We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best in San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Ranked #113 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Simply the best in San Diego”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

From check-in to check-out, this place is great. Check-in is fast and efficient and personnel are friendly and knowledgeable. Our room was in perfect condition with a beautiful view of the Marina. The food was also excellent and waitstaff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Although the hotel is just across from the airport, there is no noise at all. I have stayed a fair number of nights in this hotel and the service has always been excellent. I really cannot think of anything negative to say about this place. It is really the best place that we have stayed in San Diego and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,156
    1,319
    720
    389
    230
See reviews for
827
901
187
1,351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have stayed at this property in the past and have enjoyed it. So, when we booked this time we looked foward to the hotel and all that it had to offer. We were very surprised upon check-in to learn that we were moved to an "annex" about 1/3 of a mile away. It was a former Ramada Inn that Sheraton had bought and refurbished. It has no restaurant, no bar, no Starwood floor, no Starwood club lounge and a postage sized pool badly in need of rework.
Every question about food and drink or a shuttle downtown resulted in the same answer, "you have to walk about 15 minutes to the Sheraton for that" and walk back.
We paid top dollar for all of the ammenities and enjoyed none. Not a nice way to treat a long time member of the Starwood "loyalty" program.

Room Tip: Insist on the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN: I originally booked this room months ago & called the hotel to specifically reserve a bay view room. I was told absolutely no problem & they supposedly put a note in the system. Upon checking in, the front desk states "We are at capacity & no longer have bay view rooms but we will give you a marina view" Grrrr..
When we arrive in the room, we noticed right away that the couch has white spattered disgusting looking stuff all over it as well as long blonde hairs on it. I call the front desk to complain & they send up a maid with sheets to cover the couch/chair. When the maid places the sheets over the couch she explains to me that those are not stains I am looking at, those are “clean spots where the fabric has faded” BS!! (Look at the attached pictures!)
Not wanting to argue with this woman & feeling stressed already with what was supposed to be a romantic night away from home, I noticed when she left the sheets had stains too & holes in them! The walls had handprints on them. The lamp in room has a clear base, it looked like it had never been cleaned! The drinking glasses were smudged not clean. The cords from snack case were sticking out all on floor. TO TOP IT OFF, it was extremely noisy from other guests very late at night/early morning hours & we could even hear the flushing of toilets from other rooms! This room was over $150 & I've stayed at cleaner $40 rooms in Vegas than this!
PLUS, parking was $22?!! Every time we left the parking lot, we had to wait for the parking attendant to come let us out because our room key would not scan properly on the "automatic gate" & each time we sat there for several minutes waiting for the parking attendant. For this to be considered a 4 star hotel & part of the Sheraton Hotels & Resorts chain, we were extremely unhappy with our stay & actually disgusted. I left feedback to the hotel on Thursday August 9th & I have not heard from anyone from customer service to even apologize for any inconvenience!! Tacky, very tacky! I’ve enclosed pictures I took with my cell phone for your viewing pleasure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank titan0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed with you last year and had quite an enjoyable time. This year however was a different story.

I arrived on Saturday afternoon (by train). When I checked in I was informed that the hotel was overbooked and they placed me in the bay tower building. I had to choice to wait for the shuttle which would be 30 minutes or walk over. I chose to walk over. I arrived at the bay tower and I approached the front desk and the agent that I assisted me looked miserable. Her uniform was stained and she was just leaning on the desk. I asked her since I was there for the 1/2 Marathon if the shuttle would pick me up at this location since I got booted from the hotel I originally booked. She said "no". I asked if there was some sort of discount since I was being moved. She said "no". I then pretty much demanded to be sent back to the hotel that I originally booked. I was not going to walk back to the hotel I originally booked at 5am to catch the shuttle. I was grateful that she moved me back to the other hotel but her facial expressions were not necessary.

I got to my room and I was pleased. It was standard, clean nothing really to complain about. The bathroom needs a little updating though. Beds were comfortable and the balcony was nice to sit out on.

Once we got settled in the room we went to your bar to have lunch. Food was just OK along with the service. At one point in time a waitress dropped dirty silverware on the floor and did not go back to pick it up until 15 minutes later. Ewww.

Back up at the room relaxing on the balcony I phoned down to the concierge to see what time the "Carbo Load" dinner was until. They told me "We are not hosting the event it is the Marathon so I do not know." WOW, really? But it is at your hotel? They told me they would find out and call me back. Within 10 minutes they called me back with the answer.

At the carbo load dinner, I was a little disappointed. Last year it was fresh, yummy and I wanted more. This year it was horrible I only went up once and did not even finish what was on my plate. The restaurant was dirty. Stepped on food on the floor and the service was slow for drinks. I asked the young gentlemen where the gift shop was and he had to go ask if they even had a gift shop.

At the gift shop I purchased a few items. The only thing the cashier said to me was "$13.40" no hello, good night, thank you, nothing. I found that very rude.

After the run I asked if we can have a later check out. They graciously gave me until 12:30 and anything after would be $10.00 an hour. When I called down at 12:30 to let them know I would not be going to the desk to check out but I would be leaving I was told "Thank you because we were about to charge you $10.00." What!?

As I mentioned earlier I came on a train but still was charged for parking. I got that removed. I understand that it was a busy weekend for you but your entire staff seemed like they did not like their job. I did not get a "Welcome" or "Enjoy your stay". The only friend encounter I had was from a housekeep that walked by and said "hello" to me.

I did not enjoy my stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Sheraton. Upon arrival we rented a car to for our drive north, when we reached the hotel we asked if we could just leave the car in front, check in quickly and put our bags up in our room because we wanted to go out an explore. The valet employees were really nice and allowed us to do this. The self -park was $22.00 a night, which we opted for. There is a paved lot and then up the hill a non-paved lot, which we had to park in one night because all of the spots were taken in the paved lot. This was not a big deal to us. Our room was just over the pool area to the left looking out into the marina. The décor was very nautical, which I really liked. The linens were very white, soft and fresh as well. Overall, quite updated and definitely had a beach feel. I also really liked how the room had a small patio with two chairs and a table. The pool area was very nice with an outdoor bar/ restaurant. Although we didn't use them, I really liked the idea of the fire pits where you could sit out and relax at night. The gym was definitely the place to be when I went at 7 a.m. They had towels for you and the equipment was up to date. The Starbucks was also a great ouch, especially in the mornings. Internet is free in the lobby and they provide a handful of computers for their guests, which were never really crowded. Through reading the reviews on Trip Advisor (TA), it seems like there are two separate hotels going on here. The Bay and Marina towers are both part of this Sheraton establishment. It appears, again from reading, that one is more updated and what not. If you are truly concerned about the tower you are in, I would either make sure the room you booked is in the more desirable tower or ask upon arrival that you read that one tower was more up to date on TA and you prefer a room in that one. It can’t hurt to ask and then this way the employee at the reception will know that you are a TA contributor! Overall, I thought this hotel was well located and I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again. Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel is in a pretty location and the lobby is very nice, but the rooms are old and show their age. We stayed in a "deluxe" room with a view of marina. It didn't feel very "deluxe" to me. It was ok, just shabby, and a few things were broken, like the speakerphone by the bed and the drain stopper for the bathtub. We were in town for the AFC half-marathon and I wanted to take a cold bath after the race. Because the bathtub stopper didn't work, we had to stuff it with towels. And hardly any cold water would come out of the faucet, so my boyfriend kept re-filling the ice bucket with water from the sink! It was a little ghetto.

The very tiny balcony had an old metal table a chairs with chipped paint. It didn't feel like the lap of luxury at all.

This hotel was the official hotel of the AFC half-marathon, but you'd almost never know it (except that the race expo was there). The hotel concierge and employees were clueless about the procedure with busing from the hotel to the race start, which was disappointing. I left a message for the concierge asking about the busing procedure and, in response, a copy of the race FAQs was slipped under our door -- which did NOT answer the question I asked in my message. Fortunately, we were able to find the answer elsewhere.

We didn't think the bed was comfortable. I woke up several times during the night and we both complained of backaches.

Self-parking at the hotel is $22 per day. Outrageous. And one of the parking areas is a dirt lot! That is really gouging people.

We ordered room service one night. I had whole wheat penne pasta and prawns, which was ok. My boyfriend had a chicken sandwich, which he said was really good.

Overall, I don't think I'd want to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Sheraton San Diego is so close to the airport that it's extremely easy and simply for a business trip. In addition, every room has resort, ocean views over the beautiful San Diego harbor, so we were able to enjoy our time at the hotel as if we were on a leisure, island vacation. During my trip also had to be in the downtown area a couple of times and the hotel is also very convenient for that.

The service was wonderful. I was the meeting host and I'm pleased to say that the friendly staff delivered on everything. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeleTurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#122 of 278 in San Diego
2,550 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#79 of 278 in San Diego
4,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Property: The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-1007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Business Hotel in San Diego
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#76 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego has established itself as a destination featuring world class spirit with genuine warmth. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina offers an authentic San Diego experience. Iconic sunsets and a waterfront destination…it’s comfortably upscale without pretense. As an architectural cornerstone positioned at the point of entry into the city - by air or sea - the imposing facade of the hotel reflects an architectural design inspired by the region’s naval influence. In the mid 1800s, city leaders realized the potential of the San Diego Bay and, with the anticipation of the opening of the Panama Canal, the importance of improving the harbor for commerce. Significant modifications were needed to the Bay to accommodate large ships. As a result, Harbor and Shelter Island were developed, as well as much of the land beneath the San Diego International airport. Today’s San Diego has evolved into a place to meet and share inspiration. Overlooking the scenic San Diego Bay and a private marina, the hotel is a place where San Diego soul and contemporary style go hand and hand. A Bayside resort with urban accessibility, the hotel is a waterfront hub connecting you to the destination’s renowned attractions. Ideally located within easy reach, the historic Liberty Station, the waterfront districts of Point Loma, the energy of Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter offer convenient, lively dining and entertainment venues. Amongst exquisite lifestyle decor and a relaxing atmosphere, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reflects a perfect haven for the active lifestyle that is woven deep into the region’s DNA. There are waterside fire pits and three pools - each with a unique personality. But most importantly, the hotel is designed to make best use of San Diego’s average 72 degree year-round sunny weather. Sitting on the dock of the Bay, the hotel offers access to water sport rentals and sailing tours to provide an extraordinary perspective of San Diego. Along with the diversity that found home in San Diego, the intense energy that the destination acquired offers a remarkably unique experience. Naturally, this energy worked its way into the foundation of the hotel. From the moment of arrival, the hotel is designed to offer a scenic environment with unmatched flexibility and capability. The nautically inspired guest rooms and suites come with an elegant array of amenities and social enabling conveniences. Social travelers seeking something astonishing can choose one of the spacious and well equipped suites for a unique and luxurious home away from home. Reflecting the needs of the world’s social traveler, a great hotel is built with much more than awe-inspiring design. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina enlists a warm, friendly and tenured staff that is connected to the urban energy of downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing