We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Ranked #113 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 7, 2009

My husband and I were celebrating our one year anniversary in San Diego and based on reviews on various sites, we decided to stay at the Sheraton San Diego and Marina Hotel. When making our reservation, we let them know we were celebrating our one year anniversary and hoped to get a room in the Marina Tower with a nice view of the marina. Our check-in attendant was kind enough to go above and beyond our request and provided us with a townhouse in the Lanai area which is connected to the Marina Tower. We were SO happy with our stay here. We had a beautiful marina view, the staff was excellent, and the restaurants were great.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we did not hesitate to book another night at this hotel after our flight was canceled. It is conveniently located close to the airport and is a short drive to many tourist attractions. Love, love, loved this hotel! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clarkberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,891)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,373 - 3,379 of 3,891 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2009

The Sheraton Hotel & Marina exceeded my expectations. We arrived on a 12pm flight and I was worried we'd be waiting around until 3 or 4 to check-in. I had called ahead a couple days and spoke with Melissa. She informed me we could use the pool and enjoy the hotel while we waited if our room was not ready. We were allowed to change in the Spa area and let our kids swim a while. I rented a large blow-up alligator for an hour ($7) that was their highlight. . .we only had it an hour before I received a call on my cell phone that our room was ready (it was shortly after 1pm!) I was very happy for the early check-in and even more happy to find we'd been upgraded to a two-story townhouse room in the Lanai building. The pool rental place let us return the gator and said we could return later to use up the remain hour I had paid for.

There were a few downsides. After swimming a bit we arrived to our room barefoot and found the floor was quite damp. I can only imagine it had recently been shampooed. The doors to the outside had about a 2" gap between the bottom and the floor, plenty of room for bugs and such to crawl in but we were lucky and had none. Then there were two balconies. . the wood in dire need of staining and new chairs (current ones were old and dirty).

Other then that we enjoyed having the downstairs for out two six yr olds on the pull out couch with their own tv, and my husband and I upstairs in a comfortable king with our own tv. There were two bathrooms, one with a shower/bath, also a coffee maker up and downstairs, and a small fridge and sink. This came in handy when we purchased some grocery items & beverages from Papanani's Deli, located between the Marina and Bay Towers. I highly recommend stopping at the deil. . the hotel charges $6 per bottle of beer and at the deli you can purchase a six-pack for $9, along with tasty sandwiches, cereal, and many other items at a fair price.

The kids LOVED the Marina tower pool and the entire family enjoyed the Club Lounge on the Penthouse floor. The lounge was beautifully decorated and a decent variety of snacks in the evening and helpful lounge attendant (wish I had gotten his name - very nice). The breakfast also served in the Lounge the next morning was nicely stocked and plenty of room/quiet while we enjoyed the start to our day.

We only stayed one night here (the hotel was full the 3rd & 4th) and after checking out we headed for the US Grant for 2 nights and off to Sea World. All in all we would definitely return to the Sheraton. (hopefully to dry floors, updated balconies/lanai's, and new doors that closed securely).

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

My wife and 5 years old just completed a 3 night stay at this hotel. The room was perfect, overlooking the 4th of July fireworks. The service was beyond finer hotels we have stayed at. Everyone was calling me by name, which I think is nice and personal. Whoever is running this hotel is doing a great job and deserves Kudos’s. I can't wait to book another stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommyboy760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSDHotelManagement, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the service and accommodations, and look forward to welcoming you back when you next return to San Diego.

Kindest regards,
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

I stayed a night in the Bay Tower, which seemed to be poor relation in terms of facilities, but was quite OK. I had a pre-paid rate of around $100 and would've been disappointed had I paid more or had had to pay for parking, a better view (mine was fine though, from 4th floor across the bay, from a wide balcony) and the other add-ons (see other reviews on this unsavoury aspect). The TV includes Showtime, but a very limited range of other cable channels (presumably to encourage guests to pay for their own movies etc). The room decor was superb - modern red-white-n-blue paintings; long sofa and expansive desk; footstools and coffee table. If anything, there was too much furniture in the room, but the bed positioned on a corner was definitely an interesting feature and helped give the room a different feel. A stray face-cloth from a previous guest and a faulty constantly-flashing message light on the phone [which the front desk tried but failed to correct, and then failed to follow-up with maintenance] were aspects that would have annoyed me had I been paying full rate, as would the absence of a Guest Services Guide (the tv-based version being unavailable). The ground floor pool was disappointing, failing to take advange of the hotel's position on the bay [it could've been anywhere in any city] and the pool area wasn't kept clean.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank autoflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

The location is convenient and the staff are nice enough. Note that parking is around $20 a day. The nautical decor is very clean an fresh and suites the destination well. A couple issues worth mentioning: there was an unpleasant smell in the hallways... Not sure if it's what they use to clean the carpets or something else. Also, there was only one elevator in operation for my wing of the hotel. It sometimes took 15 minutes to get down to the lobby do to this fact. The hot tub was not hot in the morning... Definitely less than 100F. I would stay again but only with a nice discount.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
1  Thank FussyCosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

The room at this hotel was nice, and the price was right using their pre-paid rate. But that was just the beginning of the costs of staying there. Right off the bat there was a $22 a day rate for self parking. Once inside, I felt like they did everything they could to nickel and dime you.

The room has the mini bars where as soon as something is picked up, you get charged for it. Don't want to pay for the mini bar? There's a vending machine where everything from a pack of skittles to a snack bag of Doritos is $1.50. Want to buy your own snacks? No problem - except if you want to keep anything cold. If you remove the items from the mini bar, it's a $24 fee for "restocking". Want to use the internet in the room? No problem - but it'll cost you. Want to get off the ground floor? No problem - for an extra $25 a night. Don't want a room facing the airport? That's $20 a night. I have stayed at really high-end hotels and never felt as nickeled and dimed as I did here. I also found that the ceiling was not very sound-absorbing and we could hear everything going on upstairs.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ml0673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSDHotelManagement, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. While we do offer a wide-range of complimentary amenities here at the hotel, there are others, as you have noted, that do have costs associated with them. We, as a hotel, would prefer to only charge guests who use these features the additional price, rather than hiding or building-in these costs into the room rate.

I trust that in other regards you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to be able to welcome you back to The Sheraton when you next return to San Diego.

Kindest regards,
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

This hotel is a 10 minute walk from the airport and a Sheraton shuttle arrives every 15.' The room was apparently deluxe, and seemed standard for the chain. Really beautiful view. Nice bed, very clean room with great housekeeping.
What soured the 7 day stay was being declined on access to SPG lounge for continental breakfast because we are gold and not a platinum members, and no upgrade without payment of 28,000 points in a 1/2 empty hotel. The restaurant continental breakfast was 17.95 each, and a single Mojito ( a common drink) was 10.89. No accessable fridge, as any personal food would be removed and a $25 service fee applied. So no milk and cereal. No lower priced food nearer then the airport. so, we used the hotel to sleep and enjoyed leisurely meals in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OldCountslur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#122 of 279 in San Diego
2,744 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 279 in San Diego
5,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-1007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Business Hotel in San Diego
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#76 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $124 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego has established itself as a destination featuring world class spirit with genuine warmth. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina offers an authentic San Diego experience. Iconic sunsets and a waterfront destination…it’s comfortably upscale without pretense. As an architectural cornerstone positioned at the point of entry into the city - by air or sea - the imposing facade of the hotel reflects an architectural design inspired by the region’s naval influence. In the mid 1800s, city leaders realized the potential of the San Diego Bay and, with the anticipation of the opening of the Panama Canal, the importance of improving the harbor for commerce. Significant modifications were needed to the Bay to accommodate large ships. As a result, Harbor and Shelter Island were developed, as well as much of the land beneath the San Diego International airport. Today’s San Diego has evolved into a place to meet and share inspiration. Overlooking the scenic San Diego Bay and a private marina, the hotel is a place where San Diego soul and contemporary style go hand and hand. A Bayside resort with urban accessibility, the hotel is a waterfront hub connecting you to the destination’s renowned attractions. Ideally located within easy reach, the historic Liberty Station, the waterfront districts of Point Loma, the energy of Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter offer convenient, lively dining and entertainment venues. Amongst exquisite lifestyle decor and a relaxing atmosphere, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reflects a perfect haven for the active lifestyle that is woven deep into the region’s DNA. There are waterside fire pits and three pools - each with a unique personality. But most importantly, the hotel is designed to make best use of San Diego’s average 72 degree year-round sunny weather. Sitting on the dock of the Bay, the hotel offers access to water sport rentals and sailing tours to provide an extraordinary perspective of San Diego. Along with the diversity that found home in San Diego, the intense energy that the destination acquired offers a remarkably unique experience. Naturally, this energy worked its way into the foundation of the hotel. From the moment of arrival, the hotel is designed to offer a scenic environment with unmatched flexibility and capability. The nautically inspired guest rooms and suites come with an elegant array of amenities and social enabling conveniences. Social travelers seeking something astonishing can choose one of the spacious and well equipped suites for a unique and luxurious home away from home. Reflecting the needs of the world’s social traveler, a great hotel is built with much more than awe-inspiring design. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina enlists a warm, friendly and tenured staff that is connected to the urban energy of downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Splitty, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing