We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unethical Booking” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #173 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unethical Booking”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I booked this hotel on november 17th and cancelled the two rooms on november 20th, and they claimed that they do not have my cancellation and charged me for the two rooms. They never sent me a confirmation email so they knew I cancelled the booking, but they wont give me my money back. Do not book this hotel they are very uncaring and unethical!

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yajni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We are sorry to hear about your difficulties. Absent a confirmation number for the cancellation, We hope that you can appreciate our difficult situation. We hold rooms based on the reservations we have on file. When we do not receive a valid cancellation within the allotted cancellation time frame, we have no option but to refrain from re-renting the room.

Assuming you have a valid cancellation number, I invite you to contact us at 619-239-2285 and ask to speak with the General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    131
    106
    49
    27
See reviews for
108
86
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

It's a good hotel if you're on a budget in San Diego, there's a fridge and a microwave, a safe, iron + board, and several other amenities at the hotel. The location is not bad, about a mile and a half from the marina and the convention center, which means that you can get there in 5 minutes with a 5/6$ cab ride if you're in a hurry or in 15/20 minutes on foot. Don't get your hopes high on the breakfast, it's really a joke, but for the price... they also charge $15 for parking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f64CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your thoughtful review. Nowadays, more than ever, price is a main consideration for every guest. That said, we like to think more in terms of value. When you compare our property with those in the surrounding area, we believe that we offer an unbeatable combination of comfort, value, and location. Amenities which are either unavailable (refrigerator and microwave) or at an additional cost (wi-fi, continental breakfast) at other properties are included at no charge. Moreover, our staff prides itself on making sure every guest thoroughly enjoys their stay.

We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was quite a suprise for what I was paying. It is in a close location to downtown, walkable to everywhere, 3 blocks to transit. The lobby is small however the greeting is large! Very customer oriented greeting and easy check in and out. Computer (2) in the lobby one with printer, great for boarding passes!

The rooms are exterior hallways, but the rooms are quiet. Well appointed furnishings, lots of pillows, and amenity basket. Rooms have bar type fridge, microwave, and safe. Even a "Clean Remote " for the tv, that is easily disinfected for your arrival.

The continental breakfast is a good selection of pastry's, fruit, warm and cold cereals, yogurts, teas and coffee. Good to get you on with your day!

Parking is available in the interior courtyard, for a fee.

Good deal and yes they will match online booking deals, when you reference the competition.

Only suggestion would be for the hotel to add recycling bins, and a sloped entrance from the parking are to the main entrance, a bit of a limitation for those with mobility issues.

Over all, well done Days Inn! Thanks!

Room Tip: Ask for quite side, away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aviatorstarboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your thorough and thoughtful review. It is particularly gratifying to receive positive comments from an experienced traveler. We pride ourselves on making each guest feel welcomed, and to ensure each guest has a memorable experience.

Thanks for pointing out the effort our wonderful staff makes each and every day. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMSTERDAM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Location is in City Center at close walking distance of Broadway and several buses as well as Balboa Park. Service good, rooms large and clean. Beds are awesome, internet is fast. Breakfast is basic continental. All and all a decent stay that I can recommend

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank ARNEAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, and for your thoughtful review. With so many of our guests traveling a great distance before arriving in San Diego, we really do strive to make each guest feel at home. Pillowtop mattresses in every room is just one of the ways we try to make everyone comfortable. Fast internet service, friendly and efficient hotel personnel, and a good breakfast make all the difference. We are also glad to hear that you took advantage of our convenient location to many of San Diego's best attractions.

Please stay with us again the next time you visit San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is an older hotel that has been completely redone inside with one exception (no flat screen tv). Bed super comfortable, very clean, shower hot and powerful, nice desk and vanity areas, fridge, microwave, iron, even complementary water and snacks. I recommend the 4th floor rooms with the balconies. The continental breakfast (6-9:30) was fine and the staff tries hard to please. We walked to a lot of places - Balboa Park, Little Italy, Gas Lamp and the convention center which is a mile away. The immediate neighborhood is a little sketchy but the homeless are not aggressive. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cubiclegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for submitting your review. As it turns out, we are slowly replacing our TVs with flat screens, but it will take some time to reach every room. As you so astutely pointed out, we provide a whole host of amenities which are either unavailable or cost extra at so-called "full-service" hotels. Between free Wi-Fi, free breakfast, microwave ovens and refrigerators in every room, to niceties like iron boards and irons, we strive to provide an unparalleled value to each guest.

Thanks also for singling out our helpful staff. Each member of our team is committing to making every guest's stay as pleasureable as possible. Finally, we are happy that you were able to take advantage of our easy walking distance to many San Diego attractions.

Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
#202 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 833 Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Diego Downtown/ Hotel San Diego
San Diego Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing