We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average At Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Ranked #122 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I found this hotel average at best and perhaps somewhat below average for Doubletree standards. The young lady at the Check-In counter was kind enough to accommodate my early arrival. However it was then that I was cautioned about the ongoing repainting of some halls and about the scheduled three hour period when all hot water would be shut off; too bad for me that the lack of hot water coincided with interest in taking a post run shower. The hotel location had the plus of being close enough to Balboa Park and to the waterfront to allow for a couple of enjoyable runs. However the location also overlooked an interstate and flight path to the airport; noise was constant. My room showed signs of wear and need for service. Skuff and chip marks were evident on furniture and in the bathroom; a waste container had not ben emptied of trash.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,068 - 1,074 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

The customer service was very poor as the staff members were distracted and inattentive to customer service. They charge $25.00 per night for parking, even to Diamond members, and then has a contract garage service issues out warning letters to all in the parking lot, even if you have a ticket that permits you to park there. The hotel allows rude guest who makes loud noise all night long and does nothing to control this poor behavior. The GM, Rita, is slow to respond to customer needs, and then will do nothing to remedy the situation, nor compensate you for the poor service that you receive. This is the worst Hilton property I have ever stayed at, period!

Room Tip: Dont stay here! There are plenty of other, more value added Hilton properties to choose from.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed for a week at a conference my company held at the hotel. The location is great, close to Little Italy and the airport (the airport could be a con, the noise isn't too bad). The staff was good, not great. It's a hotel heavily used by the airline industry for overnight stays for airline staff. The room was clean and neat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed here while attending a conference at another downtown hotel. I always enjoy DoubleTree hotels, and this one had the added advantages of being easily accessible to the light rail system, and, more importantly, providing an excellent value. I was pleasantly surprised upon arrival to be given vouchers for the hotel's full breakfast buffet. This added significantly to the value of my purchase. The hotel was quiet, clean, and comfortable, and the people were great. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leopardgrrl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed for two days in February 2013. The location is good, next to Little Italy, but the biggest issue was the indifference of front desk staff who barely want to provide a service. I actually complained to management who called me back but then failed to return other calls.

The hotel is respectable enough but there's plenty enough choice in San Diego to choose an alternative,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller21-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanieclapper, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Traveller21-7,

Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We’re very sorry your experience at our property wasn't up to our usual high standards. Please know that we've addressed the problems you mentioned as with the level of service you received during your stay.
Our sincerest apologies again and thank you for alerting us to this issue. We hope you’ll give us another chance if you return to our area.

DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were there almost a week and were happy with the service, cleanliness, and value! Good central location convenient to Gaslamp, Little Italy, and airport. Will stay again! The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We were within walking distance to many shops and restaurants.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank n5nar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stay in Hilton properties about 60-70 nights per year. We love this hotel and location for a quick weekend in SD. It's clean, convenient to everything and has beautiful city and bay views. During our most recent stay, I left an expensive jacket behind in the armoire, and called the hotel within 2 hours of checking out. I was transferred to housekeeping to leave a message. After a week of repeated calls, leaving messages, excuses and NO call backs from management, we gave up on retreiving my property.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#67 of 278 in San Diego
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown

Address: 1646 Front St, San Diego, CA 92101-2920 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Harbor View)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $167 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing