We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Little Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Ranked #126 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This Doubletree, located at the top of Front Street, is a satisfactory place to stay, walkably close to Little Italy. The decor is tired, but our bed was comfortable. The staff is helpful and of course the cookies are scrumptious. There are a couple of meeting rooms, a small lounge with TV and a small restaurant serving a passable breakfast. Warning for those who drive: the parking garage ramps are frighteningly narrow, even for our compact car. Its necessary to take your time to navigate turning onto the ramps. The parking spaces are ample in size. Fine place to stay if you fly in; several airline's crews stay here as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoCalZooGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,120 - 1,126 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is very average but certainly not cheap. Rooms were large but very tired particularly the bathrooms. Lighting also very dim. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast fine. Location good. Car park extremely tight particularly for larger cars. Airport shuttle very efficient.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wardenhodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My flight to SD was diverted to LAX due to fog so I had to find a car and drive two additional hours to get to my destination. It was late when I arrived and I was in a bad mood. However, the woman at the front desk went above and beyond (even provided extra cookies) to turn my mood around. The hotel itself is a little older but they have done well to maintain it. The location is very good as there is everything you could want within walking distance. This is important since, if you park in the garage, you will not want to move your vehicle. The ramps are very tight, so tight that I had to back up before entering each floor so that my vehicle was aimed straight ahead. The stalls are also very tight. If you are driving to this location and you have a large vehicle, consider going elsewhere or finding another lot. They also charge $22 per night to park in their lot. The buffet is not bad. As others have indicated, this place is a bit noisy, something the hotel staff can do little about. I got a room on a high floor facing away from the freeway (recommended) but there was still considerable noise.

Room Tip: Request a high floor facing the pool area. It will still be noisy but not as much as the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoopsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stood one night at the Double Tree Hotel in San Diego and paid a bill of USD 325 for a room with view to airport and highway, a window that didn't close properly and let me enjoy all the noise from outside, cushion covers that were not properly washed, with smelly towels and a poor selection of soap and shampoo. The only positive point: my room was far away from the noisy ice machine. There are far better hotels in San Diego and I strongly recommend to avoid the Double Tree Hotel.

Room Tip: Don't go there but if you go, get a room on the other side than the airport and far away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael_W011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanieclapper, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

To Our Valued Guest,

We’re sorry that we didn’t provide you with a rewarding experience during your recent stay at our hotel. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we appreciate your feedback about the condition of your guest room. Your comments will help us correct these issues in order to provide the best guest experience possible. We hope you’ll consider staying with us again the next time you’re in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

A convenient and pleasant enough hotel, but there are no free perks like other hotels offer. The staff are efficient, but rather impersonal. Nice outdoor swimming pool and good position for getting around San Diego, but a few personal touches wouldn't go amiss. A cookie on arrival hardly competes with free breakfast and kickback that other hotels provide. Wifi is free but very slow.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaC5850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Only about 2 miles from the airport and they do have a shuttle (by appt). An older property, but the rooms at OK, and a good number have balconies. Don't bother with the in-house breakfast, walk a block in the awesome San Diego weather to Pappalecco and get a great cup of coffee and a fresh croissants. The $12 breakfast was lacking every morning, poor service, buffet out of food, had to fetch our own coffee and water after multiple requests to the servers.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was a combination business and pleasure trip for me.

The Doubletree Hotel downtown San Diego is very convenient to the airport and major highways. Several restaurants are nearby in Little Italy (approximately two blocks from the hotel). A walk to hot spots further into downtown is about 15 minutes. Just be note that you will pass the jailhouse along the way and downtown San Diego is a haven for homeless people, although we were never approached. Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo are a quick 10 minutes drive from the hotel. The eclactic Hillcrest Neighborhood is also about a 10-15 minutes drive.

The hotel is rather unassuming on the outside, though you can spot it from various view points. The lobby is contemporary but small. The restaurant is relatively dark because it has no natural light. There are plenty of elevators for the size of the hotel. If you park in the garage ($22/day) you can even catch an elevator to your floor without having to go the lobby first. The only downside to that is, there didn't seem to be any real security that could keep non-hotel guest from entering the guest floors. The garage by the way is VERY TIGHT. The ramps in the garage are extremely narrow and the spaces are small but there are plenty. Be very careful navigating the garage.

The guest rooms are a good size. My suggestion would be to request a room on the downtown side/south side of the hotel. The views are nice, it's quieter than than the north side. The north side faces the interstate and the airport. The landing pattern for the airport is directly in view of the hotel and you will see plenty of planes day and night. I requested a switch of rooms for that very reason. Plus the a/c unit was very loud. The room I ended up in, had great views of downtown, the bay to one side and mountain views in the distance on the other. The a/c was also a bit loud at first but after asking them to look into it, it was quieter. But, it later leaked a bit. The bathroom is nice. Great showerhead. Toilet runs very slow. The hotel has light sensors installed in the entry area of the room and in the bathroom. Not a bad idea until you get up in the middle to go to the bathroom and every light comes on and wakes you up. I'm one of those people who navigates well in the dark, and I also leave the curtains open so that provides enough light. The bed was comfortable. The television had a decent amount of stations, I liked the free wi-fi and it worked well. The furniture was nice, though the armoir was in an odd location next to the bed and a few feet from the nightstand. It made getting into the armoir difficult, expecially to retrieve the iron and ironing board. I also stubbed my toe on it a couple of times. It needs to be relocated. The linen, drapes, and lighting,etc were all in good condition. There were plenty of plugs to use for chargers, etc. on the nightstands, walls or desk.

Room service was ok. I recommend going out though. The room service staff was very nice.

Front desk service was great. They were very accomodating to meet my request for a room on a higher floor, changing my room to be on the downtown side of the hotel and suggesting nearby places to eat. Housekeeping was also great. I never like having a full bed change everyday, seems like such a waste. But, I do like having the towels refreshed. So, they simply did that, tidied up the bath and let me be. The rest of hotel seemed well maintained and clean.

I would recommend this hotel for the business or casual traveler. Just note you are in downtown and also near residential buildings as well. It can be noisy as times with train conductors blwoing their horns as the go pass cross streets.I'm sure there is nothing the hotel can do about that. Otherwise, I enjoyed my stay and it was great being able to leave the hotel and get to the airport within 5-10 minutes. BTW, you don't need to use the interstate to get to or from the airport with this hotel. Use N. Harbor Drive and Pacific Hwy. Google or Mapquest it, you'll see how easy it is.

Room Tip: Request a room on the south side or downtown side of the hotel. You get much better views and it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PillowTalk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#131 of 279 in San Diego
757 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#122 of 279 in San Diego
2,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#64 of 279 in San Diego
694 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown

Address: 1646 Front St, San Diego, CA 92101-2920 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Harbor View)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $117 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing