We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yatch baby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-1007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #107 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
235 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Yatch baby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

To see the marina close by was really nice. Room is small. Bathroom petite. Nice pools. Lobby was very nice. I like the shuttle. On the expensive side. Close to every thing, zoo, seaword, balboa park. Parking is a killer $24 a night.. So put them high heels & have fun in town!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janjust16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    1,170
    632
    336
    195
See reviews for
730
803
175
1,160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,075)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Great trip nice room with great view. Friendly staff. Would definitely stay again, and bring the family too.

Only issue was there was virtually no water pressure - took forever to take a shower. Could have been the high floor, but I kinda dreaded trying to get shampoo out my hair - and I'm a man with short hair.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank d h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This hotel - apart from a very convenient airport shuttle which is just minutes away -it is very close to the marina and most famous seaport village ( which also has shuttles ) . the hotel gives a vey resort like feel even though it is in the heart of the city .

we got early check ( a big plus for families travelling with young children ) . The breakfast was very nice and hotel staff very warm . We also got a room with a great view of the marina !

This is also very close to sea world !!

Room Tip: Ask for the marina view. They are lovely .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megna_jain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We want to stay at this hotel for one week. At our arrival Rudy, yes I think this was his name, opened my door and asked me if I need a Bellwagon. As I confirmed he shows me signing to one corner where they are. I took one and I moved my luggage to it. After Rudy asked me if I want valet parking or self parking. As we have traveled about 5000 miles in the last three weeks of our 25000$ vacations, we just want to relax and don't move the car so I decided to use the self parking. After my response Rudy lost all his interes in us. I take the car and I park it at the parking nearby.
When I come back Rudy informed me that I can't park there because the first 4 lines are reserved for Valet parking. I go again back to the car, a little disgussed as he could have told me that before. I park the car in the fifth line, counting them again to make sure I parked this time in the right place. After coming back another clerk tells me I can't park there because this is reserved for valet parking. I told him that Rudy has told me that only the four first lines are valet parking signing on Rudy who is next to us. In this moment Rudy shout at me like nowone has ever shout that I have to take the car inmediately from this parking. I really have stayed in many hotels in my life but this roudy should never work in touch with clients. We will change this hotel asap because I really haven't to stand this.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Markus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your recent stay. We are disappointed to hear your experience at our hotel was less than satisfactory.

It is never our intention to misrepresent our facilities and we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We are deeply disappointed to hear that you did not receive the high level of service that we are known for. Your comments will be forwarded to the appropriate leadership and addressed immediately.

Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back for another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Buffalo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed at this property for six days while attending a conference of hospitality educators being held at this hotel. The hotel offers beautiful views of San Diego Harbor and Marinas and offers two pleasant swimming pools, a nicely equipped work out facility, and plenty of great meeting space. It is conveniently located across the street from San Diego International Airport and offers complementary shuttle to and from the airport every 30 minutes or less.

My guestroom was on the 9th floor of the Marina Tower overlooking the airport and the San Diego Skyline. No complaints with the guestroom, though the "Sweet Sleeper Bed" was not the most comfortable, but acceptable.

In the six days of my occupancy, I experienced five (5) service failures that should never have occurred:

Service Failure 1 (Day 1): I arrived alone on a Monday evening at 9pm with a rental car that I had used to travel from Los Angeles. I pulled in front of the hotel's Marina Tower entrance to drop off my suitcase with the doorman so I could go return my rental car to an agency three miles away. This process took me 15 minutes as the doorman kept insisting I "surrender my car keys to him". He would not listen to me and just take the bag out of the trunk and give me a claim check so I could leave and later reclaim the bag. Finally, after I unloaded the bag and repeated for the fifth time what I was trying to accomplish he grabbed the bag and stormed off in a huff to inside the hotel. He returned and never spoke to me. Five minutes later a bellman came out with a claim check in his hand confused as to who he was supposed to see. I stood there waiting...and waiting. Finally the bellman approached me, but at the same time the Valet Manager told me I needed to move my vehicle, he did not like where it was standing, though that is where the doorman originally directed me to wait with the vehicle. Why does it take 3 employees, 15 minutes, and me getting upset and frustrated just to drop off my bag so I can return the rental car and then come back and check in to the hotel?

Service Failure 2 (Day 1): The bellman who brought the suitcase to my guestroom was great. He even beat me to the room because Natalie the front desk clerk, a person of very few words or pleasantries, failed to point put the correct elevator to use when she checked me in. That is okay, i enjoyed walking down hallways finding the nearest elevator that is not really the nearest. Anyway, within two minutes of arriving at my room, I unwittingly locked myself out of my guestroom. I thought I had the room key in my pocket. Wrong! It was the room key from last night's hotel. So down to the front desk, wait in line for five minutes and I then explained the situation to Susan the trainee. After she asked my room number (instead of my name) I gave her the wrong room number (my unintentional mistake) and showed her my ID. You guessed it, she made a key for the wrong room instead of verifying my room number in the front desk computer.This was after she announced my room number (albeit the wrong room number) aloud twice so that other guests could hear it. When I reminded her this was a safety and security violation she acknowledged her mistake and became flustered. And of course the key did not work anyway for my room. But it did work in the hotel room across the hall from mine! Back down to the front desk to have a safety and security conversation with the Front Office Manager on Duty. I only had to wait 7 minutes for her to appear. Total time still trying to get this issue resolved: 20 minutes.

Service Failure 3 (Day 3): I left my guestroom at 11am that morning and spent the entire day in the hotel attending my conference. Returned to my guestroom at 9:40pm only to find that my room was not serviced. Bed was not made, no fresh towels, nothing. No, there was not a Do Not Disturb sign on the door. No, I did not choose to participate in the Starwood Green program and elect not to receive housekeeping service. Down to the front desk, wait in line for five minutes, inquire what happened and I was met with a blank stare. I was informed that it was too late and there were no housekeeping personnel to service the room that evening. So, despite the fact that I did not opt out of housekeeping service when I checked in, the hotel decided I did not merit housekeeping service for that day and there was no solution they could offer. JUST DEAL WITH IT. Thanks!

Service Failure 4 (Day 4): Some colleagues and I decided to go to the Gaslamp District for dinner and would take the $3 shuttle that leaves from in front of the hotel at 8pm. I went to the front desk to request change for a $50 bill so I could pay the shuttle fee to the driver. This process only took 15 minutes. Apparently the clerk nor none of the other clerks at the front desk could break a $50 bill (really?)! He had to "go in back" and find change, returning about 8 minutes later with two twenties and a ten (better, but not ideal). This is a full service hotel across from the airport in a world class city, right? Don't guests need change so they can tip bellman,shuttle van drivers, doormen, etc.? Why was this simple request so difficult and lengthy to attempt to fulfill? I am still confused here.

Service Failure 5 (Day 6): It is 10:45am on Saturday morning, the day after the conference concluded, and I go to the front desk to check out and obtain a copy of my bill (guest folio). Not a good experience. The property management system (computer system) is not working and has been "down" for some time. The hotel cannot provide a folio to me (or anyone else) so I can get reimbursed by my employer. The desk clerk promised that I will be "emailed" a folio. I am not pleased; I cannot determine the total of my charges or if all charges are valid or there were mistakes. I am forced to walk away frustrated and trusting the hotel will follow through on its assurance to email me the folio. In retrospect , maybe if the front desk clerk asked for my email address that would have helped? Of course this did not happen. Here it is...six days after my departure from the hotel and still no folio received. No email from the hotel except the request by the hotel's general manager, Scott Hermes, to complete this review and rate his hotel. So here it is in all it candid glory! I really would like to get reimbursed by my employer for my hotel stay, so I guess I will be forced to contact the hotel and request a receipt for my stay, if their computers are functioning. Since I had to unload my own luggage on Monday and also make my own guestroom bed on Wednesday night, I might as well do the other work for the hotel as well.

Enjoy your stay at this hotel, just do not be surprised if you experience your own service failures. Beautiful views though.

Room Tip: Make sure you are staying in the Marina Tower and not the "lanai" rooms uness you plan to...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel may make the decision for you to not service your room. Good Luck!
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank revpar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, General Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear revpar77,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments and for discussing your concerns in detail through our email communication. We certainly owe you an apology for the lack-luster experience you received at our hotel. We clearly missed the mark.

Your thorough review of your experience is disappointing to hear, but will prove to be an effective training mechanism for our staff. Please find comfort that your concerns are in the hands of the appropriate leadership team and the issues will be addressed - with my personal guidance along the way.

Thank you for your review and we are hopeful for another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Scott Hermes
General Manager
Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice hotel with good amenities that is super convenient to airport. I was at my gate 20 minutes after I left my room this am. Good green program that let's you earn $$ for restaurants.

Only complaint is isn't convenient to walk anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurensaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

While the hotel is physically quite nice for it's age, the service level is poor. The hotel front desk is noticeably understaffed with constant queues with long waits for anything. Additionally, they can't seem to handle any special circumstances including overlapping reservations caused by convention rates not being available each night.

Our stay got off on the wrong foot and keep going downhill. We booked a higher rate than if we had used Expedia therefore giving the hotel more bottom line and also protecting the room block of the conference we were attending, yet we were given a room with a view of a brick wall. When I spoke to the front desk person they were totally uncooperative and basically said tough luck. It took a manager to rectify the situation, but then a long, long wait for someone to actually come and help us move rooms.

At the conference, I was unimpressed with the food and there were no staff visible servicing the group on the convention floor. This was a challenge as meetings rooms were scatter everywhere in this hotel. On one occasion, I asked a restaurant hostess where a particular meeting room was located and they couldn't tell me.

On top of everything else, while presumably no fault of the hotel, at check out all the computers were down making everything that much worse as I couldn't even review my bill before checking out.

Room Tip: Don't book a standard room at the senior rate unless you want to be looking at a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dljhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your review and recent stay at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina. It is always gratifying when we can create a welcoming experience for our guests. This is why your story is so upsetting to hear and we are deeply disappointed about how far short we fell of your expectations beginning at arrival.

The lack-luster assistance you received is unacceptable and will surely be addressed. Please accept our apology and take note that this is not the norm for our hotel. Providing impeccable service is essential to our goal of creating a home away from home and your comments will prove valuable to our ongoing efforts.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back for another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#40 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#66 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 4,060 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#121 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Property: The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-1007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#35 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#60 Business Hotel in San Diego
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#77 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego has established itself as a destination featuring world class spirit with genuine warmth. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina offers an authentic San Diego experience. Iconic sunsets and a waterfront destination…it’s comfortably upscale without pretense. As an architectural cornerstone positioned at the point of entry into the city - by air or sea - the imposing facade of the hotel reflects an architectural design inspired by the region’s naval influence. In the mid 1800s, city leaders realized the potential of the San Diego Bay and, with the anticipation of the opening of the Panama Canal, the importance of improving the harbor for commerce. Significant modifications were needed to the Bay to accommodate large ships. As a result, Harbor and Shelter Island were developed, as well as much of the land beneath the San Diego International airport. Today’s San Diego has evolved into a place to meet and share inspiration. Overlooking the scenic San Diego Bay and a private marina, the hotel is a place where San Diego soul and contemporary style go hand and hand. A Bayside resort with urban accessibility, the hotel is a waterfront hub connecting you to the destination’s renowned attractions. Ideally located within easy reach, the historic Liberty Station, the waterfront districts of Point Loma, the energy of Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter offer convenient, lively dining and entertainment venues. Amongst exquisite lifestyle decor and a relaxing atmosphere, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reflects a perfect haven for the active lifestyle that is woven deep into the region’s DNA. There are waterside fire pits and three pools - each with a unique personality. But most importantly, the hotel is designed to make best use of San Diego’s average 72 degree year-round sunny weather. Sitting on the dock of the Bay, the hotel offers access to water sport rentals and sailing tours to provide an extraordinary perspective of San Diego. Along with the diversity that found home in San Diego, the intense energy that the destination acquired offers a remarkably unique experience. Naturally, this energy worked its way into the foundation of the hotel. From the moment of arrival, the hotel is designed to offer a scenic environment with unmatched flexibility and capability. The nautically inspired guest rooms and suites come with an elegant array of amenities and social enabling conveniences. Social travelers seeking something astonishing can choose one of the spacious and well equipped suites for a unique and luxurious home away from home. Reflecting the needs of the world’s social traveler, a great hotel is built with much more than awe-inspiring design. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina enlists a warm, friendly and tenured staff that is connected to the urban energy of downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing