We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“San Diego Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #177 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    119
    89
    43
    24
See reviews for
97
73
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erial
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

At check in, I questioned the front desk agent why my card was authorized in advance for both my room for two nights as well as colleagues - Almost 500.00 in authorizations. I asked if that was a a Wyndham policy or solely Days Inn. He went on to tell me about the hotel needing to protect itself again people who supply bad credit cards, etc. I proceeded to tell him that I have never had that happen with any other hotels I have stayed at. He proceeded to argue with me when I continued to question him and express my dissatisfaction. My card was only used to guarantee the rooms and I check in appropriately and was not a "no-show". In fact, my colleague used her card to pay for all nights for both rooms. The agent told me not to worry as it was only an authorization and it would fall off my card- not the point - Your hotel tied up 500.00 of my credit line that I was unable to use for other travel expenses. I checked out on Monday 8/4 and in fact, the hold did not come off of my card until Thursday 8/7. In essence you tied up that amount on my card from the day before my arrival - 8/1 until 8/7. This is not a policy that envokes outstanding guest service. I do understand, trust me, that the hotel needs to protect itself financially, but at the risk of chasing guests away? Guest always change their form of payment at check out and they should have that option without worrying about tying up all of their credit on two different cards, especially if they have a longer stay and room bill. If I wanted to pay for the room up front I would have went on line to an OTA and paid a cheaper price for the room. Furthermore, I did not see anywhere (and maybe I missed it) when I booked the room that my card would be pre-authorized for the total room and tax prior to my arrival - if so, I would probably not have booked this hotel. The only information I saw was that my card would be charged if I did not cancel per the cancellation policy.

The hotel is unfortunately tired and the staff overall was not very friendly. The wireless was down most of the time and never was repaired before I checked out on Monday morning. While the room was tired and dated, I do want to give housekeeping credit for delivering a clean room - I really appreciate that.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
We are sorry that your stay was less than satisfactory. Your use of the term "OTA" suggests a deeper understanding of the travel industry than most, as many would not know that OTA is the acronym for Online Travel Agent. While we could argue the merits of booking directly (guaranteed lowest rate, pay when you stay, Wyndham Reward points, best cancellation policy) versus an OTA reservation (pay up front, often times to cancellation allowed, no Wyndham Reward points), given the tens of thousands of guests we serve each year, yours is the first complaint regarding our billing practices. It goes without saying that many, if not most, other properties employ the same procedure.

We do appreciate your business, and hope that we see you again the next time you visit San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heber City
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights. Price was right for what we got. Breakfast was normal continental breakfast minus the hot waffles. Room was clean and front desk was very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jacob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We especially appreciate your comments as they pertain to value, cleanliness, and our helpful front desk staff. Our entire staff prides itself on creating a relaxing and comfortable atmosphere for every guest.

We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to San Diego. And remember, always book directly at daysinn.com or by calling 619-239-2285 to get the best rate, best cancellation policy, and Wyndham Reward points!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is a very run-down, very old MOTEL and I was embarrassed to stay there this time. We paid $135/night PLUS $15 parking. Pros: Nice beds & free basic breakfast. Great staff and everything is spotlessly clean. (Shout-out to Housekeeping!) Cons: It's on a super-steep hill with awkward in & out in their tiny parking lot with only ONE entrance. They never used to charge for parking, which made it a nice bargain, since you sacrificed staying somewhere nice. Their standard answer is "every hotel in downtown S.D. charges for parking." (But other hotels are real hotels -- and I resent paying for parking at ANY hotel, frankly. Ludicrous! Shame on Marriott. They started this wretched rip-off.) This motel is also next to NOTHING. You can't walk to a restaurant or buy a bottle of water nearby. I also don't recall it being by a fire station, but there were sirens nonstop. We won't be back.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. While we always appreciate seeing repeat guests, your review leaves us a little confused. We do appreciate you noting our helpful front desk staff and excellent housekeeping. Friendly service and spotless rooms are the foundation for any quality property. We have continually strived to improve our guest experience, and your positive comments regarding the comfort of our pillow top mattresses seems to validate these efforts.

Most of the negative remarks seem to stem from your frustration over paying for parking at ANY property, not just ours. We were probably the last holdout in the downtown area to start charging for parking, and we make a conscience effort to offer the lowest daily rate of any downtown property. In addition, not only are several restaurants and a convenience store within easy walking distance, we actually sell bottled water at the front desk for the convenience of our guests.

While your review states that you will not be coming back, we hope that this response to your review will convince you otherwise. And remember, always book directly at daysinn.com or by calling 619-239-2285 to get the best rate, best cancellation policy, and Wyndham Reward points!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We have stayed at Days Inn for a number of years when attending a Padres' game. Staff have always been pleasant, but the last 2 times breakfast has been lacking in quality. Paying to park has become an irritation personally.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Phillip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your continued patronage! We especially like seeing familiar faces year after year. We hope that you noticed the new flat screen TVs as well as some of the other enhancements we have made over the years.

As it pertains to the breakfast, we do apologize if it did not meet your satisfaction. The Days Inn brand is continually evaluating the breakfast menu, hoping to find the right combination. As for the parking, every single downtown hotel charges for parking, and we strive to offer the lowest daily parking rate in the area.

Thanks once again for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit San Diego. And remember, always book directly at daysinn.com or by calling 619-239-2285 to get the best rate, best cancellation policy, and Wyndham Reward points!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
#186 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 833 Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Diego Downtown/ Hotel San Diego
San Diego Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing