We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Italian food in San Diego”
Review of Mamma Mia

Mamma Mia
Ranked #934 of 4,753 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
PA
Level Contributor
163 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in San Diego”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Delicious, authentic, creative Italian food in a charming setting, with very friendly service. We enjoyed gnocchi, spinach tortelloni and risotto. Portions are large. It was very pleasant to sit on the front patio for our meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KatrinaPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Run Lola run away from here”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

When I read the yelp reviews of this place talking about how good the cheese gnocchi is... I wonder...hmmmm isn't cheese quesadilla awesome too...what's common between the two? Ah yes, it's the cheese. Seriously you will be better off if you went to seven eleven next door and had a hot dog, terrible service, average food and pinch in my pocket that is turning into a big red mark because I did not get value for my money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Yahootravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fieldbrook, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ask for Extra Garlic”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great food! Ask for extra garlic on your pesto! It was delicious!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MollyBits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Italian Restaurant In San Diego”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Mamma Mia is by far the best Italian restaurant I've been to. The small quaint rooms are romantic, yet casual and comfortable. The wait staff are all from Italy and France which makes for interesting conversations. The food is tremendously, out of this world delicious, we love everything we’ve had and can’t wait to try all the other dishes. A few of my choice pics would be: appetizer – Panzerottini al Crudo, main dish: any of their Gnocchi and Risoto, Tagliata Lobby and Agnello all Pizzaiola, desert: any of the Gelato. Be prepared to stay a while, the wait staff is usually busy and not terribly concerned if you’re on a time crunch. Order a bottle of wine, sit back, relax and enjoy the rumblings of Italians cooking in the kitchen and delve into the best Italian food San Diego has to offer.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Looking for some yummy Italian food in San Diego, we came across Mamma Mia. It's a pretty small "hole in the wall" place. We were promptly greeted by a young man with a thick Italian accent who showed us to our table. It kind of felt like we were in someone's house by the decor (a lot of pictures of, I'm assuming, the owner's family, and by the way the workers were interacting with one another. We noticed they didn't have a kids menu (we have a 6 year old) but they did have a Piatto Bambino (small plate of pasta for kids). They also had a large pizza menu that would have worked too.
We ended up ordering the Della Casa bruschette to start. The tomatoes were ripe and the bruschette was crispy and garlicky. I ordered the Gnocchi Gratinati. The gnocchi was soft and tender without being mushy. It was served in an Alfredo type sauce that had sage in it. The gnocchi was then put on top of a pizza dough topped with asiago cheese then baked until golden and bubbly. Very rich and delicious!! My husband ordered the gnocchi special which was served in a diavolo (spicy tomato) sauce. Also very delicious. My daughter had the kids pasta and she loved it. We also ordered the Tiramisu for dessert. Some of the best tiramisu we've had. It had great flavor and was thick and dense.
The price wasn't too bad, especially since the portions were generous. If we ever make it back to San Diego, we will be stopping at Mamma Mia!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 73Lulu79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Mia also viewed

 

Been to Mamma Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing