We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian Food”
Review of Mamma Mia

Mamma Mia
Ranked #934 of 4,753 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Italian Food”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I was looking online to find a place to have dinner near where we were staying. I found this place at with several good reviews on the food, it sounded like a place to try. I was just a table of one that night. They seated my right away and gave me the menu to look over, but it took a long time for them to come back and take my order (about 15 minutes). After that though the food I ordered was very good and came out fairly quick. I had the risotto with scallops and a bowl of pumpkin soup. I would go there again next time I happen to be in town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
greeneyes67
Level Contributor
83 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, so-so service”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

If I were rating this place just for the food, I would have given it a "very good", but I had to factor in the service. We went for lunch & were one of only 4 tables seated in the entire restaurant. The server told us to sit wherever we wanted then left us sitting for ten minutes. No menus, nothing. I finally went & got us menus. We finally ordered... We both got salads, the dressing is wonderful with a very fruity olive oil & shared the vegetarian bruschetta. The bruschetta was good with a smoky melted mozzarella. Now through the entire meal the server was absent. He dropped the food & then the next time we saw him he dropped the check. Not only was he not around much, but also when he was, he was not friendly.
Too bad service was so bad because this is a cute place with good food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greeneyes67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO,CA
Level Contributor
281 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food in San Diego”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Located in Pacific Beach, on Balboa Ave finds a cute little eatery run by an Italian lady who cooks like Mamma did years ago. I had the ravioli in cream sauce with ham and mushrooms that was very, very good. Menu is limited mostly pizza and a few pasta dishes, no chicken or fish, however the home cooking that you enjoy makes up for the limited menu. I would recommend that you stop by, parking is very limited to the street on a busy Balboa Ave, but off hours should allow you to park out front.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHERLOCKSanDiego_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“delicious pizza”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Really yummy italian pizza (dixit by an italian!)
very close to Campland on the bay (walking distance).
Has a nice wine room with nice decorations.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Valy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
163 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in San Diego”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Delicious, authentic, creative Italian food in a charming setting, with very friendly service. We enjoyed gnocchi, spinach tortelloni and risotto. Portions are large. It was very pleasant to sit on the front patio for our meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KatrinaPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Mia also viewed

 

Been to Mamma Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing