We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Ranked #113 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
1 review
“worst experience”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I have never given a hotel a bad review before but, future guests need to know what they are getting into before they book this hotel. I travel 2-3 times a month for business and pleasure. We have multiple rewards programs that we participate in. We started with driving around the building twice because there was no clear signs for the lobby, check-in or entrance to the garage for parking. There was never any hotel personal at the garage check-in/entrance for assistance even though was a station, until the 4th day we were there. The beds are the worst we have ever encountered. Both beds in the room had no support. When you lay down you roll to the center of the bed because of the bowing in the mattress. The ac/heater made a extremely loud clunking noise when it cut off every hour and half. Enough to wake us up. We asked to move to another room the next day. We experienced the exact same problems in the other room too. We had to wait hours for clean towels 2 days in a row because they did not have available/clean.We tried to move to another hotel but was unable to find any availability because it was Valentine /Presidents weekend. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 374kathleenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanieclapper, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Kathleen,

We're sorry to hear about the unfortunate experience you had. Reviews such as yours provide us with the necessary input to improve our guest experience and operations.
We've shared your comments regarding your room conditions and the maintenance issues to the appropriate teams to address.
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and we hope we'll have another opportunity to invite you back.

Kind Regards,
The DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    406
    331
    134
    99
See reviews for
262
272
88
560
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2014

When we first checked in, the wait took forever. When we finally got up to the front of the line, we were given our room keys and went up to the 9th floor. Despite it being a smoke-free hotel, the 9th floor wreaked of smoke and this smell lingered throughout the duration of our stay. I think the staff knew that it smelled up there because they had cracked open the windows near the elevators, but it just made it cold and didn't really help in airing it out. We entered our room to find 2 full beds, instead of the King we had requested. We called down to the main desk to see if we might be able to switch rooms, and they said that they would call us back. Never did. We called back ten minutes later and they apologized, claiming they weren't sure what room we had called from. They then said they could move us to a room with a King bed, but that they had in our reservation that we had requested 2 fulls. I had printed out my confirmation and also had it on my phone, which clearly had 1 King. We switched out rooms and of course, we were still on the 9th floor...still smoky. Later, the next day we were locked out of our room (our keys wouldn't work and no, they didn't get demagnetized) and when we went to tell them, they asked us if we were sure it was our room and whether someone else was in there...and we are like..."yeah, it is our room, and I hope no one is in there..." When we checked out, they never asked us about our stay (they were probably afraid to). The staff was very much monotone and were even seen arguing with one another at times while they were supposed to be helping guests. Very unprofessional. The only thing good about our stay was that the beds were still comfortable, and the cookies, which they didn't even have when we first checked in (they had run out), so we had to get them later. I am usually not the kind to even give reviews or expect great service, but this was just too much. I couldn't not say something in hopes of other people not making the same mistake we did by staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jaime F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanieclapper, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Jamie F.,

Thank you for your review of your experience with your guest room. At our property, we often utilize guest reviews to help us improve our hotel operations. We’ve reviewed your feedback with our hotel team and are now actively taking steps to freshen our guestrooms. We appreciate your time in reviewing our hotel and look forward to seeing you during your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Hotel is in a good location. Rooms were clean; Excellent breakfast. Hotel parking is terrible. Do not drive a big SUV or any large size vehicle. The parking garage can accommodate a compact vehicle easily.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Upon arriving as a Hilton Honors member I was handed a cookie with nuts, instead of the bottled water I was accustomed to. Other folks I was traveling with cannot eat nuts, we would have preferred water or something healthy. I could not get my complimentary internet to work and when I called the front desk for assistance the phone was nothing but static, very frustrating. I used the fitness center in the morning; the thermostat was set at 73 F (very warm for a workout). When I tired to get into the pool area it was locked, but there was no signage for the hours - very frustrating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Katie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanieclapper, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Katie,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our front desk experience and property amenity appointment. We will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience moving forward and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thank you,
The DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I loved staying here as the staff were very attentive and helpful at all times. When I needed something the response was extremely fast. Great location too! I could easily get to all the places I wanted to and most within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Dickie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Room not ready on arrival; rooms noisy, daily parking rate is ridiculous, staff was polite but failed to follow up on room move request. Like the location but doubt I will stay at this hotel again. Asked to provided a review with a 200 character minimum requirement, idiotic.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Have stayed at this hotel several times. Great location and very convenient to airport and downtown attractions. Rooms were clean, service very good and will stay there again. Ordered room service a couple of times and food is decent if not standard hotel fare.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimp976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#69 of 278 in San Diego
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#136 of 278 in San Diego
652 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown

Property: Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Address: 1646 Front St, San Diego, CA 92101-2920 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Harbor View)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing