We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Bay View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Ranked #109 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the Concierge. View was great from the balcony overlooking the bay. We even timed a Sailboat Race just perfect. We stayed 4 nights at the Bay Tower, and after walking all day, we enjoyed the quite hot tub and pool.

Room Tip: If your just going downtown, the Big Bay Shuttle works fine, but Sea World or the Zoo, a rental car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Brian S,

Thank you for the kind words and for mentioning our hard working staff. We are so glad to hear that you used our facilities and enjoyed the breath taking views of the bay.

Aside from the beautiful and peaceful location - it’s our staff that helps create those unforgettable experiences. Thank you for pointing out our capable staff and I will personally deliver your appreciation to the Concierge team.

Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back for another great stay.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,929)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,983 - 1,989 of 3,929 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

We don't spend much time in the room when we travel, but having our morning coffee on the hotel balcony looking out at the bay each morning was very enjoyable! The room was clean and comfortable. The grounds were clean and well kept. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Harbor Island is relaxed and less hectic than staying downtown, but handy enough to all the attractions with San Diego's excellent public transportation system. We chose not to rent a car on this trip, and did not regret that decision. There is a handy shuttle from the hotel to downtown for those not up to the good long walk. The hotel doesn't offer much for casual snacks and drinks (especially in the late evening). There are several small delis catering to the boating crowd which serve up a snack and a cold beer along the marina until about 7pm. The area around the hotel is nice for walks/runs along the bay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bongo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

No free Internet was my only disappointment. The room had a tiny balcony overlooking the pool area. I think looking toward the city would have been prettier but the clerk offered both and I asked what she would pick so that is what she gave me. You cannot use the mini fridge for yourself. They have some old fashioned ideas with the fee for Internet and the fridge. Others have overcome those things. Was only there for a short bit because I had an early departure.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank LoneOak6496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear LoneOak6496,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments and for your recent stay. We agree that both sides of the towers offer very different views, but we can’t decide which is better. I am deeply apologetic that the recommendation provided was not ideal for your liking and we encourage you to return for an unforgettable view on the opposite side of the tower.

While the in-room refrigerators are used exclusively for in-room amenity offerings, we do have personal use refrigerators available upon request.

Thank you for your review and we are hopeful for another opportunity to demonstrate to the potential of our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed in the marina tower last week, this week I arrived at night and the hotel was more booked. It was a completely different experience. There is no external door, the room is filthy, the hall is narrow, the ceilings are low, the hall carpets are revolting. the management said the rooms are the same price, which is bizarre, since it doesn't even seem like the same hotel, let alone worthy of the same rate. Beware! Won't stay in this location again, and no longer trust Sheraton Hotels. Travel too much to gamble with Sheraton.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Inger M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to learn that your experience at our hotel a week prior was nothing short of exceptional, but disappointed to hear that your return visit was not comparable.

Our goal is to ensure every guest is beyond satisfied with every return visit, but were clearly far off according to your comments. Although the Lanai rooms commonly receive high remarks because of the size and close proximity to the marina, we do understand that it provides a different experience.

We are deeply concerned for your return as we know the potential of our hotel is sure to please you. Thank you for sharing and your comments will be communicated to the appropriate leadership.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The views from the hotel include Marina and City across from the Bay - spectacular! Also, Concierge Service concerned and dedicated to assisting you with restaurants and transportation to various places. They have even collaborated with area restaurants to give you discounts on various aspects of a meal. The staff is very pleasant and the facility is nice and planned to accommodate your electronic requirements. Also, the buffet banquet hall food is tasty. Enjoy your stay there.

Room Tip: Book on a floor high enough to experience the great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurrGrwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

As part of a group of four where we each had our own room, we stayed in the Bay Tower in early June 2013. Had we realized the activities in which we were participating took place in the Marina Tower (main hotel) we would have requested this accommodation at check-in. It is my understanding that the Bay Tower rooms are larger, but they need some soundproofing! Every movement and cough from rooms above and on each side could be heard in my room. The decor in my king room was a nice nautical theme with soft linens and a nice bed. The showerhead was coming apart from the wall and something (caulking?) fell out as I was showering.

Additionally, it seems they are doing some work on the Bay Tower, as there was LOUD construction work being done while we were there. I had a problem with the A/C in my room (something about the cold valve being turned off by a previous guest's request) and the staff was prompt and courteous in fixing it.

The complimentary airport shuttle was great, as were the drivers. This same shuttle offers service between the Marina and Bay Towers should you not feel like the .25 mile walk between the two. That said, the walk along the marina is lovely and is along a paved path and takes only about 7 minutes to walk at a leisurely pace.

Room Tip: If you are attending a conference, make sure you book a room in the Marina tower, as all events will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear B P,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to hear you found a few of the many qualities that the Bay Tower offers. Larger rooms, nautical theme, and peaceful atmosphere are what make the Bay Tower so popular among our guests and thank you for pointing these out.

The hotel is constantly being updated and we rarely have a situation where the noise becomes a problem for guests. With that being said, I am deeply sorry that your comfort was affected by the sound of construction and I will be sure to communicate your comments to the appropriate leadership.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon in 2010. Was really amazing! Great suite with lovely view. Breakfast room service with fresh fruit and fresh cheeses. Great service and ambiance in the hotel. We had a great time. It was not too far from downtown or other great sites. We were not too far from La Jolla which is a MUST SEE when you are in San Diego. Lovely gift shop in the hotel. Overall 5 star stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#117 of 286 in San Diego
2,825 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 286 in San Diego
5,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-1007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#22 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Business Hotel in San Diego
#71 Family Hotel in San Diego
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $184 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego has established itself as a destination featuring world class spirit with genuine warmth. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina offers an authentic San Diego experience. Iconic sunsets and a waterfront destination…it’s comfortably upscale without pretense. As an architectural cornerstone positioned at the point of entry into the city - by air or sea - the imposing facade of the hotel reflects an architectural design inspired by the region’s naval influence. In the mid 1800s, city leaders realized the potential of the San Diego Bay and, with the anticipation of the opening of the Panama Canal, the importance of improving the harbor for commerce. Significant modifications were needed to the Bay to accommodate large ships. As a result, Harbor and Shelter Island were developed, as well as much of the land beneath the San Diego International airport. Today’s San Diego has evolved into a place to meet and share inspiration. Overlooking the scenic San Diego Bay and a private marina, the hotel is a place where San Diego soul and contemporary style go hand and hand. A Bayside resort with urban accessibility, the hotel is a waterfront hub connecting you to the destination’s renowned attractions. Ideally located within easy reach, the historic Liberty Station, the waterfront districts of Point Loma, the energy of Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter offer convenient, lively dining and entertainment venues. Amongst exquisite lifestyle decor and a relaxing atmosphere, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reflects a perfect haven for the active lifestyle that is woven deep into the region’s DNA. There are waterside fire pits and three pools - each with a unique personality. But most importantly, the hotel is designed to make best use of San Diego’s average 72 degree year-round sunny weather. Sitting on the dock of the Bay, the hotel offers access to water sport rentals and sailing tours to provide an extraordinary perspective of San Diego. Along with the diversity that found home in San Diego, the intense energy that the destination acquired offers a remarkably unique experience. Naturally, this energy worked its way into the foundation of the hotel. From the moment of arrival, the hotel is designed to offer a scenic environment with unmatched flexibility and capability. The nautically inspired guest rooms and suites come with an elegant array of amenities and social enabling conveniences. Social travelers seeking something astonishing can choose one of the spacious and well equipped suites for a unique and luxurious home away from home. Reflecting the needs of the world’s social traveler, a great hotel is built with much more than awe-inspiring design. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina enlists a warm, friendly and tenured staff that is connected to the urban energy of downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing