We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Choice, Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Ranked #117 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Choice, Again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We booked two rooms at this hotel. It is very close to SAN so it is convenient picking up guests flying in to visit. Our family was very happy with the hotel, also.

Our rooms were in the Marina Tower. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The balcony was big enough for 2 chairs and a table with extra room to boot. The beds were wonderful. All four of our group raved about the sleep we got after playing tourist all day.

Check-In was a breeze. The lady made sure we had rooms across the hall so we got to see both views from our respective balconies. Also, the concierge recommended three restaurants. He made reservations for us and we were not disappointed. All staff that we came in contact with were friendly, courteous and helpful when needed. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept.

The only drawback that we had was the parking. Since we self-parked, it was a long walk to the gravel parking lot. Also, should we really have to pay $22 per night to park our car in a gravel lot?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfpen66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    1,276
    695
    369
    221
See reviews for
792
868
183
1,288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Attended a 3 day conference here earlier this month. Excellent venue for that purpose--eat, sleep, work all in one place and you can almost walk to it from the airport. It's really to separate hotel buildings united under one name and management. It's about a 5 minute walk along the marina between hotels, and there's a shuttle as well. You can check in at either building, so keep that in mind when you give the cab driver directions. Drawback of this hotel is that you are isolated and will need a car or taxi to get to San Diego's other tourist spots, restaurants, etc. Cab fare to Little Italy was about $12 each way.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Bay Tower, the smaller of the two, and I preferred it. Small, intimate bar and newl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel because my husband was attending a conference and I got to tag along. This hotel is beautifully laid out! The room was comfy but the frig in the room was stocked with the mini bar items and had a sign on it that personal storage of my items was not allowed. I could have requested a second frig but that seemed silly, so I just put my wine on the balcony since it was a bit chilly. I had breakfast in the main dining room twice. I paid $24 for scrambled eggs, bacon, cottage cheese and english muffin with coffee. A bit pricey in my opinion, even though the quality of the food was very good. The pool/jacuzzi area is very pretty! Too cold to swim in the pool but I did use the jacuzzi one night and it was perfect. The gym has top quality equipment! Parking was $22/day and the biggest issue we had was the stupid card machine to get in and out of the lot. The room key is supposed to be swiped to get the lot gate to open and most of the time it didn't work and we had to call for help. Not very efficient! Be warned that this hotel is practically on top of the San Diego Airport, so there is alot of plane noise, despite the double windows. The bar/lounge had a nice variety of appetizers on their menu and lots of TVs with sporting events showing. Honestly, we will not stay there again, because we prefer to stay nearer the Gas Lamp district. I was very glad that we had a rental car! Pretty hotel right on the water, but not near downtown.

Room Tip: Our room 661 overlooked the airport.....so we had the plane noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maui4EverWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
264 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed here for four nights while attending a conference. The room was well appointed and the bed extremely comfortable. The entire place has undergone a recent remodel. The entire facility is first class. It is very close to the airport and there is a regular shuttle service back and forth. The location is a bit isolated. I prefer the hotels near the convention center. Since I had a rental car it was not a problem. Otherwise, any restaurants outside the hotel requre a cab ride.

Room Tip: I stayed on the sixth floor and it was very quiet. Dispite the closeness to the airport, I did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDadrwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I had a great stay. Customer service was excellent. Good location, price, and the grounds were very well kept. I would stay there again. Parking was a bit expensive at $22.00 a day and convenient parking locations were hard to find. Restaurant food was very good. They have a great selection of wine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhateverCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is our second stay at the San Diego Hotel and Marina. It is really our hotel of choice when visiting San Diego. We took a flight out early from the Airport the following morning of our stay and plan to stay again when we come back. The staff is friendly, the rooms are very nice and clean. There is a shuttle to the Airport. We had a wonderful view of the Marina and Harbor Island. During the summer months there is a shuttle for $1 that takes you to downtown San Diego, Petco Field and the Gaslamp District. We also plan to stay there 4th of July 2013 and catch the fireworks.

Mike and Laurie (Rancho Mirage, CA)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here during a business trip in February. Very clean hotel. Kept up to date. Rooms were very neat and clean and filled with natural light on the Marina side. Close to the airport without too much air traffic noise. Downtown is quite a distance from here so if you plan on spending time there, stay closer to downtown. I would recommend the Sheraton Hotel & Marina.

Room Tip: Marina side was great for daytime sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wani0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#120 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Property: The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-1007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Business Hotel in San Diego
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#76 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego has established itself as a destination featuring world class spirit with genuine warmth. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina offers an authentic San Diego experience. Iconic sunsets and a waterfront destination…it’s comfortably upscale without pretense. As an architectural cornerstone positioned at the point of entry into the city - by air or sea - the imposing facade of the hotel reflects an architectural design inspired by the region’s naval influence. In the mid 1800s, city leaders realized the potential of the San Diego Bay and, with the anticipation of the opening of the Panama Canal, the importance of improving the harbor for commerce. Significant modifications were needed to the Bay to accommodate large ships. As a result, Harbor and Shelter Island were developed, as well as much of the land beneath the San Diego International airport. Today’s San Diego has evolved into a place to meet and share inspiration. Overlooking the scenic San Diego Bay and a private marina, the hotel is a place where San Diego soul and contemporary style go hand and hand. A Bayside resort with urban accessibility, the hotel is a waterfront hub connecting you to the destination’s renowned attractions. Ideally located within easy reach, the historic Liberty Station, the waterfront districts of Point Loma, the energy of Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter offer convenient, lively dining and entertainment venues. Amongst exquisite lifestyle decor and a relaxing atmosphere, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reflects a perfect haven for the active lifestyle that is woven deep into the region’s DNA. There are waterside fire pits and three pools - each with a unique personality. But most importantly, the hotel is designed to make best use of San Diego’s average 72 degree year-round sunny weather. Sitting on the dock of the Bay, the hotel offers access to water sport rentals and sailing tours to provide an extraordinary perspective of San Diego. Along with the diversity that found home in San Diego, the intense energy that the destination acquired offers a remarkably unique experience. Naturally, this energy worked its way into the foundation of the hotel. From the moment of arrival, the hotel is designed to offer a scenic environment with unmatched flexibility and capability. The nautically inspired guest rooms and suites come with an elegant array of amenities and social enabling conveniences. Social travelers seeking something astonishing can choose one of the spacious and well equipped suites for a unique and luxurious home away from home. Reflecting the needs of the world’s social traveler, a great hotel is built with much more than awe-inspiring design. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina enlists a warm, friendly and tenured staff that is connected to the urban energy of downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing