We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Ranked #110 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall good place to stay”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Overall good place to stay for short business trip. Location was good and shuttle service available to airport at no extra cost. Good value for the price of the room. Room and bath were very clean although the furniture showed some wear.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank sirdar54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    395
    313
    127
    94
See reviews for
248
262
82
541
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Besides the noisy pipes and gurgling noise in the sink that woke me up, and the paper thin doors in my adjoining room so that I could hear every whisper in the next room, there were the several college keg parties on the 7th floor starting at 8pm and lasting until 2am. I called the front desk at least four times. After security would appear, the hall quieted down and then five minutes after security left it would start back up. I suggested they station someone up there but this was not done. The next morning, front desk staff knew nothing about it. After speaking to some local friends, apparently this is one of the more inexpensive hotels in downtown San Diego and the college dorm atmosphere is to be expected on Saturday nights. NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanieclapper, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Michael,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'd like to apologize for the noise issues that you encountered during your stay with us. When you come to a hotel you're expecting to get a great night's sleep and unfortunately we were not able to provide you with that.

Please rest assured that I have personally spoken to the Front Desk staff regarding your experience. I have taken the steps necessary to ensure that future guests do not have the same experience you did.

Again, I apologize for the experience you had with us and I hope that they will not deter you from staying with us again.

Best Regards,

The DoubleTree San Diego Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

San Jose, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The stay felt like I was at a resort, clean, friendly, peaceful. The parking garage is too tight! I had a heart attack trying to squish my fat vehicle through the tiny passageways on all levels of the garage.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sanah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanordtown, MD
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed here for the first time on a business trip. Have stayed in San Diego about a dozen times before. My top preference is the Embassy Suites downtown, but it is harder and harder to get a decent rate there. I have also stayed at the Hilton at the convention center, the Holiday Inn, and the nearby Residence Inn. All of those places are pretty good. This Doubletree comes in last place, but is still an OK place. Location is very good. Right off of the highway ramp, within walking distance of gas lamp district and Little Italy. Lobby is fine. Very clean. Staff is friendly. As with all Doubletree, they give you warm cookies on check-in. Room was basic. Standard beds (not extra comfortable). Biggest gripe is no safe and no fridge (not even a mini one). What’s with that?
As a gold member, a free full breakfast is included. They had an omelet bar and had fruit, bacon, sausage, pastries, etc. My only gripe is that they did not seem to heat any food in the chaffing dishes. Therefore, the bacon, sausage, hash browns, etc. were cold most of the time. I don’t understand this. They make their own salsa for your eggs or omelets. It was excellent. I was there near Thanksgiving and they put out gingerbread or other holiday cookies at breakfast. Nice touch.
Parking garage is a real problem. The architect that designed the parking garage should be shot. The problem is that to get from one level to another, you need to get your car aligned with the ramps. They are narrow, but much worse is that it is very difficult to align the car with the ramp, because there is little space to do so. Also, high chance of collision between cars on the way up and on the way down. I had rented a full size car and it was very tight. An SUV or a van would be a nightmare. The charge $25 to park on top.
Also hotel might be hard to find without a GPS. They need a better sign.
If they were to keep breakfast warm in chaffing dishes, had safes and fridges in the rooms, I would have given this place another star. As it is, stay at one of the one of the other properties that I listed if you want to stay downtown, if you can get a good price. If this is the only place to get a good price, it isn’t bad.

Room Tip: try to avoid highway view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pokerroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Initially we liked this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful and when we wanted to change rooms to a higher floor, they had no problem with it. The location is convenient to the airport and Little Italy, where there are a lot of restaurants.

Our issue was with the group of people who were on our floor and kept going from room to room and making a lot of noise between 2:00 and 5:00 am. We called the front desk, but it didn't seem to help. I'm not sure this hotel has a security office, so the noise continued and we didn't get much sleep on our last night. When we checked out we asked the front desk staff for a refund of the last night's stay. They said they didn't have the authority to do that, but would have the manager call us when she got in about an hour after we left. It is now 24 hours+ since we departed and the manager has still not called.

I have a feeling that the location near bars and restaurants means that groups tend to go there, so I doubt the experience we had is unique. With no real security presence to control this behavior, I can't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Lower floors on one side of the hotel are right on the freeway and very noisy. Ask for a high floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OtherJFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanieclapper, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'd like to apologize for the noise issues that you encountered during your stay with us. When you come to a hotel you're expecting to get a great night's sleep and unfortunately we were not able to provide you with that.

Again, I thank you for your review and we'll be sure to keep your comments in mind as we make future improvements to our hotel. I'd love to have you back to give our hotel a second chance.

Best Regards,
The DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have stay at this hotel several times and have another 4-day stay planned soon. The staff members are friendly and accommodating, breakfast is outstanding, rooms are comfortable, and location is right next to Little Italy. Could use a little updating but the price is right. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My wife and I recently enjoyed a 3-night stay here. We knew it wasn't going to be the fanciest of hotels...but it proved to be more than adequate for what we needed. Yes...it does appear a little outdated and the carpets are a little worn...but we were very happy. The breakfast downstairs each morning was delicious...complete with either cooked to order omelets or waffles. We ate breakfast there each morning of our stay.

We requested and were granted a view facing opposite of the interstate. If we poked our heads over the balcony and looked to the right...we had a nice view of the bay and sunset. So definitely request that view.

The hotel is in a great area. You can easily walk to restaurants/bars in Little Italy. It's also a short walk to the Gaslamp area. We also walked to Balboa Park...which was a little longer...but we are walkers and we didn't mind it. We also went for a jog down to and along the bay.

The bed was comfortable and things were clean. The shower had good water pressure and there was also a desk and chair if we needed to sit down and get anything done. The only complaint I can voice is over the size of the sink in the bathroom. It was very small. I didn't really mind it...but my wife made mention of it. She also said the hair dryer was a little weak. So you might want to bring your own if you are particular about that.

Other than that...everything was good. Everyone was nice and we took advantage of the free shuttle to and from the airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyboy239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#76 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#132 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown

Property: Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Address: 1646 Front St, San Diego, CA 92101-2920 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Harbor View)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing