We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area
Ranked #143 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The property was well maintained and an extremely pleasant staff. Always greeting you with a big smile. This included not only the front desk, but housekeeping and maintenance personnel. The breakfast room, staff was also very pleasant. Marcia on the front desk, made you feel like you were very welcome

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area. We are delighted to hear you had a “relaxing stay” at our hotel. We work hard in providing a well-maintained property, as well as extraordinary quality service and are pleased you took notice. We hope to see you during your next trip to San Diego. Again, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 456 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our room was very clean, very comfortable beds and excellent customer service!! Would definitely recommend this hotel if in the area! And its location to everything is PERFECT!! Had a GREAT stay and vacation here in San Diego, thank you for making it even better!! :)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonathanDeannaBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Mission Bay. We are thrilled to hear we are an “excellent” hotel. We strive in providing excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. We look forward to seeing you during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed for 3 weeks and could not have wished for better staff. The HI Inn is a budget hotel and is not well situated, i.e. near a beach. There are however two great restaurants, Japanese and Thai opposite and a Seven 11 store. There is a local bus a 2 minute walk away that gets you to Old Town Transit in 10 minutes. The rooms are small and clean with a/c, TV, phone, tea, coffee, fridge, iron and board. Bathroom and shower and toilet separate from wash basins. And its quiet too. Large car park with cc TV monitoring. Breakfast is self service and more than filling, throw away plastic plates and knives and forks. If you want fine dining this is not the place for you. Free wi-fi throughout hotel and computer and printer in reception.

As I said, the staff made the holiday, they went above and beyond in helping to track a lost parcel which was mis-delivered. Thank you everyone. Oh yes there is a laundry room with a washing machine and dryer @ $1.25 each. Powder available at reception $1.00. So laundry for long stays not a problem. There is a small gym available and an even smaller pool.

Room Tip: 317 was quiet but farthest i think from elevators. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerkoBoy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area. We are overjoyed to hear “the friendliest & most helpful staff we have ever seen” is at our hotel. As you mentioned, we do offer several amenities such as a complimentary breakfast and laundry facilities. We are pleased you were able to benefit from most of them during your stay. We hope to see you during your next trip to San Diego. Again, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We booked through Book .Com and got a rate we couldn't refuse, we had no prior experience with this property so booking for a week was tough for us to do. No worries, nice room recently updated. the room was a bit small, but who goes to San Diego to sit in a Hotel room? King bed was great, food very good, lots of free parking and two minutes from I-5. The best part was the staff we are seasoned travelers and we were bowled over! Every staff member would go completely out of their way to smile, help and give directions.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 323 non smoking king worker for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area. We are pleased to hear our hotel is a “great find”. We strive in providing extraordinary quality service and are so touched that you took notice. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We especially liked the service of Rose who worked at the front desk. She directed us to good food, fun activities, and even helped us on our computer. She was the most helpful person we have ever encountered at a hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 822traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area. We are delighted to hear our staff is “the most helpful” you have ever encountered at a hotel. We strive in providing excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. We hope to see you during your next trip to San Diego. Again, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My stay here was great. It was only for a quick night before me and my girlfriend checked into a boutique hotel downtown. And I must say that I wish I would have booked here for my entire stay. Very clean. Nice location. Fridge, Microwave was a plus. Our boutique hotel had neither, so our Hash House breakfast leftovers went to waste. Would definitely stay here again. Absolutely. And the front desk guy Darrian was helpful and really made us feel comfortable during our check in, he was great! During our check out Elisa was very nice as well. Overall great experience!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBrand34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area. We are thrilled to hear you were “very impressed” with our hotel. We work hard in providing excellent quality service, as well as a well-maintained property and are delighted you took notice. We look forward to seeing you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Although I was in town for work, this HI Express is in a great location for visiting all the San Diego attractions (Mission Beach is about 10 minutes drive away). It was an affordable rate for my quick overnight stay which can be difficult to find in the area. The hotel's easy to get to but is located off a busy street. The building is older but rooms have been renovated so the furniture was in good condition and everything was clean. As noted before, the rooms are a bit small which wasn't a problem for me and shouldn't be for most who travel to San Diego and are just looking for a place to stay after a busy day of sightseeing. The breakfast was the standard Holiday Inn fixings with quite a few offerings to get you going for the day. The breakfast lounge was pretty big which is good for when the hotel's busy and has lots of families coming in to eat. Lastly, the front desk agents at check in and out were very helpful and friendly, so I can say the service was awesome! For the location and price, I'd reconsider staying here again for business or if traveling for pleasure to San Diego.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank espanasuenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear espanasuenos,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Best Western Mission Bay
#120 of 286 in San Diego
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area

Address: 4540 Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-4919 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $94 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn San Diego
San Diego Comfort Inn
San Diego Days Inn
Days Inn Mission Bay
Days Inn San Diego
San Diego Day Inn Mission Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing