We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay here again, nor would I recommend this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Consulate Hotel
Ranked #240 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Would not stay here again, nor would I recommend this place!”
Reviewed July 26, 2005

Stayed here for 2 nights, $72 each night. I overheard a man checking in and he was paying $160 a night at the same hotel. Pays to book early. However, I would not pay $72 a night for a hotel in this condition.

Pros-
-AC worked fine
-bed was somewhat comfortable
-lights all worked fine

Cons-
-Broken TV (no volume)
-parking garage (that you have to pay $5/day) was not in the best shape- looked very creepy
-towels were very rough
-signs everywhere saying "we're in the middle of renovating" however it looked like someone just ripped out the baseboards, spackled the walls, and did nothing else
-room # signs were missing, so someone just wrote the room # on some of the doors
-jacuzzi was out of service
-went to front desk at 8pm to ask for an extra pillow- front desk staff was rude and said housekeeping was closed for the night and he was unable to get anything for us
-paint bubbling off of ceiling in bathroom
-no fan in bathroom= very humid and wet environment asking for mold to grow!
-slow elevator

Overall, I would NOT stay at this place again. They need to shut the hotel down, completely renovate it, and then reopen it in order to get some decent reviews.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank islandb8by
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    17
    30
    71
See reviews for
42
26
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 7, 2005

we stayed here for 4th of july wkend, we wanted to go cheap so we picked this 1-1/2 star hotel. BAD IDEA!!! #1. the room smelled bad like sewer, we had to get a plug in air freshener so we could stay in there for 3 nights. #2. the frontdesk people were not courteous and they gave us bad driving directions when we wanted to go to coronado island. #3. they dont serve breakfast on weekdays and did not inform us beforehand. #4. small bathroom, bathroom door when opened is about 3 inches away from the toilet #5. for the complimentary continental breakfast (w/c i repeat they ONLY serve ON WEEKENDS) they only have cereals, white bread, danish, pastries, apple juice, milk and coffee... that's it, no bagels or oatmeal #6. parking is too tight #7. when in the elevator, the whole thing shakes. #8. no refrigerator or microwave in the room.

the only POSITIVE THING i can say about the hotel is the LOCATION. it's right across denny's, kfc, mcdonalds, 4 miles away seaworld, gaslamp, 6 miles away from sd zoo/balboa park, 10 miles from coronado island (yeah only 10 miles if the frontdesk gives u good directions)

  • Stayed July 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2005

My one major complaint throughout my stay was a sewer water-like stench coming from the bathroom. The water was shut off throughout the building for about an hour at one point. I'm sure it was for maintenance issues but why take the chance. The whole place just looks unmaintained. Daily servicing of the room was good. There is a $5 a day parking fee. The parking lot is very small, so finding parking on the hotel lot is not garanteed. Would have dished out a little more $$ for a little for quality.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seudjif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 20, 2005

Welcome to the Quality Inn, where you’ll find flickering lights, creepy elevators, not enough parking and sewer smelling water. Every time I turned on the water a sewer smell came out from under the sink. I asked maintenance could look at it, but nothing happened. Parking was difficult to find on the weekend after 9pm, not to mention a $5 parking fee. There was some mold on the crevices of the window. Looking out the window you will see A Holiday Inn and Best Western. After 3 nights of staying at the Quality Inn, either hotel was looking like 4 star quality. Spend the extra $20 a night and save yourself some despair and stay elsewhere.

Ok, there is a few good things about this hotel... its close to Starbucks, Old Town and the freeway, and the front desk people were nice.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 27, 2005

Originally I booked a room at The Quality Inn on Nimitz Blvd. for a San Diego trip because it was so inexpensive. Don't fall for it!
Eventually I switched to another hotel because of some user reviews of the Qaulity. When I arrived in San Diego in the middle of April in 2005, I checked it out to see if the reviews were really true. It is about 2 miles or so off the major highway area, in a residential neighborhood. The message posted on the sign out in front of the hotel did not make any sense. The bathroom off the lobby had graffitti on the stalls. Then I went upstairs to check out the hallways- it didn't feel comfortable to me at all. One door even had the room number written on it in pen- they could have at least put a sign up! Everything looked like it needed to be renovated. There's no breakfast offered and there is a charge for parking. I was happy to pay more money and stay somewhere comfortable!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 7, 2005

We paid around $40 per night for our stay here. Our room was clean, we had a view of downtown San Diego and part of the harbor. The parking garage is poorly laid out but safe. Other than the poor condition of the elevator (namely it was very slow), I definitely recommend this hotel. I'm not sure where all the bad reviews are coming from.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 23, 2004

I am amazed at the bad reviews for this hotel, and wonder whether they describe the same place? We stayed there for 5 nights in March 2004, and again in December 2004. It is an older hotel, but it has been newly renovated with care and our room was always clean and fresh and comfortable. It is in a much quieter location than I would expect in a big city (we could leave our window open at night), and the rooms on the harbor side have a nice view of the city skyline. Their shuttle service is absolutely wonderful. They serve both Amtrak and the airport, and they happily delivered us to the cruise ship dock. In fact, in order to accommodate us and the many other cruise ship passengers staying with them, they put a second shuttle into service. There is a bus stop 1/2 block away. We were able to take busses to SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo, and also to Old Town and the downtown area. There are several restaurants and fast food places within walking distance, as well as a restaurant in the hotel, and there is a large super market on the corner. It would be hard to beat this hotel for comfort and convenience, and for the friendly attitude of management.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.5 mi away
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
#185 of 279 in San Diego
136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
0.3 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#136 of 279 in San Diego
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aqua Mar
Hotel Aqua Mar
#150 of 279 in San Diego
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#124 of 279 in San Diego
742 reviews
1.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Consulate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Consulate Hotel

Property: The Consulate Hotel
Address: 2901 Nimitz Blvd, San Diego, CA 92106-2321 (Formerly Quality Inn Airport SeaWorld Area)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Consulate Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of Point Loma near many great attractions. We have over 100 rooms some suites that have a Harbor View. We have Free WiFi and all the room amenities. Shuttle service and underground parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Consulate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Airport Seaworld Area Hotel San Diego
San Diego Quality Inn
Quality Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing