We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old fashioned with all the bad along with "antiques"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Horton Grand Hotel
Ranked #66 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Old fashioned with all the bad along with "antiques"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a lovely old building itch a grand staircase but that is where the glamour ends. Yes, there are fireplace rooms with balconies overlooking a private courtyard but pull back the old fashioned bedspread to reveal poor quality bedding. My lower sheet left my feet on the under blanket as it was too short. There. Is an acrylic blanket, a sheet which barely stretches and pillows that are foam filled bits. There is no coffee or tea in the room and the breakfast and lunch service ends at 2 pm after which there is no room service, no food or drink in the hotel. Yes, the location is good for the gas lamp district but the charm ends others. Add to that a somewhat surly a reception and long check in lines and you have the Horton could be grand.

Room Tip: The fireplace rooms are better than the other offerings
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annee05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HortonGrandTeam, General Manager at The Horton Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again and for taking your time to write a review of your recent stay. We apologize for incorrectly preparing and making your bed. We have brought this to the attention of our housekeepers. We expect within 35 days to have coffee and tea makers in every guest room. Our Cheese Shop Restaurant and Room Service closes at 2pm since the vast majority of our guests prefer to visit after 2pm one of approximately 70 restaurants within easy walking distance of hotel. We are very sorry and apologize to you for the inhospitable reception, which has been reviewed with our operations team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    270
    93
    56
    45
See reviews for
57
276
50
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

As B&B proprietors we love the individual and characterful accommodations as opposed to the usual bland and soulless chain hotels.

We loved the quirky character and decor of this hotel. The reception area and the grand staircase and the wonderful landings on each floor offering something from a bygone age. There is a cosy, warm and welcoming ambience about the whole place and we enjoyed the whole experience.

Our room was lovely, full of charm and character but here is where the grandeur is a little faded but all it needs is a little attention to detail. The furniture was large and heavy in keeping with the era but it was in need of some maintenance (drawer handles, wardrobe door handles etc.). The wardrobe was not totally practical or functional with the hanging rails running front to back instead of side to side and with a 4 night stop the hanging space was a little frustrating. The room was not massive but was ample in size and the fire/fireplace was so welcoming adding that little extra to the ambience of the room. The bathroom fittings needed some attention as they were tarnished (especially the down pipe from the 'Victorian' style toilet cistern) and the grouting in the tiles and some of the plastering was a little heavy handed and untidy, a spoiler on the aesthetics. The bed was very comfortable, we slept very well and there was not any undue disturbances. The rooms were clean and the staff polite and helpful. The wi-fi was not the greatest - could only get it to work in reception area, not the end of the world for us as holiday makers though.

The location is fantastic with easy walks to all that is on offer in the Gas Lamp district of San Diego and to Seaport Village, the USS Midway and just about everything.

This was our 5th visit to San Diego since Jan.2009 and we have stayed in quite a few hotels in the city and we would certainly stay here again, we loved it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HortonGrandTeam, General Manager at The Horton Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We very much appreciate and thank you for taking your time to complete a guest review of our hotel. Thank you very much for your staying with us, and we are very pleased to learn you will stay with us again. Clearly we need to address the maintenance issues you experienced in your room. To this end, we have advised our operations team to refocus on these key points and take corrective action. We offer various sizes and designs of wardrobe armoires, and thus will be more able to accommodate your needs on your next visit. We sincerely apologize for your room maintenance and inconvenience of WiFi access, and retrospectively should have resolved it for you. Glad you found room clean and service staff polite and helpful. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Had only one night here but found the hotel and our room so charming and cozy. The fireplace in the room was such a treat. The location can't be beat. Only complaint is that the bar wasn't open. It would have been so fun to hang out there!

Room Tip: There is a club across from the East side and at 2:00AM it got a bit noisy but to be expected in any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OccasionalTravelerSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HortonGrandTeam, General Manager at The Horton Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to submit a guest review. We are fortunate you enjoyed your stay in our Victorian style boutique hotel. We apologize the bar was not open the evening of your stay. While open many evenings each week, it is not always open nightly. We hope you will return soon and experience our Palace Bar. In meantime, thank you very much for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I loved this hotel. We love enjoying history (and this one is intriguing) and architecture. It was fun to stay in downtown in a building with a lively history. Our room was wonderful with a view of the courtyard and within walking distance of Petco. We loved it here. So fun.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinaray107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I liked this hotel. It is unique and charming. My gripe however us that they decided to take coffee out of the rooms. Instead they give you a voucher for the restaurant for coffee. But you have to go downstairs to do that. Also the voucher is only good for coffee. Not tea. So sad, such a simple standard luxury is missing from an otherwise nice hotel. If you dont drink coffee, your set.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HortonGrandTeam, General Manager at The Horton Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We very much appreciate your taking time to write a review of our Gaslamp District hotel, and give us the opportunity to say thank you for staying with us. We are glad you like our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience of our coffee and tea service. Within 45 days we will have coffee and tea makers in every room. We do offer this service in our grand rooms, but never have in our other guest rooms. Starting late last week we offer daily complimentary coffee in our restaurant until the coffee and tea makers are installed in all our guest rooms. We hope you will return to experience this service upgrade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I booked this as a "staycation" as we live about 40 minutes from downtown San Diego. First impressions were excellent. This is an older property but has been excellently renovated and still has all the class and elegance while not feeling old and musty. Check-in was a breeze and all the staff interactions were friendly and polite.

The location is also a star, walking out the front door dumps you right into the action in the gaslamp district. Would highly recommend this for vactioners.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

A quaint hotel in the gas lamp district. Great location. Lovely rooms with antiques throughout. Old fashion touches. Comfortable beds. A beautiful courtyard perfect to linger in and helpful service. Small cafe and lounge onsite. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horton Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horton Grand Hotel

Property: The Horton Grand Hotel
Address: 311 Island Ave., San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Horton Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horton Grand Hotel is in the heart of the Gaslamp District in Downtown San Diego, CA, with over 100 restaurants, bars, and night clubs located within four blocks. Located only four blocks to Convention Center, Petco Park, and Horton Plaza Shopping Mall. Old Town trolley stop in front of hotel. Every Guest and Grand room have gas-burning fireplace, complimentary WiFi, coffee/tea maker HD TV and welcome bottle water. Valet parking available for charge. Palace Bar open daily at 5:00 pm and Ida Bailey's open for breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Horton Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horton Grand Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing