We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a Budget Hotel- No pretending” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
Ranked #138 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for a Budget Hotel- No pretending”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great for a budget stay in San Diego. A 5 star hotel it definitely is not but no one ever told you it was. What you get is clean comfortable family accommodations just 5 minutes from the airport and a short distance from San Diego attractions. Breakfast is included in the morning, nothing fancy, just pastries and coffee as well a juice and cereal. But the pastries tasted a lot better and fresher than you get at most chain hotel breakfasts such as Days Inn or Ramada. Right on the water near the marina, restaurants within walking distance and enough parking. Also a heated outdoor pool. If your looking for the Marriott this is not your place but of you want budget accommodations in San Diego without sacrificing comfort or cleanliness this place does the trick.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetsetr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We are grateful for your business. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience as well. My staff and I believe we can make the difference with all guests by providing service and value. While we have a great location, and we continue to improve our property, we are realistic about what we offer. But as you and many of our guests say, we will provide the best service, a clean and comfortable accommodation, all at the best value that can be found. Thank you for you comment and opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    116
    52
    18
    12
See reviews for
81
80
39
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northridge CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

If you're headed to San Diego, I would definitely consider the Vagabond Inn. I'll be honest, I was a little concerned because the price seemed too low. Imagine that. But the room was clean and quiet, the staff was attentive, the wifi worked perfectly and the parking was free. It's in a quiet neighborhood right near the water with a number restaurants within walking distance. Make sure you have breakfast at the Point Break, a local hangout with huge portions at reasonable prices.

I was there for a conference in Downtown San Diego, so I did have to drive to the venue every day. But the Vagabond cost me about a 1/3 of what it would have cost at the hotel where the conference was.

If I was rating the hotel for relative value, it gets 6 stars out of 5. It's a 3 star hotel for overall amenities. But unless you need room service, an onsite restaurant and a gym, this should be your choice of where to stay in San Diego. Nothing else comes close.

Room Tip: Away from the pool would be better in summer, and as of February 2013 some rooms have LCD TVs, but s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We place the highest priority on all of our guests being satisfied with our service and accommodation. Ultimately we want our property to be considered a top value for the money spent. We have succeeded with you. We hope to get the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The reason we stayed at this motel was because it was dog friendly. We were there for 7 nights. It is located out by Shelter Island and about five minutes from the SD. International Airport. It is an older two story motel that showed its age in parts. Some of the rooms are updated with new bedding and a nice size flat screen tv while other rooms are rather dated with old big box televisions. When booking your room, ask for an updated room. Their complimentary breakfast was simple but adequate. They had two cold cereals, instant oatmeal, assorted pastries, and a bowl of fruit. There were a couple kinds of juices plus coffee and a variety of teas. Our room was well cleaned every day. The one downside was there was no ventilation in the bathrooms and the windows were old. If you opened them, anyone could look right in from the walkway or parking lot. This motel is right next to several sport fishing companies take out points. It was fun walking the dog every morning just as fishing boats with their fresh catches were just coming in. One morning we watched a 200 pound tuna being weighed. All in all this was a nice find and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: The motel is in the middle of upgrading their rooms. Be sure to ask for an updated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casualtraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased that you shared your experience. We love serving you and all pet loving guests. My staff and I are proud of the improvements we are accomplishing in our guestrooms, however we have more to do. All of our guestrooms have new linens, and while some have flat screen TVs, the rest will soon be complete with those flat screens, furniture, and bathroom fans. We will have our windows and ac units upgraded this year as well. Very exciting time for this property and marina. We hope you visit again to see not only our improvements but to walk your dog on the new waterfront development as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Isabel at the front counter was very helpful and pleasant. Clean and updated rooms. Nice place for the rates. Located by the marina with friendly staff. Thank you Isabel for making me feel comfortable and at ease on my stay there with my children. Continental breakfast included!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monicavette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your gracious review. We appreciate your business. Isabel will be so pleased to know she answered the call of service and made a difference in your stay. We will continue to work hard for you and all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were staying in San Diego for one night and wanted to be near the airport and not too far from main thoroughfares and access to Sea World. The Vagabond Inn was only 5 minutes from the airport, right near Shelter Island (restaurants, nice views) and about 10 minutes from Sea World via an easy, non-freeway route. We booked through Hotels.com for $64 / night. The room was neat and clean, furniture seemed very old and a bit beat up, but linens were updated and the bathroom was partially renovated. We didn't eat the continental breakfast, but it looked pretty skimpy - just some muffins and danishes. Overall, this hotel was decent for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pegcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for not only staying with us, but for also taking the time to share your experience. Our greatest reward is knowing we have succeeded with you our guest. We appreciate your business and kind review of our property. We take your comments to heart. Our commitment to service and value will continue to be job number one. Again, thank you for your business and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We needed a place to spend one night in San Diego and wanted to be near Shelter Island. I found the Vagabond on Hotels.com for a total of $64. Neat, clean, and good a/c! Backs right up to fishing boats and Point Loma seafood-great for lunch! It has a [pool which is a little bit right on display to the world driving by, but nice to have available. Continental breakfast was free too. We would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: Away from pool would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnakarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for not only staying with us, but for also taking the time to share your experience. Our greatest reward is knowing we have succeeded with you our guest. We appreciate your business and kind review of our property. We take your comments to heart. Our commitment to service and value will continue to be job number one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great place to stay, especially if leaving on a long range fishing trip the next day. Font desk person named Joshua was very helpful and helped me scan and send a 5 page document back to Alaska at a late hour.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you choose to stay with us. Joshua and the rest of us pride ourselves on service. We know how important that aspect of hospitality is and challenge ourselves to improve on a daily basis. We welcome you and all long range fishermen to try our brand of service in a location that can not be closer to the marina and landing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.2 mi away
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
#187 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#144 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Yacht Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#110 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#52 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina

Property: Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
Address: 1325 Scott Street, San Diego, CA 92106-2726 (Formerly Vagabond Inn San Diego (Point Loma))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#45 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn is steps away from Harbor Drive and Shelter Island, bayside near the landings and marina boardwalk, and a few minutes from San Diego Int'l Airport. Complete with heated pool, full continental breakfast, complimentary wifi, cable with HBO, and a 24 hour service desk, this Vagabond Inn is an excellent choice. All guestrooms are non-smoking with a fridge and microwave. Pet Friendly rooms and view rooms available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn San Diego (Point Loma) Hotel San Diego
Vagabond Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing