beach, this is a nice cheaper option. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you V C. We are very pleased that you enjoy our property. We will continue to do the hard work that is improving the property's exterior appeal, to see that it matches the comfort of our interior guestrooms. Our duvets are new since 2013 and we have had a great response. My staff and I are glad you appreciate them as well. We are grateful for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here twice in quick succession, before and after a trip to Hawaii.

During our stay, there was ongoing renovation work, but the staff were friendly and efficient and kept the disruption to a minimum.

Our rooms were large and clean and the breakfast was normal motel fare. Tea and coffee were constantly available at the front desk.

The location is superb if you are interested in boats, fishing, wildlife etc. It was an ideal location for us to visit both the coastal areas and the city centre with ease. We didn't have a car, but found the access to public transport to be easy and frequent.

We will return next time we are lucky enough to be in San Diego.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uktraveller005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We feel privileged to be a place for international travelers to stay. Close to attractions and the airport, we look forward to an opportunity to serve you again should you make it to San Diego again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was a perfect spot for us for 2 weeks in Point Loma - right on the marina, so close to Shelter Island & Liberty Station, and best of all so close to Ocean Beach and Kellogg Beach! The room and the beds were so comfortable, and the staff made us feel warm and welcome. Both Isabel and Margarita were extremely helpful and friendly! We enjoyed swimming in the heated pool, even in December. We walked just a short distance to enjoy the San Diego Holiday Boat Parade, and of course loved going to Point Loma Seafood next door. The free breakfast was so convenient, as we have two kids. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you Rachel. My staff and I could not be more pleased to hear that you and your family really enjoyed your stay. We feel our property and location has a lot to offer and we are happy you feel the same. We look forward to opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Right up front, the hair dryer and toilet seat was broken. Hair dryer issues are not known until you are in need and, therefore, can be a serious problem when staying alone. Otherwise, the location next to one of the popular seafood restaurants is pretty spectacular. We stayed here to be near the airport and that seemed to work ok. The bed was particularly comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RevuR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

My staff and I are grateful for your business. We appreciate your review comments and will be better for them. We now have hair dryers in every room, and they do work. We keep spares at our front desk in case a guest needs an extra. We are sorry that there was an issue, but we hope that you will give us another chance to show you that we listen and care about you and all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We've stayed at the Vagabond Inn in Point Loma several times. It is close to Point Loma Seafood, the marinas, and the ocean. I went for a walk along the paved path and down to the docks where I watched pelicans and sea lions wait impatiently for scraps from the fishing boats. I was very nervous upon check-in when I realized that I had made our reservation for the following night, but the manager, Joshua, cleared everything up and we had a quiet, clean, and comfortable room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suwilliams15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased we could provide you with a quiet, clean. comfortable room. Sounds like it was just what you needed. My staff and I are grateful for your gracious comments and hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews