We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
Ranked #137 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
hk
Level Contributor
95 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I got this room in last minute online, price is US$116+tax, its a good price. Located near airport, free parking if you got a car. The room are very nice and well kept. Clean and neat, good design and decor. Got a coffee machine, and serve you Starbucks coffee ( taste rather flat better with 2 packs ). Staff are friendly and helpful.

One advise, don't touch the fridge. Open the fridge is OK, but don't touch any drinks in the fridge, its got that sensor built in, once you touched the item, they will bill you. Even you just take a look and put back at the original place, it will be too late. Good luck!

Rest of the hotel is nice and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor for better view, and get a room facing the water front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turhanwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    274
    156
    62
    62
See reviews for
217
176
45
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Covina, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were greeted by the friendliest staff and throughout our 2 night stay they were always sure to say hi, even Go Broncos!! by a couple of the staff. Overall, very clean, but for me, the pillows were a bit too soft but I didn't bother to get them changed out. The biggest disappointment was their restaurant/lounge/bar/who knows what they were thinking. The area was confusing and vacant. We went down for a beer and only stayed for one which usually if there is sports on the TV, other patrons and an engaging staff we would have stayed for a couple more, none of that existed. We would have gone back and celebrated the Broncos win but there wasn't a reason to. I guarantee if they would upgrade and update that area to more of a bar and restaurant they would get a ton more business (I won't name a hotel near by who in my opinion has nailed that concept). Overall, we would go back, the super friendly staff and cleanliness of the facility over shadows their lack of eating/drinking accommodations.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad K, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
On behalf of the Sheraton Mission Valley, we'd like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! We appreciate the feedback as we continue to strive for improvement. We look forward for your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

we checked in pretty late, exhausted, but the front desk staff was so friendly and was able to make interesting conversation to lift my mood. they were very thankful to welcome us as spg gold member.
we were upgrade to a suite, huge room. our daughter was so happy.
location was great! there's a a couple of shopping centers across the freeway you can find everything you need. close to the zoo and sea parks
breakfast room service was also nice and tasty
my favorite part is how the hotel's incentive to guest if they choose to waive the daily cleaning service, we are free to choose option either restaurant discounts and mini marts or to have extra 250 (or 500 i forgot) to our spg account. we opted to collect the points.
overall we truly enjoyed our stay and will recommend to anyone traveling to san diego

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farahdina23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad K, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
On behalf of the Sheraton Mission Valley, we'd like to thank you for taking the time to write a great review of our hotel! We appreciate the feedback and look forward for your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Directly on the service road south of I-8, just east of 163 but west of I-15. Lobby was welcoming. Front desk staff accomodated an early hour-early check-in. Gave me a room on 11 (an SPG floor), however it was only half-cleaned, and I noticed it was connecting. They then gave me a room on the 9th floor (all 11th floor rooms were connecting). The rooms on this non-SPG floor were not as nice. I'm not exactly sure about the "recent renovation" mentioned in manager responses - the window drapes were already frayed. The beds were comfortable. The grout between the shower tiles was already getting discolored/moldy.

Wireless and parking were included in my rate, but I understand there may be separate charges for these items depending on your rate. Wireless went down a couple of times, so not the best. Driving to and from the hotel was OK once you get the hang of it - locating by the highway makes it difficult and not intuitive sometimes, taking a "practice run" around the neighborhood when you first get this is not a bad idea. Heat and A/C worked well. Windows open a crack.

Picure of the pool is accurate, I guess. It's more like an oasis within a huge parking lot that circles the hotel, as well as the commerical establishments around the hotel (i.e. car dealership to the east). Do not confuse this with a resort - it's a hotel on the highway. I stayed in a room facing the mountains, I have to imagine these rooms are quieter.

I left early (4am) and there was nobody at the front desk, however they email you your bill so no big deal.

Room Tip: Facing the mountains quiter than facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad K, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
On behalf of the Sheraton Mission Valley, we'd like to thank you for taking the time to write a great review of our hotel! We appreciate the feedback and look forward for your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

this is a usual box standard Sheraton hotel. It has very helpful staff, we stayed 3 nights prior to going on cruise. It is a little out of town and there is no shuttle. Taxi is about 15 dollars to waterfront. Free wifi on computers in foyer. Bar and bar snacks ok but bar not exciting. Rooms large and comfortable. A few little niggles like plug in bath didn't fit. But otherwise ok. There is a large out of town shopping area opposite hotel, but it is quite a walk.

Room Tip: Rooms at front over look road. No nice views from any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockchickNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, lobby ambassador at Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
rockchickNorthWales,

On behalf of the Sheraton Mission Valley, we'd like to thank you for taking the time to write a great review of our hotel! We appreciate the feedback and look forward for your return in the future.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

After reading Trip Advisor reviews we were slightly apprehensive about staying at this hotel. However we were pleasantly surprised and immediately impressed by the standard of service from staff on reception, who are clearly working hard to improve the perception of the hotel off the back of the aforementioned negative reviews.

We requested a room at the rear of the hotel to minimise traffic noise from the freeway and the standard and size of the accommodation greatly exceeded our expectations, being modern, very comfortable and very clean. The restaurant and bar area is perfectly pleasant with friendly staff and the buffet breakfast at $12.95 per person represented good value by hotel standards.

There are 4 PCs with free WiFi access in the lobby, but this service is not available in the rooms unless you pay, which is one area for improvement. The only other minor gripe is around the temperature of the swimming pool, which was freezing! We noticed several other guests approach the pool, only to make a hasty retreat after dipping their toes in. Just heat the pool by a few degrees and it will make it a very pleasant area to relax in and utilise.

You must have a car if you're staying at this hotel and indeed most places in San Diego as it's about 2 miles to the old town and 5 miles to coast and downtown San Diego.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad K, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate the thought and the feedback you provided for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
604 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The service here was horrible! If there were zero stars that is what I would give. We called the hotel to advise that we would be needing a late check-in because our flights were delayed to LAX and would be driving down to San Diego. Once we arrived at the hotel, we were told that no rooms were available! We asked to speak to the manager but the night auditor said nothing could be done. He said that there were 3 rooms available but the locks weren't working and they could not be opened. He sent us to a little motel across the street. Will never book here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJCC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
SpringHill Suites San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel

Property: Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
Address: 1433 Camino Del Rio S, San Diego, CA 92108-3521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel. Whether it is our comforting amenities, caring service, and spacious guest rooms, you're sure to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Diego Hotel, Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
San Diego Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing