We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are very small. Over priced for what you get.The beds...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #169 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Rooms are very small. Over priced for what you get.The beds are very uncomfortable with bad pillows. Not able to sleep well at all. We were nailed with $80+ in extra fees. No deal here. My family and I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us. We are disappointed any time a guest does not enjoy his or her stay. We are somewhat puzzled by the comment regarding extra fees, as we offer many free amenities (breakfast, wi-fi, refrigerator, microwave) that other hotels either charge for or don't even offer. Moreover, all of our rooms recently received new pillowtop mattresses, but we realize that individual opinions can certainly differ.

Once again, we apologize that your stay was not satisfactory. Rest assured that your comments will be considered by our staff and management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 440 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Mario S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in San Diego for one night and it was absolutely worth what we paid for. The location is close to downtown and also to the highway. We had a great stay. Only negative remark was the parking fee of $15. Even though it was mentioned at the booking, we thought it was fairly expensive, since almost nobody arrives by bike or public transit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissDutch-Express
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We strive to provide a quality guest experience to everyone who stays with us, and value is a big part of that equation. Our location is also a big plus, putting you close to so many of San Diego's best attractions.

You may be surprised to find out that a great number of our guests arrive without a car, particularly those attending conventions. Moreover, we continue to offer the lowest per night parking fee in the downtown area, where every property charges for parking.

We look forward to hosting you again the next time you visit San Diego. And remember, always book direct at daysinn.com for the best rate and cancellation policy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Every time I go to San Diego I stay at this days inn! I have a physical disability and they treated me with up most respect! When needed information on anything they were very helpful! Very kind staff! The rooms are very nice! Was a little paranoid of the elevator haha but it's cool! Not like the quake happened when we were in it lol! Thanks days inn for your hospitality see u again next time

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlingBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Wow! We can't say much more in response to your review. We are always gratified to hear from a guest who experienced exceptional service. Our staff is known for going the extra mile, and we are glad that you noticed.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future. And remember, always book directly at daysinn.com for the best rate and cancellation policy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The receptonist was threatening us to give up our room because we had some trouble with the card (foreign bank issue) that was used to book the room. The only thing that he had to do is ask us to give him another debit card or to process the payment again but no he was just threatening us to give the room to other clients! He told us to go somewhere else if we weren't happy with the service.... It was the 4th of July week end, all the other hotels were booked at that time!!! Really bad experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoirelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you very much for submitting your review. As you can tell, we take guest comments, both positive and negative, very seriously. In this vein, I would ask that you call 619-239-2285 to speak with out General Manager, Shawn Young. We would greatly appreciate hearing more about this matter so that we can do our own investigation. Like many hotels, we have security cameras in our lobby and elsewhere, and they can be very helpful as a training tool for us to review situations like you have described. To be perfectly frank, many times what is written on Trip Advisor for the world to see is far from reality when we view the video. Again, we are not discounting your comment out of hand. Instead, we are asking for more information so that we may fully investigate your comments.

We look forward to hearing from you soon. As you can see from the many other Trip Advisor reviews posted, guest service is typically an area of praise for our property, which is why we are asking for more information. Thanks once again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#67 of 278 in San Diego
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 833 Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $91 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Diego Downtown/ Hotel San Diego
San Diego Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing