We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Location and facility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Ranked #104 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Queen Creek, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location and facility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times because it has a beautiful location on the water and great views. Also centrally located to downtown San Diego so easy access to all of the sections. The rooms are spacious and there is a beautiful pool.

Room Tip: Harbor side rooms are quieter than the other side with some road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    1,178
    638
    339
    196
See reviews for
739
811
176
1,168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,083)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is really two properties that are separated by about a 7-10 minute walk. First and foremost, if you are not in the main (Marina) tower, get ready to do some walking. I was stuck in the Bay Tower and had to hoof it over to the Marina Tower for my conference which was fine, but you have to build in that extra time for every trip over. The services at the Bay tower are also not as good. Room service breakfast was supposed to start at 6 AM, but nobody was answering the phone even after 6:30 AM. I then went down to the dining room at 6:30 AM for a wickedly overpriced buffet and was given a wonderful glass of spoiled skim milk. Not much of an apology, nothing comped. Bad service choice. There also isn't much by way of restaurants in the area, so you should definitely get a car if you are staying here (but don't forget the $22/day for parking.) Housekeeping was really slow. They kept servicing my room later and later, and by the last day it was 4PM before they got to my room. Add to all of this that my room faced the airport, and this place was not worth the money. The prices seem reasonable, until you start getting nickle and dimed, and then add in the fact that it is difficult to walk to anything since you are essentially on a small islet. I only stayed here because of a conference, but I would honestly stay at another location if I had to do it all over again.

Room Tip: Stay away from Bay tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Mark B,

Thank you for your recent stay and for the time taken to post your review on TripAdvisor. It is with candid feedback like yours that we are able to improve our guest satisfaction and provide every guest a stay to remember.

We like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while in residence. We are disappointed to hear that room service was not responsive to your requests; please rest assured that I will personally address this issue with the appropriate leadership. Our property commonly receives great comments about timely staff, which is why your comments are troubling to hear.

Thank you, again, for leaving your comments. We are hopeful to earn another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel and staff.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I caught the room on sale. I stayed one night in the Marina tower and found the room to be very nice. The view from the balcony of the harbor and the airport were nice. I found the people to be very friendly but the prices to be high. I did not touch the mini bar but did go to the gift shop for soda. The prices were a little on the high side.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank major_shopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Room was a nice size and the balcony though a bit small was fine for myself. They have a green program where if you don't want maid service you gain 500 points a night.They say you will receive a voucher I didn't and had to ask upon checkout. I still havent seen the points appear so that may be a myth. And when they say green they mean green the maid does not enter does not take even the garbage. My first night was very nice in the room second night what a disaster my neighbor was a couple with a baby who believed i guess to let the baby cry itself to sleep. No sleep that night . IMO you shouldnt do that in a hotel especially where the walls are paper thin. View from balcony was of the marina and the airport. Never heard the planes. Quick to get to free shuttle 5 minutes from the airport. That was great . Food was so so . If i had a choice i wouldn't eat their food again. Pool was nice not crowded . Staff was friendly . All in All not a bad hotel just an acceptable hotel . There may be a few hotels just as close with better food. I was there the end of august.

Green Features: green hotel but should explain no entry at all . tell you what you should do with gargabe( put it outside room ) who knows.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Richard R,

Thank you very much for your review and recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you took advantage of our Green Choice program – you should see your points within the next few weeks. Although you felt the dining options were not adequate, we are pleased to hear our associates played a positive role in your experience.

Your constructive comments will be communicated to the appropriate leadership. We thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are hopeful for the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 3 days here, a nice looking hotel, we stayed in the towers overlooking the bay.. Great views! However I think it's time for a renovation of the rooms especially the bathrooms. Our tub got backed-up one morning, but the staff was very accomodating! Also the Hotel is very close to the airport which was a plus! I would stay here again if they renovate.. its time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We've stayed at this Sheraton a number of times - it used to be our "go to" hotel in San Diego, but the last two visits have made us want to "go to" anywhere else! First, you need to TRIPLE verify that you are in the tower and the room type that you want. We were put in the wrong tower twice, and didn't get the room type we reserved & paid for two out of three times. Customer service was minimal at best; after much complaining, they threw in a free breakfast but we still didn't get the room we had paid for. The rooms ARE nice, especially in the redecorated Bay Tower (which is the smaller and quieter of the 2 towers, with a MUCH smaller pool & no outdoor bar service). Views are great, and we used to love the outdoor patio bar at the Marina Tower, but on our last two visits it was dirty, crowded, and lacking in service. If you are looking for the downtown San Diego experience, this is not the best place to stay, as you will need to drive to get anywhere. But the views are great, and there is a nice walking path along the shoreline with access to a couple of restaurants. One big plus, the pillows are FABULOUS!

Room Tip: The Bay Tower is further down the road, but much quieter and less crowded. Marina Tower has more am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Leslie D,

Thank you very much for your review and recent stay. We appreciate your loyalty and we are deeply disappointed to hear that your latest experience was less than satisfactory.

Although we cannot guarantee specific rooms pre-arrival, I understand that we clearly missed the mark on understanding which tower you were requesting. While I do not have adequate information to investigate the problem, I can assure you that this is rare for our property.

The time taken to write your review is appreciated and we are hopeful for another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice hotel, but rooms and bed a little small. Had a great view overlooking pool and marina. Great location, but will definitely need a car unless you want to eat all your meals at the hotel. They charge guests for parking. Not cool. Service was great. They responded quickly to my request for a refrigerator and they even called the room afterwards to make sure request was taken care of timely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou2072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#39 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#117 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Property: The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-1007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#35 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#60 Business Hotel in San Diego
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#77 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego has established itself as a destination featuring world class spirit with genuine warmth. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina offers an authentic San Diego experience. Iconic sunsets and a waterfront destination…it’s comfortably upscale without pretense. As an architectural cornerstone positioned at the point of entry into the city - by air or sea - the imposing facade of the hotel reflects an architectural design inspired by the region’s naval influence. In the mid 1800s, city leaders realized the potential of the San Diego Bay and, with the anticipation of the opening of the Panama Canal, the importance of improving the harbor for commerce. Significant modifications were needed to the Bay to accommodate large ships. As a result, Harbor and Shelter Island were developed, as well as much of the land beneath the San Diego International airport. Today’s San Diego has evolved into a place to meet and share inspiration. Overlooking the scenic San Diego Bay and a private marina, the hotel is a place where San Diego soul and contemporary style go hand and hand. A Bayside resort with urban accessibility, the hotel is a waterfront hub connecting you to the destination’s renowned attractions. Ideally located within easy reach, the historic Liberty Station, the waterfront districts of Point Loma, the energy of Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter offer convenient, lively dining and entertainment venues. Amongst exquisite lifestyle decor and a relaxing atmosphere, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reflects a perfect haven for the active lifestyle that is woven deep into the region’s DNA. There are waterside fire pits and three pools - each with a unique personality. But most importantly, the hotel is designed to make best use of San Diego’s average 72 degree year-round sunny weather. Sitting on the dock of the Bay, the hotel offers access to water sport rentals and sailing tours to provide an extraordinary perspective of San Diego. Along with the diversity that found home in San Diego, the intense energy that the destination acquired offers a remarkably unique experience. Naturally, this energy worked its way into the foundation of the hotel. From the moment of arrival, the hotel is designed to offer a scenic environment with unmatched flexibility and capability. The nautically inspired guest rooms and suites come with an elegant array of amenities and social enabling conveniences. Social travelers seeking something astonishing can choose one of the spacious and well equipped suites for a unique and luxurious home away from home. Reflecting the needs of the world’s social traveler, a great hotel is built with much more than awe-inspiring design. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina enlists a warm, friendly and tenured staff that is connected to the urban energy of downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing