We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
Ranked #125 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Customer service was EXCELLENT! Johnna, Josh and Margaret were very helpful, nice and friendly. It's old school looking but don't let that keep you away because the rooms are very clean and it's in a great location if you can't afford the downtown location price. Now make sure you wake up early for breakfast and not wait until 9am because it goes fast! Overall, very happy with the team and the service!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vendh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are pleased you find our accommodation having both a great location, and clean guestrooms. Our housekeeping staff takes pride in offering the best service. With our new duvet comforters and triple sheeting, we are confident you and all our guests will enjoy the finest bed and linens that a modern hotel can provide. Our breakfast hours are 6:00am-9:00am, and while we might get a rush on our fresh pastries, we provide an abundance for all of our guests. Thank you for your review, it is our pleasure serving you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 346 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2012

Nice, friendly and accommodating, It's not the Ritz, but it's clean and comfortable
There is a really good Mexican restaurant (Michaels) one block away, with really good service
It's right at the Marina if you are fishing & close to the airport too
I will stay their again

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you Robert. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your review of our hotel and are grateful for taking the time to share your experience. When we read, "Friendly, Accommodating, Clean, and Comfortable", we know we are on the right track to being the best accommodation near the airport and marina. Our mid-scale property is not the Ritz, but it is a tremendous value. Our marina location is a short walk to Miguel's mexican restaurant(always ask us for a free appetizer card) and our service minded staff are as good as there is in hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The hotel was clean and has a good wi fi. Johnna was AWESOME - friendly, helpful, and went above and beyond to assist me. She always had the continental breakfast full and on time. She kept the front desk clean and tidy My daughter was very happy with her, she wants to stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WE1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you for your review of the Vagabond Inn SD Airport Marina. Johnna and our entire staff pride ourselves on service and are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast and staff. We hope to have another opportunity to go above and beyond in the name of serving our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We originally stayed at this hotel 29 years ago on our honeymoon. We were so deighted to return this month and find it was just as warm and welcoming as the first time. Johnna helped us check-in and she made sure we were put in the same room, even though it had to be cleaned especially for us. The room was clean ad cozy, with a great location in the heart of the Marina right next to the Point Loma Seafood Market, which we had discovered on our original visit. The morning breakfast was always ready on time and the food and coffee was plentiful. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs overlooking the Seafood Market have great views of the marina and the downtown. Try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you so much Cindy! We are so pleased you enjoy our hotel. You, our loyal guests are the reason we are here. Nothing makes us happier than the a genuine appreciation for our staff and property. It is our pleasure and mission to see that your stay is always extra "clean and cozy". We are here to serve and looking forward to the next time you are able to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I´m still here, in the hotel room, using the free wifi!! I need to write a few words about how pleasant is stay here. Clean room and bathroom, parking lot, delicious breakfast, confortable beds, perfect location by the beautiful Point Loma Marina, near everything you must see and do in San Diego and the best thing we found here: JOHNNA!! The most helpfull and kind recepcionist / concierge we could have in this trip!! We came from Brazil and truly recomend it!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience Marcus A. We are pleased you found our hotel to be a perfect choice. Our wifi, breakfast, location, and staff are all great reasons to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Johnna at the front desk was MAGNIFICENT - friendly, helpful, and went way above and beyond to make sure that my daughter and I had a great experience. Give that woman a raise!!!

Room Tip: The room faced the parking lot of the seafood place next door, so that made for a little more noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thank you Mari M for your glowing review of our property and staff. Johnna is a tremendous guest service representative and we are fortunate to have her and staff that genuinely care and have made hospitality their career. We are grateful for your business and enjoy serving you and all guests that appreciate the fine service we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

From the outside it looks like your typical California beach hotel but the room was very comfortable and the staff were very helpful and courteous. I have recommended to friends. I would like to say thank you to both Josh for his help when I was checking in and Johanna who helped me during check out. The grounds are well maintained and very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnpl, Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thank you for your remarks Joanne H. We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel and service. The entire staff including Josh and Johnna appreciate you taking the time to review our property. We will continue to maintain and improve our property grounds and guestrooms in an effort to see you return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.2 mi away
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
#184 of 286 in San Diego
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#144 of 286 in San Diego
1,441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolphin Motel
Dolphin Motel
#45 of 286 in San Diego
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aqua Mar
Hotel Aqua Mar
#155 of 286 in San Diego
161 reviews
5.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld
9.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina

Address: 1325 Scott St, San Diego, CA 92106-2726 (Formerly Vagabond Inn San Diego (Point Loma))
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#45 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $72 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn is steps away from Harbor Drive and Shelter Island, bayside near the landings and marina boardwalk, and a few minutes from San Diego Int'l Airport. Complete with heated pool, full continental breakfast, complimentary wifi, cable with HBO, and a 24 hour service desk, this Vagabond Inn is an excellent choice. All guestrooms are non-smoking with a fridge and microwave. Pet Friendly rooms and view rooms available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn San Diego (Point Loma) Hotel San Diego
Vagabond Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing