We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not bad, nothing great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Ranked #113 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not bad, nothing great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

It's not the next I've stayed at, nor the worst. They were very accommodating when I arrived just after lunch, juggling some rooms to allow me to get in and freshen up. As normal with doubletrees, the bed was comfortable, good amenities. Location is OK, but seemed a bit out of the way. Early morning breakfast was plentiful, but man, the harsh lighting in the restaurant area was more suited to a department store than a dining room. Brutal. Staff was pleasant, but could have cranked it up just a notch. If you want access to any sort of nightlife, it's a bit out of the way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank furballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    358
    272
    115
    83
See reviews for
219
233
72
469
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. The staff from check-in to the bartenders and restaurant waitstaff were so polite, upbeat, and very helpful.

Some reviewers have commented on location- found it to be walking distance or a cheap cab to most anything we wanted to do. Very close to little italy, about 15 minutes walk to gaslamp, couple blocks to the ocean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
107 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for several days for a meeting. Hotel is in a decent location but a tale of (2) sides. Beautiful views of the city off one side and some pretty dull views off the opposite side including that of the airport. (Odd numbers face city). Rooms are so so and I would say pretty dated. Had some problems with the shower faucet and it never stopped leaking. Front desk staff was not the most helpful. Reception on TV cut in and out on some channels. Believe this was satellite related. Would NOT stay here in anything but a balcony room facing the city. There are plenty of balcony rooms - but not every room has one.
Ate breakfast each day and I would rate the buffet as "good" or better than most. Believe it was 12.95 or so. Wait staff was very accomodating. Bar area seemed odd. Corner bar with very little seating. No wait staff besides the friendly bar tender gal. Outdoor pool area on 5th floor is nice. Has a small pool, hot tub and workout room just off the patio area. Nice views of downtown.
Little Italy is within a couple blocks and has some great restaurants.
Our group had a very reasonable rate.
Might think there could be better and newer lodging options in downtown San Diego.

Room Tip: Request odd numbered rooms with a balcony. The higher the floor - the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kubzfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Well what a pleasant surprise. My daughter and I had a one night stay at this hotel as we were participating in the San Diego Half Marathon, March 10, 2013. The hotel is 1.6 miles from the start and about 1.4 from the finish. When making the reservation these numbers did not seem like a lot but after finishing 13.1 miles the extra $50 to be at a hotel closer seemed like chump-change. Nonetheless this hotel was perfect. If you drive in an plan on walking everywhere be aware of parking, and not just at the hotel but everywhere. The hotels parking is $25 with in-out privileges but directly across the street is public parking which has an hourly rate as well as $10 for 24 hours. The hotel is not directly in the middle of things but remember I was here to do a half marathon and the finish line was directly in the middle of the Gaslamp district. I mention this because if I can walk 1.6
miles from the hotel to Petco Stadium, then the half marathon, 13.1 miles and then back to the hotel for another 1.4 miles for a total of almost 16miles and no one had to call the paramedics, then minus the half marathon you are okay to walk around the city. We arrived on a Saturday morning to see that there was a farmers market in Little Italy which is right outside of the hotel. It was a nice little surprise. Now for the room. It was super clean. They have a sign that lets you know they use Lysol products. Well they didn't need to post a sign because the smell of Lysol freshness was in the air. We stayed on the 16th Floor in room 1609 and we had a very nice view of the city. Sorry for not taking pictures. The room has 2 double beds, not queens. We enjoyed our stay here and for the price it was worth it. We paid $124 per night. Also another incentive for walking verses driving. If you pay for hotel parking $25, take your car out and only go within a 3-5 mile radius be prepared to pay for parking around you destination. Street parking is free on Sunday in the Gaslamp District but it is crowded on Sundays and public parking varies from $5 for 0-1 hour to $6 for 0-4 which is what I found on 6th Street, next to the Ramada Hotel. There are 2 lots but the one directly next to the hotel is less expensive. An if you choose to park there then you may as well go to Brian's 24/7. The breakfast menu is AWESOME!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chette925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The facility was clean and well kept. Ask for a room facing the city. The lights at night make for a beautiful view, if your on a high floor. You can walk to Little Italy for dinner or down to the ocean for fish and chips at Anthony's. For a person traveling alone I felt safe walking around town.

Room Tip: High floor facing the city with a view is best. Some rooms have small balconies you can walk out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 363Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
284 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stay in this hotel for about a week because of a meeting near-by.

Though there are complaints regarding the noise in some of the previous reports, I do not suffer any problem (my room is at 17/F).

Regarding the services of the hotel, it's overall fairly good. Check-in is efficient and I love the chocolate cookie! The Wi-Fi connectivity is good - I do try the wire connection but, surprisingly, I find that the wireless connection is faster! The hotel room is nice and you do have all amenities required for your stay. No complaint about the buffer breakfast 'cause it is complimentary to me because of my Gold membership. The fitness room is small but it has enough equipments to enjoy a good workout.

The two drawbacks that I can mention are (1) there is no safe box inside the room; and (2) the hotel would not provide my a receipt because of my advanced-payment package.

Room Tip: 1. Remember to call the hotel for airport shuttle service! 2. It's a 5-10minutes walk betwe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward-A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
529 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I found this hotel average at best and perhaps somewhat below average for Doubletree standards. The young lady at the Check-In counter was kind enough to accommodate my early arrival. However it was then that I was cautioned about the ongoing repainting of some halls and about the scheduled three hour period when all hot water would be shut off; too bad for me that the lack of hot water coincided with interest in taking a post run shower. The hotel location had the plus of being close enough to Balboa Park and to the waterfront to allow for a couple of enjoyable runs. However the location also overlooked an interstate and flight path to the airport; noise was constant. My room showed signs of wear and need for service. Skuff and chip marks were evident on furniture and in the bathroom; a waste container had not ben emptied of trash.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#106 of 282 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#83 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown

Property: Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Address: 1646 Front St, San Diego, CA 92101-2920 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Harbor View)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing