We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Ranked #108 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 31, 2014

we stayed one night , view from rooms where great, the location is good but not walking distance to down town, it was nice for the price, the pool side was beautiful how ever was not warm enough for us to swim.

Room Tip: marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mosafer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,914)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,504 - 1,510 of 3,914 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

Booked this hotel through an online discount agency. Had read some mixed reviews of the Bay Tower but for us this was a great stay in San Diego. It is a great location with a superb view. There is quick access to most of the popular sites in and around San Diego. Good pathway along water front to go for a walk. Staff where all friendly and helpful. Must agree with other reviewers that the cost of parking is a little pricey. Overall an excellent weekend!

Room Tip: The harbour city view from the seventh floor was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freezer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Our room had a contemporary motif with a gorgeous view of the shoreline. There were numerous attraction sites that were just minutes away. The adjacent park and marina gave me some picturesque backdrops.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felix T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel because of its location. But it is more than that. During our 5 day stay, we found the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was nice and always cleaned. We did not take the $5 room clean credit option as we went out for every meal. San Diego has some of the best restaurants in Southern California. The pool area is nice and valet parking was a good value over self park. We are planning to stay there again during our next trip in August.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank VictorVDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We brought our daughter to San Diego as an end of school year treat to visit the Zoo and the beach and stayed at this Sheraton. We had such a great time! The staff was very nice, and we enjoyed all the amenities, especially the Marina pool and jacuzzi. We liked the room decor, but the rooms are quite small as are the bathrooms, but the bedding and pillows were comfortable. One thing management needs to recognize (Austin Gubrud, Manager) is if you want guests to participate in the Green Program, you need to add additional towel racks in the bathrooms, racks where guests can spread out their towels so they dry completely. There is one small hook in the bathroom, essentially nowhere for guests to hang up their towels. I would encourage management to actually stay in one of the rooms with their family (if they don't have one, "borrow" one!) and see what you think about the lack of racks in the bathrooms, whether participating in the Green Program or not!

We would definitely stay here again and really look forward to our next visit. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Would request a Marina tower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4TravelFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear 4TravelFamily4,

I would take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your recent stay. We love hearing great feedback like yours as we put forward everything possible to make every guest leave having had a great experience.

We are very sorry you found our rooms had a lack of hooks for towels, but you spoke and we listened. We recognized the problem and additional towel racks and hooks are in the plans for future updates.

Our staff will be pleased to hear about the job well done and the great experience you took home. Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope to host you again if future travel plans permit.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

after an all day flight it was nice to relax in a hotel that was close to the airport and that was priced right. the staff service was nothing short of excellent. when the hotel stopped serving food, the staff ordered up a bell hop to drive me over to their other property whereby the stayed open late. room and general amenities wee up to my expectations. for a four star hotel that had 80 dollar bookings in downtown San Diego, I was not at all disappointed and I felt that i truly received a great value for my dollar.

Room Tip: get a view of the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank da3311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed there and we love the view and the location. The beds are comfortable and the staff friendly and accommodating. We like that there's Starbucks coffee in the rooms and in the cafe in the lobby. It's a nice walk to Liberty Station, the paths on Harbor Island and downtown . The pools and spa are nice and we look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#122 of 286 in San Diego
2,788 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 286 in San Diego
5,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-1007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#21 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Business Hotel in San Diego
#71 Family Hotel in San Diego
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $125 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego has established itself as a destination featuring world class spirit with genuine warmth. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina offers an authentic San Diego experience. Iconic sunsets and a waterfront destination…it’s comfortably upscale without pretense. As an architectural cornerstone positioned at the point of entry into the city - by air or sea - the imposing facade of the hotel reflects an architectural design inspired by the region’s naval influence. In the mid 1800s, city leaders realized the potential of the San Diego Bay and, with the anticipation of the opening of the Panama Canal, the importance of improving the harbor for commerce. Significant modifications were needed to the Bay to accommodate large ships. As a result, Harbor and Shelter Island were developed, as well as much of the land beneath the San Diego International airport. Today’s San Diego has evolved into a place to meet and share inspiration. Overlooking the scenic San Diego Bay and a private marina, the hotel is a place where San Diego soul and contemporary style go hand and hand. A Bayside resort with urban accessibility, the hotel is a waterfront hub connecting you to the destination’s renowned attractions. Ideally located within easy reach, the historic Liberty Station, the waterfront districts of Point Loma, the energy of Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter offer convenient, lively dining and entertainment venues. Amongst exquisite lifestyle decor and a relaxing atmosphere, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reflects a perfect haven for the active lifestyle that is woven deep into the region’s DNA. There are waterside fire pits and three pools - each with a unique personality. But most importantly, the hotel is designed to make best use of San Diego’s average 72 degree year-round sunny weather. Sitting on the dock of the Bay, the hotel offers access to water sport rentals and sailing tours to provide an extraordinary perspective of San Diego. Along with the diversity that found home in San Diego, the intense energy that the destination acquired offers a remarkably unique experience. Naturally, this energy worked its way into the foundation of the hotel. From the moment of arrival, the hotel is designed to offer a scenic environment with unmatched flexibility and capability. The nautically inspired guest rooms and suites come with an elegant array of amenities and social enabling conveniences. Social travelers seeking something astonishing can choose one of the spacious and well equipped suites for a unique and luxurious home away from home. Reflecting the needs of the world’s social traveler, a great hotel is built with much more than awe-inspiring design. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina enlists a warm, friendly and tenured staff that is connected to the urban energy of downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing