We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #170 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“great value good location”
Reviewed August 3, 2009

we stayed here for the last 2 nights of our stay in USA. we were coming from a more expensive beach hotel and wanted something a bit cheaper and more central. we were offered a last minute price of around $97 which was amoungst the cheapest of our hotels during 3 weeks in USA. we were not disappointed. we arrived early, and the receptionist who was a very charming young man offered us breakfast while we were waiting for our room. the room was lovely, very spacious with fridge and coffee maker (which was changed immediately when I told them it wasn't working properly) kingsize bed with very soft sheets (unknown in europe!) dining table and chairs. the hotel had free parking and wi-fi. we were very central for places we wanted to go to, and the hotel staff were very helpful with directions. my boyfriend wanted to go to a gym on the first evening, and when we asked if there was one nearby, the hotel sent us to a private gym courtesy of the hotel, which made the price-quality of the hotel even better. the breakfast in the morning was complimentary with lots of cake, fruit, juice, toast etc, not much space to eat it, but you could take it to your room if you wanted. we were very happy to have changed from the more expensive beach hotel, and spent the 2 afternoons on the beach at coronado island, easy to get to from the hotel. very satisfied! great deal! other reviews complained about hearing the neighbours but we didn't. I also find that that sort of problem tends to be the fault of the other travellers rather than the hotels concerned!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serena99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2009
We are very gratified to hear that you enjoyed your stay. With free breakfast, free parking, free wi-fi, and a microwave and fridge in every room, we aim to provide outstanding value for your travel dollar. Moreover, each member of our staff makes every effort to make your stay as pleasurable as possible.

We hope that you will remember us for a future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    151
    118
    53
    31
See reviews for
127
97
26
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We only stayed one night at this hotel. It was the first stop on a ten day trip from San Diego to SF. The staff was great. Very nice and helpful. The room was clean and the bed was comfy.

We would probably stay here again as long as we had a car.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank twink62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2009
Thank you very much for your kind words about our staff. Our staff prides itself on attending to each guest's needs to make their stay as comfortable as possible.

We also go to great lengths to ensure the cleanliness of every room, and we are constantly evaluating our furniture and amenities for periodic refurbishment.

We hope that you will stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

The location was okay for my trip. That was a good thing. The downside was the hotel was old. The walls were thin. Saw lack of security here. People hanging around the cars all night long. Asked for an escort to my car. Desk said sorry.

I am coming back to San Diego in 5 months. My client suggested I meet them here again. This trip the room rate I paid was $149. In 5 months I checked multiple travel sites and all of them show the room rate increases to 10 THOUSAND DOLLARS for ONE NIGHT. I want to rent a room and not refurbish the room, which by the way could use some sprucing up. By the way, this is downtown and not even near the beach. For $10,000 a night i wonder what they were smoking?

Overall the place was good to try once. I told client I'll meet them in LaJolla and somewhere near the beach for that money.

Would I recommend this place to someone. Let me say I would stay in a Motel 6 before I stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turtle_travels_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2009
We apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Requests for a security escort are quite rare for us, and if the front desk personnel was attending to guests in the lobby, it may have been difficult for him to comply with your request. As for the condition of our rooms, we are constantly evaluating our rooms for refurbishment, which in large part explains how our property has received the Chairman's Award from Days Inn several years running.

Finally, with respect to $10,000/night room rates, we suspect that what you saw was some sort of computer glitch. Perhaps you were searching for dates where rates have not yet been established. In any case, we can assure you that we monitor rates very carefully, and $10,000/night has never been the prevailing rate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

HoLLywooD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Price was okay , rooms are LArge and clean, carpet OK, heater OK, TV Refrig CoffeeMaker 8 out 10

!!!TOWELS!!!! OLD AND NOT VERY SOFT RATING 1 OUT 10.
You can hear whats going on next room because wall was soooo thin

Front desk guy was very nice and cute :-)
AND THEY HAVE FREE BREAKFAST ))) UMMM 5 OUT 10 NOTHING SPECIAL...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollywoodCAguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2009
Thank you very much for your feedback. While we endeavor to make each guest's stay as enjoyable as possible, noise complaints are always a function of adjacent guests. If a guest is troubled by what they believe to be excessive noise, we always ask that they address it with our friendly front desk staff, and we will make every effort to mitigate the issue.

As for the towels, we appreciate your comments, and will continue to inspect our inventory and replace items as necessary.

Our front desk staff prides itself on being helpful and friendly, and it was nice of you to single them out for praise.

Thank you very much for your comments, and we hope to see you on a future visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2009

Was questioning my selection after reading mixed reviews' overall for the price of the one night I stayed I couldn't have asked for more. The room seemed to be recently updated and was located convenient to the freeway. Negatives were thin walls- could hear the folks next door doing their business, the continental breakfast wasn't too great, bathroom was very small- also, if you don't like the sink to be outside the bathroom- you won't like this.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasidetraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, February 20, 2009
Thank you for staying with us. As you know, noise complaints are mostly a function of the guests in adjacent rooms. We certainly endeavor to make each guest's stay as comfortable as possible.

We are constantly evaluating our continental breakfast offerings, and we do value your comments. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2009

For the price, it has decent ammenities - free breakfast and internet. Rooms aren't bad. Good location to downtown, but not very close to the convention center - about 1/2 mile.

The location and price attracts groups of young partiers, and unfortunately the floors and walls are very thin. If you need to sleep, ask to be put on the top floor. Both weekend nights I was awakened numerous times heavy-footed guests above and then by a group of partiers next door. I am exhausted and it was not a restful stay.

  • Liked — price, front desk staff, free breakfast and internet
  • Disliked — noisy, thin walls and ceiling
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank allisonandjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, February 20, 2009
Thank you for staying with us. As you know, noise complaints are mostly a function of the guests in adjacent rooms. We certainly endeavor to make each guest's stay as comfortable as possible.

We appreciate your comments, and hope that you will choose our property again for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
#203 of 278 in San Diego
214 reviews
Downtown
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#69 of 278 in San Diego
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 833 Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Diego Downtown/ Hotel San Diego
San Diego Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing