We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Airport, Well Maintained Grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Ranked #112 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Lansing, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Convenient to Airport, Well Maintained Grounds”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is conveniently across the road from the airport on Harbor Island. There are two towers, of which I was in the Bay Tower facing San Diego Bay and North Island. I was here for a conference and the proximity to the airport was nice after a long flight.

The grounds are nice –especially around the Marina Tower where it feels a bit like a tropical resort. The Bay Tower is a pleasant three minute walk along the marina path from the Marina Tower.

The room was clean and large. The fixtures and furniture seemed to be in good shape albeit a little dated. I’m not sure about the Marina Tower but the Bay Tower has a nautical theme throughout.

If you are staying here you will almost assuredly need a car to get around. I am an avid walker and so I walked to downtown during my free time but it is quite a hike. That said, if you are a walker or runner you have some decent choices for nearby routes.

I had a noisy downstairs neighbor late during my last night. One call to the competent and professional front desk person put an end to the noise problem.

I would consider staying at this hotel again if I were in San Diego for a vacation. If you are here for business without a car, be forewarned that there is not a lot going on in this area at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michiganchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,157
    1,318
    719
    389
    230
See reviews for
828
901
187
1,349
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

BE AWARE, deal here when you are all said and done are NOT deals.
Positive: rooms are clean, personel is nice and the building is well maintaned
Negative: once you are here you have NO choivce but to pay for parking....$30 a DAY, wifi $12 a day.
so you got the deal on the room (AVOID first 6 floors on uneven numbers unless you do not mind looking at a rooftop from a tappered corner balcony that barely fits 2)
Now you are stuck paying parking and if you plan on visiting San Diego nightlife you are also have to pay for a cab: $15/20 each way!
\Here you are in the middle of nowhere to see, unless you want to walk across the way to the airport and walk on grassy areas near boats
Better deal, pay extra $50/60, be downtown, park wherever you want and enjoy!

Room Tip: request floors above 6th
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eroth40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

It was a pleasure working with the Sheraton SD Hotel and Marina team. Our Chinese guests loved staying there. It was their first time in S.D. and they were Principals and Directors from China learning of our 21st Century Education in S.D.

I was at the Sheraton to send them off Saturday morning. WOW! The employees (bellhops, valet parking gentlemen, concierge, etc.) were SUPERIOR! Sheraton employees has “EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE!” and we will be returning customers in the future. Again, thank you to all of the Sheraton employees for a GRAND experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuestSDEvent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

wonderfully convenient , gorgeous location & clean like all SPG properties. Service in the Grill restaurant was very slow , however the F & B mgr noticed the excessive time on our meal ticket later that evening & sent us up complimentary desserts & wine with her apologies. The shuttle driver was friendly & on time. Big shout out to Anthony in the club lounge- what a wonderful host he is! I would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsB37205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We used the Sheraton Marina for a sales conference that we held. The event space, the planning team, and the support staff were absolutely top-notch. The catering was worthy of a 4 star restaraunt. The PSAV team that supported our technical requirements were knowledgable, eager to assist, and utterly flexible with our changing requirements.

The hotel was another matter. The rooms were "nice" and they were clean but I would give them a 3 star rating. My room was next door to a "meeting room" and while I was trying to sleep, someone was having a party in the room next door. This pulls down the solid 5 star that I would have otherwise given them.

Room Tip: Make sure you tell them on check in that you do not want to be placed next to a meeting room. They h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chazmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I thought this was a really great hotel. I came here to visit friends. The hotel has a huge pool, and a hot tub that could easily fit 20 plus people. The views are pretty, and the marina is right outside the hotel. It's a great place to walk along, or jog (big walking path). Also, there's a Starbucks inside the hotel so it was great not having to leave the hotel in the morning to get coffee. The service I found great although I never ate at the hotel. The front desk staff was friendly, and helpful. The maid was great. She replaced my coffee that they give you in the room every day. The room itself was wonderful, not too small with a balcony outside.

The hotel is really close to the airport which is convenient. However, going out into the city will take a little longer. Even though things are only a few miles away the traffic can make it a longer trip than expected.

A few of my personal tiffs was that parking was expensive, and you have to pay for daily use of the internet. There was a business room you could go to for free internet, but that's not convenient in the morning when you want to check the weather.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjune444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed for 1 night after arriving from Europe, before boarding a cruise (location excellent for cruise ship terminal). I must say this Sheraton property was a disappointment. We stayed on the exucutive floor on 22 NOV 2012 (thanksgiving).

- room wasn't ready at 4.30 pm. Disappointing but not the end of the world. So we were kindly asked to wait around 20 mins at the Starbucks in the lobby and were then given a key for a "similar room" that was ready.

- since we arrived with a -9 hour jetlag we specifically asked for a quiet non-connecting room but now we got a connecting one (I understand preferences are never guaranteed but at least communicate about it when giving out the room, my prefs are in their SPG system)..apparently our original room (which still wasn't ready) was non-connecting.

- Complimentary Club lounge included an afternoon hour with salad bar (incl. asparagus which was a nice touch) and some snack like chicken fingers (spicy) and a fridge with complimentary sodas/water and a pc with internet. (breakfast in this lounge was ok only, rather limited with no eggs aso but gets you started in the morning, nothing more nothing less and the view is nice).

- After settling in and hearing the noise next door (connecting rooms are noisy here with no noise cancelling insulation between the doors) we phoned down to have our room changed to a non-connecting and they said they would send a bellboy up with the new room key. We waited and waited and after another 20 minutes I called down again and guess what: The front desk agent asked me why I wanted to change rooms! Excuse me?! I thought we passed that point half an hour ago!

- We were so tired from the long travel day that we decided to stay in and order roomservice; bad idea: Received 2 club sandwiches with cold fries and 2 long hairs (!)..

- Wifi complimentary on club floor: Did not work, so called down to front desk yet again and was informed they mispelled my last name at check-in (what happened to SPG profile?!) so they had to correct that before I could use the wifi.

- Tap in bathroom: half broken making it a challenge to get anything other than boiling hot or ice cold water out of the tap.

- Bed sheets: After all the above we just wanted to get a nice rest and unfortunately even that was a disappointment. While crawling into bed we noticed the bed was made in such a way that our feet actually touched the bare mattress (sheets too short, see attached pic), unacceptable for this kind of property.

- Due to the time difference we woke up early and since it was the "black friday" shopping experience we went down to the front desk to enquire about the best shopping locations and opening hours for San Diego. The answer was: "Gee, I don't know". And that was that. So we went online and figured it out ourselves.

On check-out at the SPG dedicated desk an asian lady asked how our stay was (this was actually the first agent that came across as a real professional)..I told her about our experience and she removed room service from bill (hygiene) and gave us extra SPG credits to make up for this stay. A nice gesture and she did her job well. However this did not make us feel better about the poor overall performance of this Sheraton property.

Room Tip: Ask for room away of airport noise when you want your balcony door opened in am
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XploreBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear XploreBuddy,

Our ongoing efforts to provide exceptional experiences for all our guests has proven to be an impressive attribute to our hotel, which is why your comments are deeply concerning. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to leave your TripAdvisor review, as guest comments are the heart and soul of the superior level of service our hotel is known for.

The lackluster experience that was dealt to you at our hotel is unacceptable and will be investigated further. Dancing around your SPG profile and less than desirable room service does not exemplify our goal of providing a comfortable, clean, and accommodating experience.

With a hotel of our size, we rely on our Front Desk Associates to handle inevitable problems that occasionally arise in a timely manner. Your comments in regards to the poor attention to your room change request will be communicated to the appropriate leadership and will be included in further training sessions.

We apologize for any distress and inconveniences this has caused you, but please note that this is not the norm for our hotel. With that said, we are hopeful for an opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel if your travel plans extend to San Diego in the future.

Thank you, again, for your review and recent stay at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#123 of 278 in San Diego
2,549 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#78 of 278 in San Diego
4,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Property: The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-1007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Business Hotel in San Diego
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#76 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego has established itself as a destination featuring world class spirit with genuine warmth. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina offers an authentic San Diego experience. Iconic sunsets and a waterfront destination…it’s comfortably upscale without pretense. As an architectural cornerstone positioned at the point of entry into the city - by air or sea - the imposing facade of the hotel reflects an architectural design inspired by the region’s naval influence. In the mid 1800s, city leaders realized the potential of the San Diego Bay and, with the anticipation of the opening of the Panama Canal, the importance of improving the harbor for commerce. Significant modifications were needed to the Bay to accommodate large ships. As a result, Harbor and Shelter Island were developed, as well as much of the land beneath the San Diego International airport. Today’s San Diego has evolved into a place to meet and share inspiration. Overlooking the scenic San Diego Bay and a private marina, the hotel is a place where San Diego soul and contemporary style go hand and hand. A Bayside resort with urban accessibility, the hotel is a waterfront hub connecting you to the destination’s renowned attractions. Ideally located within easy reach, the historic Liberty Station, the waterfront districts of Point Loma, the energy of Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter offer convenient, lively dining and entertainment venues. Amongst exquisite lifestyle decor and a relaxing atmosphere, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reflects a perfect haven for the active lifestyle that is woven deep into the region’s DNA. There are waterside fire pits and three pools - each with a unique personality. But most importantly, the hotel is designed to make best use of San Diego’s average 72 degree year-round sunny weather. Sitting on the dock of the Bay, the hotel offers access to water sport rentals and sailing tours to provide an extraordinary perspective of San Diego. Along with the diversity that found home in San Diego, the intense energy that the destination acquired offers a remarkably unique experience. Naturally, this energy worked its way into the foundation of the hotel. From the moment of arrival, the hotel is designed to offer a scenic environment with unmatched flexibility and capability. The nautically inspired guest rooms and suites come with an elegant array of amenities and social enabling conveniences. Social travelers seeking something astonishing can choose one of the spacious and well equipped suites for a unique and luxurious home away from home. Reflecting the needs of the world’s social traveler, a great hotel is built with much more than awe-inspiring design. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina enlists a warm, friendly and tenured staff that is connected to the urban energy of downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing