We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Business” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Ranked #121 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Sacramento, California, United States
2 reviews
“Business”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

The facility was clean and well kept. Ask for a room facing the city. The lights at night make for a beautiful view, if your on a high floor. You can walk to Little Italy for dinner or down to the ocean for fish and chips at Anthony's. For a person traveling alone I felt safe walking around town.

Room Tip: High floor facing the city with a view is best. Some rooms have small balconies you can walk out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 363Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    372
    293
    122
    89
See reviews for
234
245
76
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
305 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stay in this hotel for about a week because of a meeting near-by.

Though there are complaints regarding the noise in some of the previous reports, I do not suffer any problem (my room is at 17/F).

Regarding the services of the hotel, it's overall fairly good. Check-in is efficient and I love the chocolate cookie! The Wi-Fi connectivity is good - I do try the wire connection but, surprisingly, I find that the wireless connection is faster! The hotel room is nice and you do have all amenities required for your stay. No complaint about the buffer breakfast 'cause it is complimentary to me because of my Gold membership. The fitness room is small but it has enough equipments to enjoy a good workout.

The two drawbacks that I can mention are (1) there is no safe box inside the room; and (2) the hotel would not provide my a receipt because of my advanced-payment package.

Room Tip: 1. Remember to call the hotel for airport shuttle service! 2. It's a 5-10minutes walk betwe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward-A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
551 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I found this hotel average at best and perhaps somewhat below average for Doubletree standards. The young lady at the Check-In counter was kind enough to accommodate my early arrival. However it was then that I was cautioned about the ongoing repainting of some halls and about the scheduled three hour period when all hot water would be shut off; too bad for me that the lack of hot water coincided with interest in taking a post run shower. The hotel location had the plus of being close enough to Balboa Park and to the waterfront to allow for a couple of enjoyable runs. However the location also overlooked an interstate and flight path to the airport; noise was constant. My room showed signs of wear and need for service. Skuff and chip marks were evident on furniture and in the bathroom; a waste container had not ben emptied of trash.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

The customer service was very poor as the staff members were distracted and inattentive to customer service. They charge $25.00 per night for parking, even to Diamond members, and then has a contract garage service issues out warning letters to all in the parking lot, even if you have a ticket that permits you to park there. The hotel allows rude guest who makes loud noise all night long and does nothing to control this poor behavior. The GM, Rita, is slow to respond to customer needs, and then will do nothing to remedy the situation, nor compensate you for the poor service that you receive. This is the worst Hilton property I have ever stayed at, period!

Room Tip: Dont stay here! There are plenty of other, more value added Hilton properties to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed for a week at a conference my company held at the hotel. The location is great, close to Little Italy and the airport (the airport could be a con, the noise isn't too bad). The staff was good, not great. It's a hotel heavily used by the airline industry for overnight stays for airline staff. The room was clean and neat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed here while attending a conference at another downtown hotel. I always enjoy DoubleTree hotels, and this one had the added advantages of being easily accessible to the light rail system, and, more importantly, providing an excellent value. I was pleasantly surprised upon arrival to be given vouchers for the hotel's full breakfast buffet. This added significantly to the value of my purchase. The hotel was quiet, clean, and comfortable, and the people were great. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leopardgrrl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed for two days in February 2013. The location is good, next to Little Italy, but the biggest issue was the indifference of front desk staff who barely want to provide a service. I actually complained to management who called me back but then failed to return other calls.

The hotel is respectable enough but there's plenty enough choice in San Diego to choose an alternative,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller21-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanieclapper, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Traveller21-7,

Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We’re very sorry your experience at our property wasn't up to our usual high standards. Please know that we've addressed the problems you mentioned as with the level of service you received during your stay.
Our sincerest apologies again and thank you for alerting us to this issue. We hope you’ll give us another chance if you return to our area.

DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#78 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#110 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown

Property: Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Address: 1646 Front St, San Diego, CA 92101-2920 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Harbor View)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing