We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“New Years Eve Weekend Debacle” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Vacation Club Pulse San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse San Diego
Ranked #161 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New Years Eve Weekend Debacle”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were attracted to the location of this hotel, just on the outskirts of the Gaslamp neighborhood in San Diego. There was easy access to many of the awesome things to do in one of our favorite cities. Coronado was a 10 minute drive, Balboa Park was within a mile. We weren't let down by any of this.

As a family of five, the two double beds and one couch bed seemed like they were perfect for all of us to sleep comfortably. The price was not ridiculous and we assumed this was a great value.

We were unimpressed with what we found upon our arrival. Stained carpets in the hall way. A broken toilet paper roll holder in the bathroom. Stains on the furniture within our room. Nothing that made the experience horrible, but definitely not what we had come to expect in a Sheraton, especially not on the Starwood Preferred Level.

After two days of mediocre service (housekeeping forgot to leave us coffee the first night, we had to ask for extra towels each of the first two days because apparently two towels is enough for a room that sleeps five people, etc) we had to call the front desk twice in the middle of the night on New Years Eve (3:00 AM and 3:30 AM) as a load of Neanderthals hooted and hollered and made noises one would expect to hear at a football game.

The front desk staff was courteous. The valets were great... But we are never staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffaugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSuitesSD, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse San Diego, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
While we’re happy to learn that our location worked out so well for your stay, we deeply regret any inconveniences or noise disruptions that impacted your valued time with us. It’s disappointing that your suite was not at its best upon your arrival and we understand any frustrations at this time. Though your feedback is always welcome and appreciated, we regret that you felt we did not live up the high standards of the Sheraton brand and we hope you’ll allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to fully impress you in all areas. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    544
    415
    261
    203
See reviews for
496
494
133
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed at Sheraton Suites for 7 nights in December. From the first moment I got there I was welcomed by great staff. In fact all the staff I interacted with were extremely helpful and pleasant. I was given a room facing north (I think....got a little turned around in the city), but had a great view. Mountains in the distance and a lovely cityscape. Yes, because the airport is nearby, there are times when there are a lot of planes landing - but to be honest the noise was not an issue unless I opened the window.

The room was ideal. Basically a living room, a bed room and a large bathroom. The bed was incredibly comfortable and I'm not sure what the duvet/comforter they use but it was fantastically warm. I could have had a fridge in the room had I asked, but it turned out not to be necessary. There was a microwave and coffee maker with Starbucks teas and coffees. They also offer an option of skipping a day of housekeeping and in exchange you get either $5 off at the restaurant/bar or 500 membership points. What a fantastic, and environmentally friendly deal! Needless to say I had discounts on 2 delicious meals in the restaurant. The breakfast buffet is fantastic.

The hotel's location, with the exception of the ridiculous hill it's located on, is perfect for getting around. Take into consideration that the San Diego bus system is not the most reliable in terms of timing. Less than a 10 minute walk to downtown, 20-30 minutes of meandering and you can be at the harbor. The Zoo is a 2 minute walk to the bus stop, followed by a few minutes on the bus.

One thing that is a bit annoying is some of the extra charges. $11.95 per day for wifi. I know there are other hotels that have similar prices - but there are A LOT that don't charge for it (including Palomar hotels all the way down to Super 8). I realize free internet in the lobby is available...but not when you're in your pajamas.

San Diego is a great city and this is a great hotel. I will certainly stay again if I'm in San Diego.

Room Tip: Try to get one facing Ash street to get a view of the city and skyline as opposed to a view of the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahz911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSuitesSD, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse San Diego, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
It seems like you truly made the most out of your stay! We are thrilled to learn that your experience with us has inspired a return visit and greatly appreciate you sharing a thorough review for our future guests. Though it’s disappointing that you didn’t find our complimentary Internet in our lobby to be a convenient alternative, we greatly appreciate the feedback that you’ve shared. We are glad that you enjoyed a cozy night’s rest in our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed and look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Suites San Diego at Symphony Hall. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Great staff and services. Receptionist was super nice and knowledgable. We felt very pleasant
Hotel has good views. We stayed on the top floor clubroom and were able to enjoy both the city and the ocean views.
The breakfast is also very tasty. It has lots of selections and on top of that there are also made-to-order dishes.
Overall, we were very satisfied with the place compared to other places we had stayed in SD.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hieu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSuitesSD, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse San Diego, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
First, we would like to express our sincerest thank you for your kind comments regarding the customer service that you received. It's always a pleasure to learn about our guests' experience with us, especially when they mention how friendly our staff members were during a stay. We hope we get the pleasure to welcome you back to the Sheraton Suites San Diego at Symphony Hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCDONOUGH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We were here for four days. The lobby was beautiful! Very clean with awesome staff team. The lobby was on the 12th floor which I find it kind of odd. The room itself needed updated doors (they had sliding doors), new furnitures, updated decors, and just an overall upgrade on all their rooms. I do want to mention that parking can be from $26-30 per day depending if you self park or valet. I find that quite expensive. Don't forget to include your $26++++ to your stay per night. It can add up quick. Also, wifi is extra $11.95 per day, but we got a deal with our stay. All the staff are helpful and wonderful! Need up-to-date rooms for the price I'm paying. :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KATHY N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSuitesSD, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse San Diego, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We highly value all of the feedback that we receive from our guests and greatly appreciate that you've shared your impressions with us. For any inconveniences that you encountered during your stay, we apologize and hope you'll be able to take advantage of our complimentary wireless Internet in our lobby during a future visit. Thank you for sharing your perspective and we hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton Suites San Diego at Symphony Hall in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I frequently stay at the Sheraton Suites and I have to say in addition to the comfort and and
peace and quiet,the front desk staff and van drivers go out of their way to assist whenever I
need information or a ride somewhere in the area. Keep up the great service!

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skygoddessFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSuitesSD, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse San Diego, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Our sincerest thanks for sharing your kind comments regarding the customer service that you received. We'll certainly pass along your review to our staff so they know how much their efforts were appreciated. The next time you are in the area, we hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton Suites San Diego at Symphony Hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are small for a suite hotel. Tube television in the bedroom. Property sorely needs renovation - wallpaper is peeling, things broken. Staff are friendly and helpful thou, except for valets, who did nothing to acknowledge my various comings and goings. Just because I wasn't driving, I shouldn't have been ignored by people at the front door. I usually stay at the W or the Westin Gaslamp but I wanted to try something new and learned my lesson.

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSuitesSD, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse San Diego, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We appreciate that you chose to stay with us at the Sheraton Suites San Diego at Symphony Hall though we regret to learn that you felt your expectations weren't met. We highly value all of the feedback that we receive and truly appreciate that you've taken a moment to share your perspective with us. Thank you for your review and we hope that you'll allow us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I chose this hotel because of the tripadvisor reviews, but wow, what a mistake. Our room was quite small with a view of a wall. In fact, the room was so small that the bedroom door could not fit around the bed to close (disappointing because I booked a suite to be able to watch tv away from my sleeping kid). The bedroom tv (tube) almost fell off its stand when we tried to turn it, and the minibar looks like it hasn't been touched (or cleaned) since about 1983. I can deal with all of that, but the room was DIRTY. There were M&Ms on the floor (we haven't eaten any so they aren't from us) and the toilet has brown drips on the lid and seat. I am choosing to believe it's coffee because I can't bear to consider the other choice. The restaurant is horribly overpriced, the food is uninspired, and service is dismal. Not the worst hotel I've ever stayed in, but very close.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSuitesSD, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse San Diego, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We would first like to thank you for addressing these concerns with us and deeply regret that our suite was not in the best condition upon your arrival. Please rest assured that the head of our housekeeping department will be reading over this review, as we never want our guests to endure any inconveniences during a visit. We are truly disappointed to learn that your expectations weren’t met and that you felt we did not live up to the high standards that we strive for. As the necessary improvements are made, we hope you’ll allow us the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#101 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,731 reviews
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#86 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#16 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse San Diego

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse San Diego
Address: 701 A St, San Diego, CA 92101-4611 (Formerly Declan Suites San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites San Diego Hotel San Diego
Sheraton Hotel San Diego
Sheraton San Diego
San Diego Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing