We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sad :(” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Consulate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Consulate Hotel
Ranked #240 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Southern California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sad :(”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is close to SeaWorld and the harbor and beaches. It's showing its age everywhere, but clean. Bed was advertised as queen, but was a double. No real breakfast currently, just a small thing of Danish's. In the evening at the pool we asked them to make more coffee in the lobby because it was empty and the front desk persons said "you can go up to your room and make coffee" RUDE! The rooms were quiet except for the elevator noise, which we were next door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2fromcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    17
    29
    71
See reviews for
42
25
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We left a Quality Inn in Anaheim and made a trip to San Diego to visit Sea World. We stayed at this Quality Inn. I did not like it and would not recommend it. You must pay $10 per night to park, which is ridiculous. Also, there is no continental breakfast. The hotel looks nice from the lobby, but once you get to your room it is not good. The room needs updating and does not have a fridge or microwave. You do hear traffic and airplanes at night as well. I will not stay at this hotel again. Also, we did receive a military discount at Anaheim, but when I asked at this quality inn they said no. The staff at the desk seemed like I was inconveinencing them to even check in. No good...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was really worried about this hotel after reading other reviews. We just needed a place to sleep after a very late arrival in San Diego. We used our points to get the room for free, otherwise I would not want to pay more than $50. The location is very convenient from the airport, and the front desk staff are very nice and helpful. It is pretty noisy, especially with the bar there. It is best to get a room away from the bar area, unless you are there to party. We were on the 6th floor, so it was pretty quiet (except for traffic and airport noise). The rooms are pretty small. We had a double with a rollaway, and it was pretty tight. I would not recommend this hotel if you are staying more than 1 night, or if you have young children. There is a $10 parking fee, and a $11 rollaway fee that is not disclosed until check out, and they do not serve breakfast, although they had coffee and pastries in the lobby.

Room Tip: Unless you are there to party, try to get a room far away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank redwalnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I chose this hotel because I thought it was a good rate (at the time) and it was close to the airport. I learned my lesson about not reading the small print and assuming. After you check in they inform you that there will be a $10 per day fee to park your car on their property. There is also NOT a continental breakfast! No business center or computer to print out your boarding pass and the hot tub was not even hot! Terrible!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocoee, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are on vacation, do not choose this hotel. I chose it because I was on business and it was close to the airport and work locations that I was visiting. I stayed for 6 nights.

It has a bed, shower, internet, cable TV and ironing board. That's it.

The hotel is dated with 1990's carpet and décor. Room felt dirty, even though housekeeping came in every day. There's some shady characters staying there. It reminded me of a section 8 hotel. I could be wrong about that...just instinct. There's a bar called Riley's attached to the property. Seeded like they had karaoke every night. Anyone in the bar (locals) had access to the hotel. This made me a bit uneasy that they could get up to my floor. No security guards were visible at all.

I ate at Denny's (next door) for breakfast every morning. There's a McD's and Arby's within walking distance...not too healthy. Definitely rent a car to get around.

There's a pool onsite, but nobody was ever in it or near it...the weather was around 70 though. If you are desperate, a couple nights won't kill you, and it seems like they were never above 10% capacity judging by the cars in the small parking lot

Room Tip: Stay on top floors away from the Bar. Hopefully non of the patrons will sneak up that high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Staten_Island_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
97 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel is close to the SAN airport and SeaWorld area and the hotel was ok for a single night, that's about the best I can say.

I had a pre-paid reservation but when I arrived as with most Choice Hotels, They wanted to charge me and were surprised when they saw it was pre-paid. They also said there was a balance due for some reason and they CHARGE for parking, just an FYI.

The club in the lobby/bottom floor is a bit noisy. Staying on the 6th floor and we could still hear the club noise. The hotel was comfy and somewhat clean. I would most likely NOT return on the next visit to San Diego

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was one of the worst "hotels" I've ever stayed at. The rooms were not clean, the bathroom had hair in sink and tub, and the location is bad. There was no breakfast and the parking is in a seedy looking garage that appears to be a prime location for drug deals. Choice Hotels just lost a good customer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olson1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.5 mi away
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
#187 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#110 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#144 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Yacht Harbor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aqua Mar
Hotel Aqua Mar
#166 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Consulate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Consulate Hotel

Property: The Consulate Hotel
Address: 2901 Nimitz Blvd, San Diego, CA 92106-2321 (Formerly Quality Inn Airport SeaWorld Area)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Consulate Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of Point Loma near many great attractions. We have over 100 rooms some suites that have a Harbor View. We have Free WiFi and all the room amenities. Shuttle service and underground parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Consulate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Airport Seaworld Area Hotel San Diego
San Diego Quality Inn
Quality Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing