We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area
Nearby Hotels
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of $325/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$195
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $261/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$200
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$232
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)
$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$217
$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$307
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites(La Jolla)
$207
$202
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $229/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $282/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveler rating
208
145
86
18
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
145
86
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea worldmission bay drivefront deskpancake machinesmall roombreakfast roomfree breakfastyogurtthe hotel is cleanstayed here for nightsnight stayold townminute driveseaworldrubiosparkinghie
Filter
Updating list...
299 - 304 of 468 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Your staff was very friendly and helpful. The parking was a bit cramped as are all areas at the beach. It has good access to Sea World and is two miles from the beach.

Room Tip: park early
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. We are delighted to hear that our rooms were “clean and the bed was very comfortable”. We work hard in providing a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are located within close proximity to several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are pleased you were able to benefit from it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed in SD for 4 nights and had originally booked at A different hotel and ended up leaving early because it was terrible there. I am so glad we booked the holiday inn for the next 2 nights!! The hotel was clean, the staff was over the top helpful and nice, and the complimentary breakfast was amazing! I believe it was Jose and Annalisa (can't remember exactly) that were great about checking in with us to make sure our stay was going well. We had a Great experience! I will ALWAYS stay here for all our future trips!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ec31911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. We are thrilled to hear we have “great staff, comfy beds, and awesome breakfast”. We strive in providing outstanding quality service and are delighted to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are pleased you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We anticipate seeing you again and appreciate your feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my hubby. I think there was an event in San Diego so most hotels were fully booked and this was the only Holiday Inn close to my husband's work that was available. That is probably why they could not check us in when we got there around noon. This was fine since we were aware of the situation and the male frontdesk clerk was very friendly. Our room was of average size and was clean. It was just unusual that the first thing you see when you open the door is the sink. We also notice the walls and doors are too thin that you can clearly hear the people talking along the corridors and you can feel the vibration on the walls when the next door close their doors.
The room has a mini ref and coffeemaker. There are good restaurants nearby. The Japanese restaurant and thai resto across the street is a must try. There is free breakfast for Platinum IHG members which offers continental breakfast. However its only open until 9:30 am, i almost miss it good thing i checked the directory. We also requested for late check out but was intially declined even if we were IHG Platinum member since they were fully booked however after some prodding from my husband, the manager gave it to our request. Overall it was an okey experience.

Room Tip: We opted for the twin room coz it was a little bigger than the single room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gsl_9292013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. We are pleased to hear our hotel has a “good location with friendly staff”. We work hard in providing outstanding quality service and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast too all of our guests (not just Platinum IHG members) and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Although it is sited in an industrial area, it's an easy 10 min drive to restaurants, grocery outlet shops, seaworld, 10 min to airport. Hot Breakfast included automated pancakes, scrambled eggs although the restaurant was small for peak hr crowds. Beds were comfortable. Gym only had cardio machines and no weights. Swim pool was small. Would still return for the value for money

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank ChongCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. We are pleased to hear our hotel has a “convenient location”. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to benefit from it during your stay. We look forward to your next stay with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Decent standard for a Holiday Inn Express, although the management were not aware of our Priority Club membership, and failed to realise that we are entitled to points even if we book through a third party. My only gripe was the use of plastic cutlery for breakfast, I later realised that this was also the case in another HI Express hotel in California. I would rather pay a few quid extra and get proper cutlery. Distance to SeaWorld was only 5 minutes by car and Old Town was not too far. I would stay here again for a short stay and for visiting Sea World.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank lovetravelling32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. As you mentioned, we are within close proximity to several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to benefit from it during your stay. Unfortunately, we were unable to provide you with membership points, because it is required that you book though an IHG direct channel. We look forward to your next stay with us and appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews