We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Horton Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$226
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$125
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$219
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
La Jolla Beach Travelodge(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$187
$178
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$199
$189
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$173
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (961)
Filter reviews
961 results
Traveler rating
404
326
115
61
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
326
115
61
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas fireplacegaslamp districtconvention centerantique furniturequaint hotelpetco parkchain hotelsvalet parkingsmall balconyceiling fanwithin walking distancehotel baran older hotelrestaurants and barsloved this hotelstreet noisefront desk staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
677 - 682 of 961 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Business travel? Totally lacking. WiFi $$$, no business center, no room service until 0800, no breakfast/coffee until 0730, staff lackluster, ice machine broken for an entire week. Desirable location near convention center, trolley & restaurants. Rooms charming with gas fireplace. If you are there to experience the Gaslamp district this might suit your needs, however, if you are there to work, this is a poor choice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherrill1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HortonGrandTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Horton Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We appreciate your taking your time to write a review of our hotel, and provides us the opportunity to thank you for staying with us. We are pleased your found the location to be desireable and rooms charming including the gas fireplace in every guest room. We sincerely apologize for our business services not well suited for you. Currently we charge $9.95 per day for WiFi, however considering installing a new network that would offer WiFi at no charge. We have on order a new ice machine to replace the broken one, which will be installed very soon. In meantime, we have another machine available and apologize we did not make you aware of it. We are right in middle of considering adding a well equipped self service business center, but in meantime our front desk assists with business services. Our restaurant opens at 7 am and we offer complimentary coffee prior to that at our front desk. We apologize not properly communicated to you. Please consider returning to our hotel as we would very much like the opportunity to provide you the business services you want and need.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

From the expedient and kind valet service to the old timey toilet with the pull handle, we absolutely loved our stay at The Horton Grand Hotel. Other reviewers have complained about not having modern conveniences, but honestly who enjoys the coffee that you can make in your hotel room anyway right?! The Gaslamp district has a coffee shop on every corner so problem solved!
It's a quaint little hotel that has plenty of class and character without feeling old and run down. The historic site even has ties to Wyatt Earp. An amusing fact that my fiance and I overheard from a walking tour across the street when we went out for breakfast.
We loved combination of modern convenience and classic feel as shown by the 42" wall mounted plasma screen above the open fireplace at the foot of the bed.
The service was impeccable throughout our stay. This hotel was a great find that I would recommend again and again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Took hubby to celebrate his birthday. Disappointed that the hotel is not updated, smells old. The room was very drab, no decor to enhance the Victorian feel. The bedding was boring and old. Sorry, will not stay here again, unless changes are made.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windswept2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HortonGrandTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Horton Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of our hotel, and gives us the opportunity to thank you for staying with us. First, we wish your husband a very happy birthday. We are sorry about your impressions of our Victorian hotel, a theme we have throughout hotel including Victorian style furniture in all guest rooms. In the last two and a half years we renovated all of our guest rooms and this month updated our lobby and considering other changes. We would very much appreciate your considering a return to our hotel and experience our updates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This historical hotel has quaint rooms with old style furnishings but modern convenience. Yes, rooms are small. But they are clean and comfortable. Easy walk to Petco, restaurants, bars & Starbucks. Be aware there is a parking fee, but i think all hotels in the area charge one.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather_L901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this historic and charming hotel. Our room was quite clean and comfortable and we loved the location in the Gaslamp District. I agree with another reviewer that some comments are unfair. We encountered helpful and friendly staff. I would rather stay here than in a huge, modern hotel. A marvelous walking tour begins across the street and the bus tour is around the corner. We hope to return one day soon!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnG122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews