We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Ranked #109 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 26, 2014

I don't usually choose Sheraton hotels due to previous experiences, but I was at a meeting that was held at this hotel complex and had to stay there. My room was in the Bay Tower of the complex and the meetings were in the Marina Tower. It was a short, but pleasant, walk along the marina to the meeting rooms, so that was not a problem at all. To add to that, there is a small deli on the walkway that has great sandwiches!

My room was very roomy, comfortable and clean. I had a beautiful view of the marina from my balcony. Morning coffee on the balcony was something i enjoyed each day. The Bay Tower was beautiful and very well-kept.

One negative of this hotel was the food - choices were very limited and very expensive. Room service was mediocre. We did eat in the restaurant in the Marina Tower one evening and the food, service, and atmosphere were all fantastic - but again, quite pricey.

Several colleagues who stayed in the Marina Tower said that their rooms were very small and run down. I did not personally see the rooms, though.

The other negative that I experienced was that this hotel is feels very isolated. It's on Harbor Island and there are no stores, restaurants (besides the deli mentioned above), etc. nearby. There is a shuttle, however, that is available for $3 that will take you across to the city and drop you.

All in all, the stay was pleasant and positive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Bay Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,333 - 1,339 of 3,868 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2014

My wife and I don't travel a ton- but when we do, we always stay at Sheratons... and our trip to San Diego for the America's Finest City Half Marathon was no exception... and it was also the last time we will stay at this particular Sheraton...

For 100/night at the Hampton Inn you get a tastefully decorated clean room, friendly staff, breakfast, coffee all day, free internet, and free parking.

For 300/night at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina, you get a tastefully decorated, clean room. For 330/night, you can also park there.

It's a "nicer" hotel, so I can understand not providing breakfast... but for 300/night you still want to charge me to use the internet? That thing Starbucks provides if you give them $2.00 for a coffee.

I don't understand why this higher-end hotel felt the need to nickel and dime their guests, who were already paying a premium to stay... but they do... and it guarantees my wife and I won't be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your recent stay. We are disappointed to hear your experience at our hotel was less than satisfactory.

We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We are deeply disappointed to hear that you did not receive the high level of service that we are known for.

Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back for another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel one night.
The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. The hotel itself smelled a little musty.
I would have given this hotel a better rating if it was not for the horrible experience we had upon checking in.
Check-in time is 3pm. We arrived a bit after 4pm - exhausted after a long flight and wanting to sleep. We were told with a dry (almost rude tone!) that no rooms were available because the hotel was at maximum capacity. We only got access to a room well after 6pm. This is ridiculous - especially given that rooms cost 300+ a night at this hotel. The check-in staff gave us complementary wifi for the inconvenience but this did not make up for the time it took to get access to a room. As a member of the SPG program I would have expected a bit better treatment.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelstyle060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

I reviewed this Hotel a year ago, unfortunately it has gone further downhill since. The rooms were not ready by 4pm check-in, when eventually one was, the door would not open leading to a 30 minute wait for security to then tell us we would have to change room. That done, the sliding door to the small balcony would not close and we are still waiting for it to be fixed. The housekeeping albeit polite had not cleaned the room until 6 pm and that despite at 8am to do so by lunchtime. The amenities are minute and the shower water like a trickle. Good view over the marina though if one does not mind planes landing and takeing off every couple of minutes.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaiDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your recent stay. We are disappointed to hear your experience at our hotel was less than satisfactory.

We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We are deeply disappointed to hear that you did not receive the high level of service that we are known for.

Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back for another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

This is a lovely quiet hotel with a nice view on a harbor. It's peaceful, and the staff is amazing. Downtown doesn't have this charm, and it's only 7 minutes to downtown in a taxi... I highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unhappyguest32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Great views. Great service. Great food. Lovely pool. Bike racks. Comfy room. No airport noise when the door is closed. Did I mention the view? We were in the northern tower overlooking the pool and enjoyed our morning coffee while gazing at the marina and the entrance to the harbor.

The down side: parking is $24 a night and you might have to park on the dirt. The fan for our AC was noisy but didn't interfere with sleep.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sheri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Wow! Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your recent stay. We truly love reading about remarkable experiences like the one you received. Adding special touches is where our property excels and we couldn't be happier to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Our staff will be pleased to hear about the job well done and the great experience you took home. Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope to host you again when travel plans permit.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Checking in was great, although we came very early , we got the room right away at the Marina Tower.The room was nice and clean, except their was no plastic bag on the ice bucket.

We did eat twice in the restaurant and like the food . Although we didn't use the shuttle bus, I heard with a nominal fee ($3) the bus can take people downtown SD.
Overnight parking is expensive though, $24 for self parking.

The only slight complain was since I am a light sleeper, I could hear the jet flying but after a while I fell asleep.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lv2shop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#124 of 278 in San Diego
2,689 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
5,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-1007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#22 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Business Hotel in San Diego
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#76 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $130 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego has established itself as a destination featuring world class spirit with genuine warmth. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina offers an authentic San Diego experience. Iconic sunsets and a waterfront destination…it’s comfortably upscale without pretense. As an architectural cornerstone positioned at the point of entry into the city - by air or sea - the imposing facade of the hotel reflects an architectural design inspired by the region’s naval influence. In the mid 1800s, city leaders realized the potential of the San Diego Bay and, with the anticipation of the opening of the Panama Canal, the importance of improving the harbor for commerce. Significant modifications were needed to the Bay to accommodate large ships. As a result, Harbor and Shelter Island were developed, as well as much of the land beneath the San Diego International airport. Today’s San Diego has evolved into a place to meet and share inspiration. Overlooking the scenic San Diego Bay and a private marina, the hotel is a place where San Diego soul and contemporary style go hand and hand. A Bayside resort with urban accessibility, the hotel is a waterfront hub connecting you to the destination’s renowned attractions. Ideally located within easy reach, the historic Liberty Station, the waterfront districts of Point Loma, the energy of Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter offer convenient, lively dining and entertainment venues. Amongst exquisite lifestyle decor and a relaxing atmosphere, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reflects a perfect haven for the active lifestyle that is woven deep into the region’s DNA. There are waterside fire pits and three pools - each with a unique personality. But most importantly, the hotel is designed to make best use of San Diego’s average 72 degree year-round sunny weather. Sitting on the dock of the Bay, the hotel offers access to water sport rentals and sailing tours to provide an extraordinary perspective of San Diego. Along with the diversity that found home in San Diego, the intense energy that the destination acquired offers a remarkably unique experience. Naturally, this energy worked its way into the foundation of the hotel. From the moment of arrival, the hotel is designed to offer a scenic environment with unmatched flexibility and capability. The nautically inspired guest rooms and suites come with an elegant array of amenities and social enabling conveniences. Social travelers seeking something astonishing can choose one of the spacious and well equipped suites for a unique and luxurious home away from home. Reflecting the needs of the world’s social traveler, a great hotel is built with much more than awe-inspiring design. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina enlists a warm, friendly and tenured staff that is connected to the urban energy of downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing