We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Ranked #112 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice room”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This Sheraton is located very close to the airport. But in fact we were not woken up by the noise of the airplanes, but by the noise of little kids in the next room, because the walls are quite thin. The room is very nice and new with nice colors. I liked their big pool and the free wifi in the lobby area. Early Check-In was no problem at all!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaDelgado, Front Office Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear familyde,
Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of both our complimentary WiFi in the lobby and resort-style pools. Since 1972, we are San Diego’s most accommodating hotel and we are glad to have lived up to this title with an early check in. Come back and visit us again soon! We would love the opportunity to welcome you back.
Warm Regards,
Laura Bodell
Front Desk Manager
Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,157
    1,318
    719
    389
    230
See reviews for
828
901
187
1,349
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have been at this hotel for 4 days, and have been better served at a Motel 6 than is hotel. We have been mysteriously charged for 'complementary' items, our room keys have been replaced a couple of times but still won't work, the valets wouldn't open the gate for the lot so we had to pay for overnight parking even though we are guests. The water main was severed, so we were without plumbing for a day, and we're given a note to come to the lobby to get water to use. The water wasn't even in bottles so you could take them back to your room, they were in little plastic cocktail cups. The beds are marketed as queen sized beds, but are in fact full sized beds. We have had housecleaning service ONCE since we've been here, they don't replace towels, don't make beds, don't replace the consumables, and you're hard pressed to find someone here to give you what you need. This was the most ridiculous and pathetic hotel stay I have ever had, and wouldn't ever come back.

Room Tip: Save the money, if you want a good hotel, DON'T GO HERE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaDelgado, Front Office Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Liz O,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are truly disappointed to learn of the areas in which we fell short. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the water outage. While the water main line breakage was beyond our control, your observations highlight specific areas where, with a more coordinated approach, we could have minimized the discomforts you experienced. We are interested in connecting with you personally to address some of the other issues which you have mentioned. If you have a moment, please email me at Laura.Bodell@sheraton.com with more details of your stay to further investigate these concerns.
Warm Regards,
Laura Bodell
Front Desk Manager
Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Blue Bell, PA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel is located directly across from San Diego Airport. Great location for an early flight out or if you want to stay by the airport, but also have great views of downtown San Diego. It's just a very short less than ten minute drive from downtown San Diego and the Gaslamp District (can't miss that).

The pool is great and very big. Looks almost like a river. Get a marina view room for the best views of downtown San Diego - amazing nighttime views!

I've ALWAYS gotten very good rates at this hotel. Great place to stay if you can early for a cruise (terminal nearby) of want to take in the Gaslamp District (less the ten minutes away) without playing through the nose. I believe there's a public shuttle to the Gaslamp District (confirm with the valet).

Please note, this hotel charges for outdoor parking.

Please note, this hotel actually has two locations a few blocks from each - the Bay Tower and the Marina Tower. The hotel shuttle stops at both locations, but you'll need to know which tower you're booked into. I stayed at the Marina Tower, I can't comment about the Bay Tower.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaDelgado, Front Office Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear kwtech,
Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to learn that your stay with us this summer was very much enjoyable. We are lucky to have some of the best views in San Diego with the conveniency of being so close to the airport. We hope you will be back for another stay in the near future!
Warm Regards,
Laura Bodell
Front Desk Manager
Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel is right next to the airport easy to get to with their free shuttle bus.Check is easy but can be slow.Travel Desk really helpful.Our room looked out over the marina and was a great view.pool area was great and gym was perfect.We had a great conference.Not many restaurants to choose from.Enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krugerandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaDelgado, Front Office Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear krugerandmore,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be quite accommodating for a conference. With over 200,000 square feet of meeting space, our hotel takes pride in providing smooth and successful conferences for our guests. On a separate note, we are glad you were able to take advantage of our newly remodeled fitness center during your stay. It’s nice to know our efforts in creating a warming and productive environment for our guests have paid off. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future stay.
Warm Regards,
Laura Bodell
Front Desk Manager
Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

After a delayed flight, I was looking forward to some rest at this hotel. No one assisted me with my luggage when I stepped out of the cab. Check-in was almost a thirty minute wait (the people in front of me, at both desks, seemed to be having issues). Room was clean and surprisingly had a good view. However, the bathroom was a bit basic. I was also charged for minibar items that I did not use (corrected afterward). Wi-fi was quick, though, which I guess was a plus. To top it off, though, checkout was impersonal and again, no one helped with my heavy luggage on exit.

You can do better in SD, especially for business.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bd472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaDelgado, Front Office Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear bd472,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. While we are pleased you enjoyed your room, we are disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations elsewhere. We would love the opportunity to speak with you further about the drawbacks you encountered in hopes of ensuring your experience is the exception. Feel free to reach out to us by emailing Laura.Bodell@Sheraton.com with additional details of your stay. Thank you again for your review and we hope to hear from you soon.
Warm Regards,
Laura Bodell
Front Desk Manager
Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Non functional motion sensor in bathroom made lights stay on 24 hrs. Had to unscrew them at night. Spiders in room. Water didn't work right in room. Very overpriced, next to airport with jets screaming overhead. Skip this property and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaDelgado, Front Office Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Scott C,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the maintenance issues you encountered with your room. We would like to be able to correct this immediately. Please feel free to contact me directly at Laura.Bodell@Sheraton.com so I can investigate this further, as we would appreciate the chance to prevent similar events from occurring.
Sincerely,
Laura Bodell
Front Desk Manager
Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

nice rooms, nice bar.......good staff. Rooms are spacious. The bar at teh lobby is a nice place to relax after a whole day meetings.
The bar manager is very nice and personal
The downside: sometimes to crowded with screaming brides and bridemaids.......so if you are on a business trip, make sure you get the comcierge level.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biagioted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#123 of 278 in San Diego
2,549 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#78 of 278 in San Diego
4,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Property: The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-1007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Business Hotel in San Diego
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#76 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego has established itself as a destination featuring world class spirit with genuine warmth. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina offers an authentic San Diego experience. Iconic sunsets and a waterfront destination…it’s comfortably upscale without pretense. As an architectural cornerstone positioned at the point of entry into the city - by air or sea - the imposing facade of the hotel reflects an architectural design inspired by the region’s naval influence. In the mid 1800s, city leaders realized the potential of the San Diego Bay and, with the anticipation of the opening of the Panama Canal, the importance of improving the harbor for commerce. Significant modifications were needed to the Bay to accommodate large ships. As a result, Harbor and Shelter Island were developed, as well as much of the land beneath the San Diego International airport. Today’s San Diego has evolved into a place to meet and share inspiration. Overlooking the scenic San Diego Bay and a private marina, the hotel is a place where San Diego soul and contemporary style go hand and hand. A Bayside resort with urban accessibility, the hotel is a waterfront hub connecting you to the destination’s renowned attractions. Ideally located within easy reach, the historic Liberty Station, the waterfront districts of Point Loma, the energy of Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter offer convenient, lively dining and entertainment venues. Amongst exquisite lifestyle decor and a relaxing atmosphere, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reflects a perfect haven for the active lifestyle that is woven deep into the region’s DNA. There are waterside fire pits and three pools - each with a unique personality. But most importantly, the hotel is designed to make best use of San Diego’s average 72 degree year-round sunny weather. Sitting on the dock of the Bay, the hotel offers access to water sport rentals and sailing tours to provide an extraordinary perspective of San Diego. Along with the diversity that found home in San Diego, the intense energy that the destination acquired offers a remarkably unique experience. Naturally, this energy worked its way into the foundation of the hotel. From the moment of arrival, the hotel is designed to offer a scenic environment with unmatched flexibility and capability. The nautically inspired guest rooms and suites come with an elegant array of amenities and social enabling conveniences. Social travelers seeking something astonishing can choose one of the spacious and well equipped suites for a unique and luxurious home away from home. Reflecting the needs of the world’s social traveler, a great hotel is built with much more than awe-inspiring design. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina enlists a warm, friendly and tenured staff that is connected to the urban energy of downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing