We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation”
Review of Inn at the Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inn at the Park
Ranked #131 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Tracy
May 22, 2014
A large, lovely room with a great window shade and kitchenette, perfect for relaxing and light cooking after a long day at the zoo.

The website states that they have a roof deck, lounge and restaurant, but all of those are closed. They need to update the site. The info desk people were not very helpful. Do take the bus downtown. Do just get the 7 eleven pizza, the deliveries are bad.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Tracy:
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of your recent vacation to Inn at the Park. I am delighted to hear that you were able to take full advantage of our fully stocked kitcen after a long day at the zoo. Our electronic shades in the room are a big hit with our guests and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed it as well. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 559 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

Nice and clean. Just accross from Balboa Park and the kids play area. Currently being remodeled. Parking on premi seas es is $15 per night. No swimming pool nor restaurant. Otherwise not a bad place to stay.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Ed Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Ed:
Thank you for the kind words. I will be sure to share these with our staff. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of Inn at the Park and your family enjoyed Balboa Park. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The spacious well-appointed rooms are very nice. However, all the staff I encountered seemed to have a 'could care less' attitude. Not warm, not welcoming, not efficient. From a repetitious answer to my request for an early check-in ('Check-in is not until 4 pm', and 'I'm sorry' was not part of that answer...) to a loud knock on my door from a housekeeping person when I had a 'do not disturb' sign on my door, it was all a bit too casual and careless for me. I find the lack of public spaces such as a restaurant of bar also a disadvantage. However it is a great location near Balboa Park.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2011ford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

2011ford:
I am disappointed to hear your interaction with the resort staff did not meet your expectations, as this is not part of the Count On Me service we take pride in at Wyndham. It is imperative that our guests and owners are treated well. Please be assured that i will be revieiwing the importance of the Count on Me culture with all team members. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the room and the location of Inn at the Park. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We've stayed here twice as Shell Vacation Club owners. The first time in February 2014 and then May 2014. This is a quaint old hotel that has has quite a bit of renovation but still needs more. We loved the proximity to the park, zoo, etc. so it was ideal. The restaurant is still not open which is a disappointment but there is a small kitchen & some great restaurants nearby.

Getting luggage up the entry steps can be a challenge but not too hard. The hallways still smell quite musty so I hope they work on this. The decor was not what I would choose but it's comfy, clean & roomy.

Parking is only available via valet parking but it is worth the charge. All staff were very friendly & very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

kjh47:
Thank you for being Shell Vacations Club owners and thank you for this great feedback. This will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort. I am glad to read that you took full advantage of the location of Inn at the Park, visiting park and the Zoo. It is also nice to read that you experienced the Count on Me culture that is so important to us as a company, by our team being friendly and helpful. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

This place it seems is a timeshare. Our friends had reserved a room for the weekend but had to back out so they asked if we wanted the room.

There are 82 studio, one and two bedroom units. Each decorated differently.

Our room faced Balboa Park. Very nice view. Big room. Small kitchen area. Huge bathroom.

I look forward to returning soon.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Mark:
Thank you for the glowing review of your most recent visit to Inn at the Park. It is always a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed one of our one bedroom suites and your overall experience was "a nice suprise". We look forward to your return visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

You can do San Diego a lot of ways: Mission Bay, La Jolla, Imperial Beach, Gaslamp, etc. For us, the 2 or 3 night stay at Inn at the Park is perfect. We're not beach people any more, but can drive up north for a beach hike if we like. Otherwise, getting up in the morning at Inn at the Park, making fresh coffee in the small kitchen, enjoying fresh fruit we stocked up on, and then rambling over to Balboa Park to get lost for several hours is perfect relaxation. If you want to do the Old Globe, it's right there too. The studio/kitchenette rooms are very spacious for 2 people and considering what you get, and the location, a super deal. Kitchens new, clean and functional. Baths clean, functional and kind of fun, with the retro tile, big glass enclosure and big window. Walk in closets! Yes, it is an older place and feels that way sometimes, but who cares? The staff is nice (if not especially knowledgeable about local dining) and professional. You can park on the street for free overnight -- an incredible benefit, in my view. Hillcrest, North Park, India Street, Old Town, just minutes away and absolutely packed with restaurants and bars, all with competitive happy hours. I say, Viva San Diego, Viva Inn at the Park!

Room Tip: Studios are a great deal but the one bedroom kitchenettes don't cost much more and they have bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

James:
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your recent visit to Inn at the Park. We are delighted to hear that we scored two thumbs up on your review. I will be sure to share your comments with the team. I am pleased that from the fully stocked kitchen to the cleanliness of your suite to the location of Inn at the Park, we exceeded your expecations. Viva Inn at the Park! Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Upscale redecorated hotel turned timeshare. Room are very comfortable, spacious, like mini apartments with nice kitchen facilities. Can't park at hotel without extra fee, unfortunate. And they try and get you to sign up for timeshare. But if you can get past that, it's a great location right near Balboa Park, close to downtown and good eating places in Hillcrest area. Overall, very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you Martin for the kind words. We will be sure to share these with our staff. We are glad to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay. We are pleased to hear that our suites were comfortable and you enjoyed the location of Inn at the Park. Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
WorldMark San Diego - Mission Valley
Downtown
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Park

Address: 525 Spruce St, San Diego, CA 92103-5814 (Formerly Park Manor Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in San Diego
#63 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $165 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Balboa Park and walking distance to the San Diego Zoo and the Old Globe Theatre it is a desirable starting point for your journey in this amazing city. When you stay with us make sure to try onsite dinning at our popular local restaurants, Inn at the Park Restaurant & Piano Bar and Top of the Park Penthouse Restaurant. At the Inn at the Park Restaurant you can experience creative Regional American Cuisine with a Southern California influence in an atmosphere reminiscent of a historic coastal inn. And when head up to the 7th floor Top of the Park Penthouse Restaurant you are served up San Diego's best panoramic views of the city, plus an extensive lunch menu featuring three daily signature quiche dishes and innovative salads. It also provides the perfect venue for weddings, events and meetings. Come see for yourself why Inn at the Park hotel is the perfect destination for your next California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Park Hotel San Diego
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing