We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good times with good people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area
Ranked #144 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Carlsbad, California
1 review
“Good times with good people”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I had a lovely time staying at this hotel. It was in a great location and offered us a great rate. I'm looking forward to staying here again next time I am staying down in the San Diego area. The hotel manager, Jason Templer, was amazing and the staff followed his lead. I had a really good time and met some really good people. :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld-Area. We are very delighted to hear that we are in a “great location” and that you were offered a great rate. We are fortunate to be surrounded by the beautiful beaches in San Diego as well some of our famous attractions and are glad that you took notice. We strive to work hard in providing exceptional quality service and we are glad to hear that Jason, and the rest of the staff was no exception. Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld-Area. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    136
    79
    18
    7
See reviews for
174
111
13
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This one one of the most pleasant experiences I have had staying in the San Diego area... Centrally located and easy access to and from the freeways and it's only 5-10 minutes to the beach... Management and staff were very friendly and accommodating as well. I will definitely stay here again and recommend this property to my friends and family when they travel to the San Diego area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego-SeaWorld-Beach Area. We are so glad to hear that this was “one of the most pleasant experiences” you’ve had staying in the San Diego area. As you mentioned, we are centrally located with easy access to our major freeways and attractions. We work hard in providing exceptional quality service and we are glad to hear that management and staff were no exception. Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld-Beach Area as well as recommending our hotel to your friends and family. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in late June. The location of the hotel is very nice, as it is very close to the major freeways and restaurants. Also, the hotel is newly renovated and is very nice. However, the rooms are very small. We were very disappointed in the breakfast too. Usually, they offer cinnamon rolls and pancakes, but while we were there, there were no sight of those. Also, there were no forks for 2 of the mornings. The breakfast items were lacking. Overall, the hotel was nice, and we were just pretty disappointed in the breakfast and some of the other aspects of the rooms. For the price we paid for the hotel, I would probably not stay there again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld-Beach Area. We are so happy to hear that you thought our hotel was in a “good location.” Fortunately we are at a close proximity to San Diego’s famous attractions such as our beaches, as well as SeaWorld and are glad that you took notice. We are also delighted that you noticed our new renovation. We deeply apologize about the breakfast problems t that you ran into during your stay. Guests like you only make our jobs easier that way we can address the matter immediately. We appreciate the review for the Holiday Inn Express San SeaWorld-Beach Area and we hope you reconsider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barstow, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2012

It appears this hotel has been recently converted to a Holiday Inn Expres. I think that they did an amazing job with this conversion. It is very modern and very clean! The breakfast was very typical of any Holiday Inn Express, which was great! The convenient freeway access made our travles around San Diego great. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R92315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld-Beach Area. We are very delighted to hear that you had a “great stay and great rate.” We are also happy to hear that our property is very modern and clean. As you mentioned, we do offer a deluxe complimentary breakfast and are glad that you took advantage of that. We strive to work hard in providing a well maintained property for our guests and are glad that you took notice. Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld-Beach Area and letting other travelers know about your stay. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel because the Red Roof Inn across the street was sold out. I was honestly expecting quite a bit more, because of the price difference. The hotel seems to have undergone a resent renovation, and had all the new amenities you would expect (flat screen tv, mini fridge, nice bedding, etc). And i must say, the housekeeper who cleaned my room did an exceptional job. But, for the price i paid, i would have expected more. The breakfast was average, the AC was one of those window deals that you can't set a temperature for (and didn't seem to work very well either), the walls must be very thin, because you can hear everything going on in the hallway (and the rooms next door), the bathroom and vanity area was extremely small (you barely had room to turn around), and my drapes didn't close- great if you like to rise with the sun i guess. On the positive side, the location was great- just a few mins from the beach, maybe 10 mins from downtown, and 10 mins to the airport as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BW2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach-Area. We also appreciate your feedback as it is invaluable to us. As you mentioned, we offer a new host of amenities due to the new renovation that occurred such as the flat screen television, plush bedding and mini fridge, and we are very happy that you took notice of that. We are also delighted to hear that the room attendant cleaned your room did an “exceptional job.” However, to hear that you were expecting quite a bit more is disheartening for us to hear. Please know that your concerns are being addressed with our staff so that we are better able to improve our services to guests in the future. Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach-Area. We hope that you reconsider and stay with us during your next trip. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Paid almost $200 for one night, room was average quality and noisy, breakfast was poor, you can easily get the same at half the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear AMasn,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I'm sorry you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations received. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed in the Holiday Inn Exprees for 3 nights. The hotel was recently remodeled, comfortable king beds with new linens, flat TVs, microvawe, small fridge and coffee maker. The rooms are very small, hardly enough for 2 people, but very clean. We enjoyed breakfast in the new breakfast room with big flat TV and couch. There was plenty of food : pancakes, eggs, scrambled and boiled, muffins, bagels, yogurts, and more. The excess to freeway is very close and there are 4 miles to Pacific Beach. We enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Undecided7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld – Beach Area and tell other travelers about your “pleasant stay”. We did just recently finish renovating our hotel 2 months ago and are glad you were able to enjoy your room’s comfortable bed, the microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker. We are also thrilled you were able to take advantage of our complimentary hot breakfast served in the morning before you took to your day’s activities. We strive in providing guests with quality service and are glad you enjoyed your stay while in San Diego. Thank you again thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn San Diego SeaWorld – Beach Area and look forward to having you as a guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Best Western Mission Bay
#108 of 278 in San Diego
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area
Address: 4540 Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-4919 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn San Diego
San Diego Comfort Inn
San Diego Days Inn
Days Inn Mission Bay
Days Inn San Diego
San Diego Day Inn Mission Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing